South Kaibab, Tonto and Bright Angel Trail

DIFFICILE 33 avis
N°43 sur 98 randonnées à

South Kaibab, Tonto and Bright Angel Trail est un sentier de point à point de 12.4 miles très fréquenté situé près de Grand Canyon, Arizona. Le sentier vous présentera des fleurs sauvages et sa difficulté est difficile et donc seulement recommandé pour les aventuriers expérimentés. Le sentier offre plusieurs activités et est accessible toute l'année.

Distance: 12.4 miles Dénivelé: 3,395 feet Type d'itinéraire: Point A à point B

randonnée

activités en pleine nature

ornithologie

vue panoramique

fleurs sauvages

faune

pas d’ombre

chiens interdits

Parfait longue journée! Descendez le sud de Kaibab, traversez le plateau sur le sentier Tonto, connectez-vous à Bright Angel at Indian Garden et revenez au bord sud. La navette Hiker quitte l'arrêt Bright Bright Lodge tous les jours et vous dépose au sentier South Kaibab. Bright Angel te dépose dans ta chambre ou ton camping. Comme toujours, vérifiez la disponibilité de l’eau aux arrêts Indian Garden, à 3 mile et à 1 1/2 mile à Bright Angel. Pas d'eau sur South Kaibab (sauf pour le sentier en été).

randonnée
26 days ago

Fantastique, le sentier Tonto était un régal, je ne m'attendais pas à grand-chose, mais j'ai été agréablement surpris. Les traversées printanières étaient magnifiques, les arbres changeaient de couleur, des vues incroyables sur les canyons latéraux, une partie de la randonnée qui ne présentait pas un défi particulier, mais si vous avez déjà traversé la rivière, vous aimerez peut-être cela. Nous avons parcouru environ 15 milles, mais nous avons ajouté Plateau Point pour le plaisir et avons terminé à 18,4 milles.

randonnée
1 month ago

Je recommanderais certainement cet itinéraire. Descendre à S Kaibab, sur West Tonto, et monter Bright Angel était certainement le bon choix si vous n’avez qu’une journée pour faire le canyon. Randonnée très difficile en montée, mais vous obtenez le meilleur des deux sentiers populaires (les meilleures vues de S Kaibab et Tonto, et les maisons de repos qui montent très fort ange). Mon GPS a enregistré un peu moins de 15 miles et environ 3 500 'de montée. Il a fallu environ 7 heures pour un randonneur pratiquement en forme et inexpérimenté.

randonnée
1 month ago

Très difficile pour ma première randonnée sous le rebord. Mon application a enregistré 16,5 miles, 9,5 heures de déplacement, 12,5 heures de temps total. En montant, j'étais fatigué et je pensais que mon eau était toujours bonne en passant la recharge de 1,5 mille. Peu de temps après, je suis parti en courant. Le dernier tronçon de 1,5 mile était très difficile. Manque d’eau, manque d’énergie du fait de ne pas manger assez de calories. À la fin, j'étais heureux d'avoir mon camping qui m'attendait au camping Mather. Plus vous vous préparez, plus vous en profiterez, moins vous vous préparerez, plus vous ressentirez la souffrance.

randonnée
pas d'ombre
rocheux
2 months ago

Ce sentier était correct dans la mesure où les sentiers vont. Vous ne voyez pas grand chose après être descendu dans le canyon et, honnêtement, le jardin indien était plutôt décevant après une randonnée de 12 km. Sans parler de la rupture d’une conduite d’eau au moment de notre visite lors du Memorial Day, il n’y avait donc nulle part où aller pour obtenir de l’eau pendant les 9 premiers kilomètres. Je recommande vraiment de faire de la randonnée par temps frais si vous décidez de faire ce sentier. Sinon, je pense que vous pourriez avoir une meilleure vue ailleurs

randonnée
2 months ago

Ma femme, Wendy et moi, avons trouvé la randonnée difficile mais utile. nous avons commencé à descendre le sentier sud du kaibab à 7 h 30 et avons traversé le sentier tonto au point de départ. Le sentier tonto était incroyable, nous étions les seuls là-bas, très calmes et paisibles. Apportez beaucoup d'eau pour vous rendre au sentier lumineux des anges. Il y a une station d'eau à Indian Garden. La partie difficile a été la montée de 4,6 milles sur le sentier lumineux des anges. Nous avons déjà parcouru environ 9 miles et avons terminé la randonnée en 8 heures.

