Baboquivari: Hike to Lions Ledge

DIFFICILE 3 avis
N°2 sur 2 randonnées à

Baboquivari: Randonnée vers les Lions Ledge est un sentier de 4,8 km situé près de Topawa, en Arizona, qui offre une vue panoramique et est considéré comme difficile. Le sentier est principalement utilisé pour la randonnée et s’utilise de mars à mai. Les chiens sont également capables d'utiliser ce sentier.

Distance: 4.2 miles Dénivelé: 2,529 feet Type d'itinéraire: Aller-retour

chiens bienvenus

randonnée

vue panoramique

rocheux

Paysages dramatiques et panoramiques, solitude et vue splendide sur le sommet de la montagne La randonnée commence sur un chemin de terre qui longe un ranch occupé et se prolonge dans un lit de ruisseau. Une fois au lit du ruisseau, commencez à chercher un marqueur de piste. Une fois que vous avez localisé le marqueur de piste, continuez à suivre cette piste tout le long de la selle. Le sentier traversera le lit du ruisseau, assurez-vous de rester toujours sur le sentier. Après 2 heures de randonnée, vous serez du côté ouest du pic Baboquivari. Le sentier vous mènera dans un ravin et continuez jusqu'à Lions Ledge. Lions Ledge, est la ligne d’arbre horizontale qui traverse cette énorme paroi rocheuse. Une fois sur Lions Ledge, continuez à marcher vers le sud jusqu'à atteindre une source d'eau naturelle. C'est un bon point de départ et apportez votre filtre à eau pour reconstituer votre réserve d'eau. La source a généralement de l'eau pendant la saison printanière. Les vues sont à couper le souffle et la solitude est parfaite. Une randonnée pénible, mais qui en vaut la peine.

randonnée
Tue May 31 2016

Grande randonnée. Très robuste et isolé. Nous avons croisé à pied un agent de la police des frontières qui recherchait des trafiquants de drogue. Le sentier n'est pas très en forme, mais nous ne l'avons perdu que quelques fois. Plus d'informations sur ce post: http://yourcameraisnotbigenough.blogspot.com/2016/01/spooky-baboquivari.html?m=1

randonnée
3 months ago

randonnée
Tue Mar 06 2018

Randonnées populaires

Help keep our trails and parks open during COVID-19 by committing to social distancing. Some trails or park services may be closed this weekend so check with local authorities before heading out.
Learn more

Baboquivari: Hike to Lions Ledge

hardYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray Star(5)
Baboquivari Peak Wilderness

Baboquivari: Hike to Lions Ledge is a 4.2 mile out and back trail located near Topawa, Arizona that offers scenic views and is rated as difficult. The trail is primarily used for hiking and is best used from March until May. Dogs are also able to use this trail.

Distance: 4.2 miles Elevation Gain: 2,529 feet Route Type: Out & Back

dog friendly

hiking

views

rocky

Dramatic and Scenic landscapes, solitude and splendid view of mountain peak The hike begins on a dirt road, that leads past an occupied ranch house, and into a stream bed. Once you come to the stream bed, begin to look for a trail marker. Once you locate the trail marker, continue to follow this trail all the way up the saddle. The trail will cross back and forth the streambed, so make sure you always stay on the trail. After 2 hours of hiking, you will be on the west side of Baboquivari Peak. The trail will lead you up a gully and on to Lions Ledge. Lions Ledge, is the horizontal tree line, that goes across this enormous rock face. Once your on Lions Ledge, continue to walk South, until you come to a natural spring of water. This is a good turn around point, and bring your water filter to replenish your water supply. The spring usually has water during the spring season. The views are breathtaking and the solitude is perfect. A strenuous hike, but well worth it.

hiking
Tue May 31 2016

Great hike. Very rugged and secluded. We ran into a border patrol agent on foot who was after some drug runners. The trail isn't in great shape, but we only lost it a couple times. More information on this post: http://yourcameraisnotbigenough.blogspot.com/2016/01/spooky-baboquivari.html?m=1

hiking
5 months ago

hiking
11 months ago

hiking
Tue Mar 06 2018