Acer Summit Via Mormon Trail is a 2.3 mile moderately trafficked out and back trail located near Phoenix, Arizona that features beautiful wild flowers and is rated as moderate. The trail is primarily used for hiking, trail running, and nature trips and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
2.3 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
744 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Out & Back

dogs on leash

hiking

nature trips

trail running

views

wild flowers

wildlife

no shade

Take Mormon Trail to the highest nearby point accessible by trail. Acer Summit takes it's name from the Latin word meaning sharp and strong and gives a nice sense of achievement with gorgeous views.

hiking
4 months ago

I tried hiking Acer Summit with "barefoot" finger shoes and really enjoyed the experience. Among all the big rocks are many smooth surfaces to step on and there aren't any parts with just sharp rocks or large gravel to contend with. The "barefoot" experience encourages me to use the front of my feet and during and after this hike, my knees felt better than usual.

Temperature was approaching 90. Round trip took about 1 hour. 33 minutes to Acer Summit, less coming down.

hiking
4 months ago

A good destination for locals looking for a short, challenging hike. Lots of big rocks and boulders to have fun with. Beautiful views of the city and surrounding area from the top of Acer Summit.

hiking
1 month ago

hiking
4 months ago

hiking
8 months ago

hiking
8 months ago

trail running
10 months ago

hiking
Sunday, October 29, 2017

Saturday, April 08, 2017

Monday, April 03, 2017

Tuesday, January 31, 2017

Sunday, January 08, 2017

hiking
Monday, January 02, 2017

Thursday, December 01, 2016

Monday, November 28, 2016

hiking
Tuesday, April 05, 2016

hiking
Tuesday, March 29, 2016

hiking
Thursday, February 11, 2016

hiking
Friday, December 26, 2014

hiking
Thursday, May 01, 2014