randonnée
4 months ago

J'ai fait de nombreuses randonnées au Phantom Ranch et j'ai décidé de prendre Tonto au Tip-off et de me rendre à Indian Gardens. C'était début juillet et il y avait deux sources actives sur le Tonto. Je suis entré et sorti tôt le matin avant la chaleur de midi. J'ai adoré le Tonto! c'était tellement génial de se sentir seul sur cette Mesa. J'y ai passé environ quatre heures et je n'ai pas passé une âme !!!! Assurez-vous d'emporter beaucoup d'eau et ne comptez pas sur les sources. Je ne le recommanderais que pendant les mois d'été à une personne ayant une certaine expérience du Grand Canyon.

randonnée
6 months ago

J'ai eu 1 jour pour faire l'expérience de GC alors j'ai opté pour la combinaison de Bright Angel et South Kaibab. J'ai ajouté environ 9 km au total à cette randonnée en allant au-delà de la descente jusqu'à la rivière. La randonnée totale était donc d'environ 29 km. J'ai commencé le Bright Angel à 5 heures du matin et je suis remonté au sommet de la SK à 9h58, soit un peu moins de 5 heures. Cependant, j'ai à peu près couru les 3 premières heures. Je dirais que compléter les 20 km (ou probablement plus près de 23) peut être effectué en 6 à 7 heures, même pour une personne ayant une condition physique modérée. Bright Angel est exquis, abrité, pittoresque, presque un conte de fée, comme au lever du soleil. Tonto est plus exposé et désolé (cela dit, je n'ai pas vu une seule personne pendant les 3 premières heures). South Kaibab est plus robuste et difficile à relever. Je ne recommanderais pas de remonter ce sentier par une journée très chaude. Globalement, si vous avez 6-7 heures et que vous voulez le meilleur, je le recommande vivement. Une des meilleures randonnées que j'ai faites, point final.

randonnée
6 months ago

J'ai trouvé ce sentier modérément difficile et incroyablement beau. C'est en fait 14 miles et nous a pris 8 heures et pas facile sur les genoux. La partie Tonto n’a aucune teinte, assurez-vous donc de la préparer. Quelle que soit la température au dessus, ajoutez 20 degrés pour le Tonto Trail. Je suis allé Kaibob-Tonto-Indian Garden-Bright Angel. Utilisé 3 litres d'eau. Le canyon a eu beaucoup de pluie récemment et nos vues étaient vertes et luxuriantes. Une de mes randonnées préférées!

randonnée
7 months ago

South Kaibab à Tonto jusqu'à Bright Angel.

7 months ago

Juste la randonnée la plus parfaite offrant un bon défi. Notre GPS a marqué 12,87mi et nous avons terminé en un peu moins de 7 heures avec de nombreux arrêts pour tout prendre et des pauses collations. Je recommande de descendre S Kaibab, rapide et escarpé et de revenir à Bright Angel, qui est une montée plus sinueuse et plus lente. Nous étions les seuls sur le Tonto Trail! Sur le Tonto, il y a 2 sources luxuriantes, puis la source glorieuse d'Indian Garden. Je ne saurais trop vous recommander cette belle journée de randonnée! Le garde forestier a déclaré préférer cette randonnée à la randonnée jante-rivière-jante car Tonto offre une vue imprenable sur le canyon.

randonnée
boueux
neige
rocheux
9 months ago

En tant que personne qui a parcouru une quantité considérable de sentiers, c'était de loin le plus difficile. Randonnée ce 16 février et il y avait beaucoup de glace et de neige. Même s'il fait plus froid que d'habitude, je vous recommande fortement d'emporter deux fois plus d'eau que vous ne le pensez nécessaire. Beaucoup de points d'eau sont toujours fermés. Tout bien considéré est quelque chose que je recommanderais à tout le monde (si physiquement capable). Il y en a très peu qui s'aventurent sur Tonto, mais les vues d'en bas sont hallucinantes. Ça vaut vraiment le coup!

