Spring Sale! Get a year of AllTrails Pro for only $14.99
Get Started

Ptarmigan Peak

INTERMÉDIAIRE 16 avis
N°16 sur 43 randonnées à

Ptarmigan Peak is a 7 mile moderately trafficked out and back trail located near Anchorage, Alaska that features beautiful wild flowers and is rated as moderate. The trail is primarily used for hiking, walking, nature trips, and birding and is best used from June until August. Dogs are also able to use this trail.

DISTANCE
7.0 miles
DÉNIVELÉ
3,064 pieds
TYPE D'ITINÉRAIRE
Aller-retour

chiens bienvenus

randonnée

activités en pleine nature

balade

ornithologie

vue panoramique

fleurs sauvages

faune

randonnée
7 months ago

Randonnée magnifique, pas un vrai sentier clairement balisé. Il y a un meilleur sentier que j'ai coupé sur la selle mais je ne sais pas où cela a commencé. La seule raison pour laquelle il a reçu 3 étoiles de ma part et non une note supérieure, c’est qu’elle est qualifiée de modérée et que le dernier kilomètre est constitué de cailloux et de éboulis de roches assez noueux. Pas impossible, mais pas quelque part, j'amènerais un novice ou des enfants. J'ai vu le lagopède obligatoire et environ six couples d'orignal et un petit de vache qui ont incité une retraite de 150 ans dans le sentier, car ils utilisaient la portion dont j'avais besoin à ce moment précis. Dans l'ensemble, une bonne randonnée!

randonnée
8 months ago

Pas de sentier après. 25 mètres. Il suffit de marcher comme vous le souhaitez.

randonnée
8 months ago

Cette randonnée a-t-elle eu lieu le 28 juin 2018. Descendez la ligne électrique et montez jusqu'à Ptarmigan, escaladez Ptarmigan .. puis descendez et suivez toutes les crêtes.pous au parc de glen alps commencé à 13h19 et terminé à 10h30. Les arrêts comprennent le déjeuner, la prise de photos et le repos. Difficile… mais faisable.

randonnée
Sunday, September 23, 2012

Mon ami Eric et moi avons parcouru Flattop à pied et parcouru tous les sommets jusqu’à Ptarmigan. Il a fallu environ 12 heures du début à la fin, arrêts compris. Nous nous sommes garés sur le parking, mais au moment où nous avons atteint le sommet de Ptarmigan, il faisait noir. Nous avons donc redescendu et suivi le sentier dans la vallée le long des pics se terminant au sommet de Dearmon. Nous avons essayé d’enfiler la face nord du lagopède et je ne le recommande pas sans équipement et expérience sérieuse. Nous avons fait le maximum du chemin avant qu'il ne se transforme en mur plat. Grande randonnée quand même!

randonnée
Wednesday, September 22, 2010

Bonne montée raide et escalade vers le haut. Randonnée amusante… pour plus d’aventure, continuez sur la ligne de crête qui mène au lac Lapin.

randonnée
5 months ago

7 months ago

VTT
8 months ago

8 months ago

randonnée
9 months ago

a enregistré ptarmigan

randonnée
Sunday, October 01, 2017

randonnée
Saturday, August 19, 2017

Friday, August 11, 2017

Sunday, July 02, 2017

randonnée
Sunday, July 31, 2016

Saturday, July 09, 2016

Ptarmigan Peak

MODERATE 17 reviews
#15 of 42 trails in

Ptarmigan Peak is a 7 mile moderately trafficked out and back trail located near Anchorage, Alaska that features beautiful wild flowers and is rated as moderate. The trail is primarily used for hiking, walking, nature trips, and birding and is best used from June until August. Dogs are also able to use this trail.

DISTANCE
7.0 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
3,064 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Out & Back

dog friendly

birding

hiking

nature trips

walking

views

wild flowers

wildlife

hiking
2 months ago

Gorgeous Hike, not a real clearly marked trail. There is a better trail that I cut up on the saddle but I’m not sure where this started. The only reason this received a 3 star rating from me and not higher was that it’s marked as moderate and the top mile is some pretty gnarled rock crawling and scree. Not undoable but not somewhere I’d bring a novice or kids. I did see the obligatory ptarmigan and about 6 moose, one cow calf pair that prompted a 150yrd retreat back up the trail as they were using the portion I needed at that particular moment. All in all a great hike!

hiking
3 months ago

No trail after. 25 yards. Just hike it as you like.

hiking
3 months ago

Did this hike June 28, 2018. Hike down Powerline and up to Ptarmigan, Climbed Ptarmigan.. then hiked down and followed all the ridges.peaks back to glen alps parking lot. started 1:19pm and finished 1030p. Stops included lunch,picture taking, and rest. Challenging..but doable.

hiking
Sunday, September 23, 2012

My friend Eric and I hiked from Flattop up and over every peak back to Ptarmigan. Took about 12 hours start to finish including stops. We parked in the parking lot at flattop but by the time we reached the summit of Ptarmigan it was dark. So we made our way down and followed the trail in the valley along side the peaks ending up at the top of Dearmon. We tried scaling the north face of ptarmigan and I don't recommend it without gear and a serious level of experience. We made it most of the way before it turned into flat wall. Great hike though!

hiking
Wednesday, September 22, 2010

Good steep hike up, and scrambling towards the top. Fun day hike... for more adventure, continue on the ridgeline to Rabbit Lake.

hiking
22 days ago

1 month ago

mountain biking
3 months ago

3 months ago

hiking
4 months ago

hiking
Sunday, October 01, 2017

hiking
Saturday, August 19, 2017

Friday, August 11, 2017

Sunday, July 02, 2017

hiking
Sunday, July 31, 2016

Saturday, July 09, 2016