North Urban Trail System-West

MODERATE 31 reviews
#74 of 169 trails in

North Urban Trail System-West is a 2.3 mile loop trail located near Sedona, Arizona that features beautiful wild flowers and is rated as moderate. The trail is primarily used for hiking, walking, nature trips, and birding and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
2.3 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
377 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Loop

dogs on leash

birding

hiking

nature trips

walking

views

wild flowers

Directions from the junction of Routes 89A and 179: To get to the Thunder Mountain Trailhead, take 89A west 3.2 miles to Dry Creek Road on the right. Go north .5 mile to Thunder Mountain Road on the right. Go .6 miles east to the turnoff on the left for trailhead parking.

3 months ago

Great early morning hike

hiking
4 months ago

Really great scenery, 360 degree views of Sedona from the Mesa.

10 months ago

YaY! I wanna live in this neighborhood. This is what “urban” should be all about.

nature trips
Tuesday, August 15, 2017

This was a very special site to see. The hike here was very easy and also had nice symbols along the way. We highly appreciated the sight.

Saturday, May 06, 2017

The only downside to this hike is all the houses. There's an unmarked trail that winds up the north side of Chimney, which I prefer to the standard summit trail up little sugarloaf.
If you're wanting to see the Stupa and Peace Park take the Adante trail off the east side of chimney (thunder mtn trail) about a quarter mile from the TH.

hiking
Friday, May 05, 2017

The Buddhist shrine is a must see!

hiking
Sunday, April 16, 2017

A Buddhist shrine in the desert? How cool!

Friday, September 16, 2016

awesome hike! relatively easy. safe hiking!

hiking
Friday, September 16, 2016

Great nice hike! Some steep points but really enjoyable with great views!

hiking
Thursday, September 08, 2016

Hiked to the stupa. I found it very interesting with all the different cultural things to look at. 3 miles round trip or if you just want to visit the stupa you can take the trail to the right and that will only be a short hike.

Tuesday, June 07, 2016

Incredibly inspiring

hiking
Saturday, July 25, 2015

Easy trail, but didn't go the distance. We were tired after a long 6 mile hike just before.

Mostly did this hike for the Buddha site.

hiking
6 months ago

hiking
7 months ago

10 months ago

hiking
Wednesday, September 20, 2017

hiking
Sunday, August 27, 2017

hiking
Saturday, July 01, 2017

hiking
Tuesday, June 27, 2017

Sunday, April 30, 2017

Wednesday, April 05, 2017

Tuesday, March 14, 2017

walking
Tuesday, January 24, 2017

hiking
Tuesday, November 22, 2016

Tuesday, October 25, 2016

hiking
Friday, August 19, 2016

Wednesday, June 01, 2016

Monday, February 15, 2016

Load More