randonnée
Sun Dec 02 2018

Belle randonnée. Garé près de Bright Angel, deux navettes bleue, puis orange, au départ du sentier. Débuté en bas de Kaibab à 17h début juillet, un peu plus frais est arrivé à Indian Gardens à l’obscurité. Sentier Tonto pas difficile mais beaucoup moins fréquenté vs Kaibab ou Bright Angel. Il y a des terrains de camping mais les piles de rechange pour les phares sont bonnes. Pas de problème après Bright Angel. L'eau disponible à Indian Gardens. Dur temps de montée environ 7 heures montrant plus près de 15 miles. Je ne saurais trop insister sur le fait de prendre de l'eau supplémentaire! Reste en sécurité.

randonnée
Tue Oct 30 2018

Superbe randonnée, à peu près toute la descente jusqu'au mile 9, puis 4,5 km d'ange lumineux pour terminer votre journée. En dépit de ce que toutes les pistes indiquent être à 12,4 km, j’ai en fait enregistré le GPS avec une précision de 14 milles. Plus de 3 600 altitudes à la fin, soyez prêts. Nous a pris (en grande partie en forme) 7 heures du sentier au début du sentier. Nous avons fait une randonnée à la fin du mois d’octobre et les températures montaient à 80. Il y a un petit ruisseau à environ 6 km si vous devez purifier, vous pouvez le faire mais doutez qu’il fonctionne en été. Le sentier du Tonto est facile à manquer, donc quand vous arrivez sur le plateau, assurez-vous de regarder à gauche! Apportez de l'eau et de la nourriture. Les vues sont incroyables. Prendre plaisir!

randonnée
Fri Oct 12 2018

10/9/18 Incroyable: 14 milles sur 6,24 milles avec très peu d'arrêts. Légèrement emballé avec un gilet de course sur sentier et 2,5 L d'eau. Les jours précédents et le matin étaient pluie et froid. A commencé vers 1200 et a terminé à 6h24.

randonnée
Sun Sep 23 2018

Belle randonnée! Nous avons commencé vers 6 h 30 pour se terminer vers 15 h 45. Garez-vous à Bright Angel et prenez l’autobus du randonneur matinal pour vous rendre au South Kaibab TH. Nous n'avons vu qu'une autre personne sur le sentier Tonto lors de notre passage. Comme d'autres l'ont dit, apportez beaucoup d'eau. Il y a quelques stations sur le Bright Angel Trail mais aucune ne descend sur le South Kaibab ou le Tonto Trail.

randonnée
Tue Sep 04 2018

Vues Absolument Exceptionnelles !!! Cette randonnée permettra de tester votre volonté. Le sentier qui tourne vers East Tonto Trail est un peu difficile. Le marqueur de piste est déroutant. Une fois que vous atteignez le Tip Off, le sentier est désactivé. East Tonto vous dépose à Indian Gardens. Assurez-vous d'apporter au moins 3 litres d'eau, car il n'y a pas d'eau sur les sentiers Kiabab et East Tonto. La plupart de ce trek n'a pas de couverture alors préparez-vous à la lumière directe du soleil. L'Ange brillant est l'endroit où la volonté / l'entraînement entre en jeu. Il y a 2 stations d’eau et des aires de repos ombragées à la sortie. Assurez-vous de travailler jusqu'à cette randonnée car c'est un coup de pied! Le voyage total m'a pris un peu plus de 6 heures.

Wed Apr 11 2018

Une randonnée difficile mais qui en vaut la peine.

randonnée
Mon Mar 05 2018

Deuxième fois. C'est un excellent sentier et un excellent moyen de voir le max canyon en une seule journée.

randonnée
Fri Jan 26 2018

Très belle journée de randonnée, nous (les gars de 30 ans) avons commencé à 9h30 et avons terminé vers 17 heures, et avons fait de nombreux arrêts en chemin. Il y avait de la glace dans les parties les plus hautes du canyon, au premier et au dernier kilomètre. J'avais des pointes, mon ami l'a fait sans. Il y a d'autres personnes qui descendent le sentier South Kaibab (la plupart descendent jusqu'au ranch Phantom), mais sur le sentier Tonto, nous n'avons vu que 3 autres personnes. Si vous avez assez d'énergie, assurez-vous de parcourir quelques centaines de pieds supplémentaires du sentier South Kaibab après le point de départ pour obtenir une superbe vue sur la rivière!

randonnée
Wed Nov 22 2017

C'est ma randonnée préférée dans le Grand Canyon! Procurez-vous une chambre ou un camping pour deux nuits afin de pouvoir vous adapter légèrement à l'altitude avant de partir en randonnée. La navette Express Hiker's quitte l'arrêt Bright Angel Lodge toute l'année et vous emmène au début du sentier South Kaibab. À partir de là, profitez des 13 miles qui descendent sur le plateau et remontez à l’arrière. Vous allez sortir au sentier Bright Angel et vous rendre directement à votre chambre / tente. Je le ferai en février 2018 et vous donnerai un aperçu de la version d'hiver ...

randonnée
1 month ago

randonnée
2 months ago

randonnée
3 months ago

randonnée
3 months ago

randonnée
3 months ago

randonnée
3 months ago

Charger plus

Help keep our trails and parks open during COVID-19 by committing to social distancing. Some trails or park services may be closed this weekend so check with local authorities before heading out.
Learn more

South Kaibab, Tonto and Bright Angel Trail

hardYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow Star(47)
Grand Canyon National Park

South Kaibab, Tonto and Bright Angel Trail is a 12.4 mile heavily trafficked point-to-point trail located near Grand Canyon, Arizona that features beautiful wild flowers and is only recommended for very experienced adventurers. The trail is primarily used for hiking, nature trips, and bird watching and is accessible year-round.

Length 12.4 mi Elevation gain 3,395 ft Route type Point to Point
Hiking Nature trips Bird watching Views Wild flowers Wildlife No shade No dogs
Description
Waypoints (0)
Tips

Perfect long day trip! Hike down South Kaibab, across the plateau on the Tonto Trail, connect to Bright Angel at Indian Garden and return to the south rim. Hiker Shuttle leaves the Bright Angel Lodge bus stop daily, dropping you at the South Kaibab trailhead. Your walk up Bright Angel dumps you back to your room or campsite. As always, check for water availability at Indian Garden, 3-mile and 1-1/2 mile rest stops on Bright Angel. No water on South Kaibab (except for the trailhead in summer).

There is no cell service once you get below the rim. While you may encounter hikers on South Kaibab and Bright Angel, you will likely cover the 4+ miles of Tonto alone. Be self-sufficient and there is no shade.

Weather
UV Index
Daylight
Reviews (48)
Photos (5216)
Recordings (20)
Completed (182)
View user's profile page
Kate Elizabeth
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSeptember 5, 2020
Hiking

What a hike! My original plan was to head down South Kaibab to Phantom Ranch and then up Bright Angel, but I chickened out when I saw the 115° temperature forecast. This was an excellent consolation prize! The views down Kaibab at sunrise are stunning, and walking across Tonto with zero people around is such a cool experience. Incredible views in all directions. The hike itself isn’t terribly difficult - the descent to Tip Off goes quickly, then you have 4 miles of a mostly flat plateau, and then a 3k climb over 4.5 miles. That said, this was an absolutely grueling experience and I would definitely not recommend doing it in early September like I did. The plateau was absolutely sizzling by about 9AM - I found myself dragging and had gone through about 3 liters of water by the time I got to Indian Gardens. The climb up Bright Angel is a slog, but your knees will welcome the uphill by then. Take breaks and refill on water at the rest houses, and you’ll get there eventually. And eat! I forced myself to eat a granola bar or a Gu at each stop, and it helped immensely. There was a decent amount of shade on parts of Bright Angel, which also helped. I started at 5:30 and it took me just about 8 hours round trip.

View user's profile page
Caroline Kanaskie
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarMarch 22, 2020
Hiking

We did this hike with two nights at the Indian Garden backcountry campground. First day was South Kaibab to Tonto to camp. Second day, we hiked down into the canyon via Bright Angel and back to camp. Third day, we hiked from camp to the Bright Angel trailhead. I highly recommend spending some time down in the canyon if possible!! Walk in permits are available, so give that a shot if you weren’t able to apply for the lottery.

View user's profile page
Chris Hausman
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarFebruary 24, 2020
HikingMuddyNo shadeSnow

Hiked on 2/24. South Kaibab & Bright Angel were both a bit icy at the top, crampons helped but not 100% required. I thoroughly enjoyed the Tonto portion of this hike. Saw only one other group of hikers the entire time I was on Tonto. Loved having that solitude down in the canyon. I added on a quick trip to Plateau Point after refilling my water at Indian Garden. Ended up logging 17 miles in just over 7 hours. I jogged down portions of South Kaibab. This hike is a really great option if you have either (a) already done the hike all the way down to the river and are looking for something different or (b) aren't quite sure that your legs are up for the full 5k elevation change of the full rim to river hike.

View user's profile page
C.W. Gross
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarJanuary 2, 2020
Hiking

South Kaibab to Tonto to Bright Angel was one of the best and worst things I've ever done. We stayed at Bright Angel Lodge and hiked the entirety of August 19, 2019 (yes, AUGUST) from sunrise to sunset, catching the hiker shuttle at 5am and reaching the Bright Angel Trailhead at 7pm. We aren't the expert adventurers recommended by the trail description, so it was slow going and the hike up Bright Angel was absolutely awful. The difference maker was preparation. Do your research, watch videos, read reports, familiarize yourself with the trail as much as possible before you go, bring the recommended supplies and then some, and take seriously what the NPS says. We met plenty of people, even fitter than us, who were having a much harder time because of inadequate planning and supplies (including one family whose "day hike" to the river and back became a two night ordeal at Phantom Ranch to recover from electrolyte loss, exhaustion, and heat stroke). Of course make sure you're in at least moderate shape, but preparation is the real key. And yes, it will be beautiful and incredible and awe-inspiring and brutal and horrible and awful all at once. It's gruelling and demands everything from you physically, intellectually, and emotionally. But to spend a day surrounded by the solemnity of the Grand Canyon is indescribably rewarding.

View user's profile page
Troy Quillin
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarNovember 11, 2019
Hiking

Fantastic, Tonto trail was a treat, I didn't expect much but was pleasantly surprised. The spring crossings were beautiful, trees changing color, incredible views through the side canyons, not especially challenging part of the hike, but if you've done the river before you might like this for a change. We logged around 15 miles, but added Plateau Point for fun and finished at 18.4 miles.

View user's profile page
Andrew Sweetland
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarOctober 14, 2019
Hiking

Definitely would recommend this route. Going down S Kaibab, over on West Tonto, and up Bright Angel was definitely the right call if you only have one day to do the canyon. Very difficult hike going up, but you get the best of the two popular trails (the better views from S Kaibab and Tonto, and the rest houses going up bright angel). My GPS recorded just under 15 miles and about a 3,500' climb. Took about 7 hours for a mostly in-shape and inexperienced hiker.

View user's profile page
C Pav
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarOctober 13, 2019
Hiking

Very challenging for my first hike below the rim. My app registered 16.5 miles, 9.5 moving hours, 12.5 total time. On the way up I was fatigued and assumed my water was still good while passing the 1.5 mile refill, well shortly after passing it I ran out. The final 1.5 mile stretch was very difficult.. lack of water, lack of energy from not eating enough calories. At the end I was happy to have my campsite waiting for me at Mather campground.. the more you prepare yourself, the more you will enjoy it, the less you prepare yourself, the more u will feel the suffering

View C's Recording
View user's profile page
Liz Elder
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarSeptember 14, 2019
HikingNo shadeRocky

This trail was okay as far as trails go. You don’t see too much after getting down into the canyon and honestly Indian garden was pretty disappointing after hiking 8mi. Not to mention a waterline had broken at the time of our visit over Memorial Day so there was nowhere to get water for the first 9 mi. I definitely recommend hiking on a cooler day if you do decide to do this trail. Otherwise I think you could have better views elsewhere

View user's profile page
John Kozel
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSeptember 14, 2019
Hiking

My wife, Wendy and I, found the hike to be a difficult, but worthwhile. we started down the south kaibab trail at 7:30 and made our way across the tonto trail at the tipoff point. The tonto trail was amazing, we were the only ones out there, very quiet and peaceful. Bring plenty of water to make it over to bright angel trail. There is a water station at Indian Garden. The difficult part was the 4.6 mile climb up the bright angel trail. We already hiked about 9 miles and completed the hike in 8 hrs.

View user's profile page
Steve Black
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarAugust 6, 2019
Hiking

I’ve hiked to Phantom Ranch multiple times and decided to take Tonto at the Tip-off and cut over to Indian Gardens. It was early July and there were two springs active on the Tonto. I hiked in and out early morning before the mid day heat. Loved the Tonto! it was so awesome to feel alone on that Mesa. I was on it for about four hours and didn’t pass a soul!!!! Be sure to pack plenty of water and don’t count on the springs. I would only recommend this to during the summer months to someone with some experience in the Grand Canyon.

View user's profile page
Greg B
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarJune 6, 2019
Hiking

I had 1 day to experience GC so I opted for the combination of Bright Angel and South Kaibab. I added about 9km total to this hike by going beyond the drop off down to the river, so total hike was ~29km. I started down the Bright Angel at 5am and got back to the top of SK at 9:58, so just under 5 hours. I pretty much ran the first 3 hours however. I would say completing the 20km (or probably closer to 23) can be done in 6-7 hours even for someone with moderate fitness. Bright Angel is exquisite, sheltered, picturesque, almost fairy tale like esp at sunrise. Tonto is more exposed and desolate (having said that I didn’t see a single person for the first 3 hours). South Kaibab is more rugged and pretty tough coming back up. I wouldn’t recommend coming back up this trail on a very hot day. Overall if you have 6-7 hours and want the “best of” I can highly recommend it. One of the best hikes I’ve ever done, period.

View user's profile page
Justine Parker
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarJune 5, 2019
Hiking

Found this trail moderately challenging and incredibly beautiful. It’s actually 14 miles and took us 8 hours and not easy on the knees. The Tonto portion has zero shade so be sure to prepare. Whatever the temp on top, add 20 degrees for the Tonto Trail. Went Kaibob-Tonto-Indian Garden-Bright Angel. Used 3 liters of water. The canyon had lots of rain recently and our views were green and lush. One of my favorite hikes!

View user's profile page
Deb Wehrung
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarApril 22, 2019
Hiking

South Kaibab to Tonto up Bright Angel.

View Deb's Recording
View user's profile page
Vanessa Dempel
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarApril 13, 2019

Just the most perfect day hike offering a good challenge. Our GPS clocked 12.87mi and we finished in just under 7 hours with plenty stops to take it all in and snack breaks. I recommend going down S Kaibab, quick and steep and back up Bright Angel which is a more winding slow, climb. We were the only ones on the Tonto Trail! On the Tonto there are 2 lush springs, and then the glorious spring at Indian Garden. Couldn't recommend this lovely day- hike enough! The ranger said he preferred this hike to the rim-river-rim hike because Tonto offers an expansive view of the canyon.

View user's profile page
Peter Weber
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarApril 3, 2019
Hiking

We started at Bright Angel lodge at 7am in Late April, there was no snow at the top. The hike was amazing and the trail at east Tonto was overgrown like no one had walked the trail yet this spring. What was most amazing was seeing the Keyhole rock formation way up the cliff and realizing we had to hike up tp it, also the switchbacks on the kaibab trail are steep and one of the hardest switchbacks I have ever done, it got hot in the afternoon but still had cool spring breeze. I have hiked the canyon in August and could not even think how hot Tonto would be without a cool spring breeze.Amazing hike, did not see any hikers on the Tonto trail the entire hike, it took 10 hours and I am in good shape.

View user's profile page
Isaac Mattson
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarFebruary 24, 2019
HikingMuddyRockySnow

As someone who has hiked a considerable amount of trails this by far was the most challenging. Hike this Feb. 16th and there was plenty of ice and snow. Even with it being colder than usual I highly recommend packing twice as much water as you think you’ll need. Many water spots are still shutdown. All things considered it’s something I would recommend everyone do (if physically capable). There’s very few who venture onto Tonto, but views from the bottom are mind blowing. Well worth it!

View user's profile page
James Nolan
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarDecember 2, 2018
Hiking

Beautiful hike. Parked near Bright Angel two shuttles Blue then Orange to trailhead. Started down Kaibab at 5pm early July a little cooler made it to Indian Gardens at dark. Tonto trail not difficult but much less traveled vs Kaibab or Bright Angel. There are campsites there but had good headlamp spare batteries no trouble following Bright Angel to top. Water available at Indian Gardens. Tough climb up total time about 7 hours showing closer to 15 miles. Can't emphasize enough take extra water! Stay safe.

View user's profile page
Houston Douglass
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarOctober 30, 2018
Hiking

Awesome hike, pretty much all downhill till mile 9 and then 4.5 miles up bright angel to end your day. Despite what all trails says it being 12.4 I actually clocked it with gps at 14 miles exactly. 3,600+ elevation all at the end, be prepared. Took us (in shape for the most part) 7 hours from trailhead to trailhead. Hiked at the end of October and temps were topping out at 80. There’s is a small stream about 6.5 miles in if you had to purify you could do there but doubt it’s running in summer months. The Tonto trailhead is easy to miss so when you get down to the plateau be sure to look left! Bring water and food. Views are unbelievable. Enjoy!

View user's profile page
Peaks Summits
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarOctober 12, 2018
Hiking

10/9/18 Amazing: 14 miles in 6.24 miles with very few stops. Lightly packed with trail running vest and 2.5 L water. Days prior and morning of was rain and cold . Began around 1200 and finished 6:24.

View user's profile page
Chelsea Sholander
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSeptember 23, 2018
Hiking

Beautiful hike! We started around 0630 and ended around 1545. Park at Bright Angel and took the early morning hiker's bus to the South Kaibab TH. We only saw one other person on the Tonto trail as we crossed over. As others have said, bring plenty of water. There are a few stations on the Bright Angel Trail but none coming down on the South Kaibab or Tonto Trail.

View user's profile page
Cory Wood
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSeptember 4, 2018
Hiking

Absolutely Outstanding Views!!! This hike will test your will power. The trail turn off to East Tonto Trail is a bit tricky. The trail marker is confusing. Once you reach the Tip Off you’ll find the trail turn off. East Tonto drops you off at Indian Gardens. Be sure to bring at least 3 liters of water as there is no water on Kiabab and East Tonto trails. Most of this trek has no cover so prepare for direct sunlight. The Bright Angel is where the will power/workout comes into play. There are 2 water stations and shaded rest areas on the way out. Be sure to work up to this hike as it is a butt kicker! The total trip took me a little over 6 hours.

View user's profile page
AllTrails Steve Meachum
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarApril 11, 2018

a hard hike but well worth it.

View user's profile page
Luke Kratz
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarMarch 5, 2018
Hiking

Second time. This is a great trail and a superb way to see max canyon in a single day.

View user's profile page
Martijn Weghorst
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarJanuary 26, 2018
Hiking

Very nice day hike, we (30-yo guys) started at 9:30 AM and finished around 5 PM, and made a lot of stops on the way. There was some ice at the higher parts of the canyon, at the first and last 0,5/1 mile. I had spiked soles, my friend did it without. Going down the South Kaibab trail are some other people (most going down to the Phantom Ranch), but on the Tonto trail we only saw 3 other people. If you've got the energy, make sure to walk a few hundred extra feet of the South Kaibab trail after the Tip Off point to get a great view of the river!

View user's profile page
Kevin Causey
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarNovember 22, 2017
Hiking
First to Review

This is my favorite day hike in the Grand Canyon! Get a room or campsite for two nights so you can adjust to the altitude a bit before hiking. The Hiker's Express shuttle leaves the Bright Angel Lodge bus stop year-around, and delivers you to the South Kaibab trail head. From there, enjoy the 13 miles down, across the plateau, and back up. You'll walk out at the Bright Angel trailhead, and straight to your room/tent. I'll do this in February 2018 and give you the scoop on the winter version...

Showing results 1 - 25 of 48