Spring Sale! Get a year of AllTrails Pro for only $14.99
Get Started

Ptarmigan Lake Trail

INTERMÉDIAIRE 30 avis
N°14 sur 29 randonnées à

Ptarmigan Lake Trail is a 6.8 mile lightly trafficked out and back trail located near Seward, Alaska that features a lake and is rated as moderate. The trail is primarily used for hiking, camping, and nature trips and is best used from May until October. Dogs are also able to use this trail.

DISTANCE
6.8 miles
DÉNIVELÉ
1,056 pieds
TYPE D'ITINÉRAIRE
Aller-retour

chiens bienvenus

camping

randonnée

activités en pleine nature

forêt

lac

rivière

vue panoramique

faune

24 days ago

Grand sentier d'été. Rappelez-vous simplement de votre répulsif Skeeter.

6 months ago

Très envahi par cette période de l'année (septembre)

randonnée
7 months ago

Grand sentier avec un beau lac comme prix. Les derniers 1,5 miles sont assez envahis, mais vous pouvez vous en occuper si vous y prêtez attention. La rivière donne surtout sur 1,5 km et vous garde au frais. Nous adorons ce sentier, facile à trouver et à suivre.

camping
9 months ago

Grand sentier .... paysages magnifiques et beaucoup de solitude! Bon pour une nuit ou une excursion d'une journée.

randonnée
Sunday, July 16, 2017

C'est un merveilleux sentier moelleux avec un gain d'altitude. Actuellement, le 15/07/17, le sentier mène confortablement au lac (~ 5 km). Au lac, le sentier continue mais est très touffu et brut. Prendre plaisir!!

randonnée
Friday, May 12, 2017

Belle journée hier, les violettes sont de sortie, seuls quelques skitters.

Sunday, October 02, 2016

J'ai parcouru ce sentier le 1er octobre 2016. Mon GPS l'a mesuré à 3,75 km du bord du lac. C'était un jour couvert, mais très calme quand je suis arrivé. J'ai eu des images de réflexion fantastiques parce que l'eau était si calme. J'ai fait une randonnée à peu près à mi-chemin de l'autre bout du lac et j'ai trouvé plusieurs points d'observation intéressants pour les photos. Le temps a commencé à changer, alors je me suis retourné à l'endroit où le sentier rencontrait un grand visage de Boulder. C'était élevé et donnait sur une cascade d'eau du côté opposé. Peu de monde sur le sentier à cette époque de l'année, très agréable.

Sunday, May 29, 2016

Le sentier est modéré avec des vues incroyables. Pas beaucoup d'élévation. Le lac est magnifique mais assurez-vous d’emporter quelques insectes.

camping
Saturday, May 21, 2016

Une très belle randonnée faite un très beau jour. Plus facile à sortir, principalement en descente. J'ai passé la nuit au lac et regardé un magnifique lever de soleil. Avec un sac de 40 lb et mon chien, il nous a fallu 2 heures de marche et 1,5 heure de marche.

randonnée
Friday, April 10, 2015

Randonnée sur ce sentier sur un dimanche de Pâques enneigé, 2015. Magnifique. Des oiseaux chantent tout au long de la crique. Neige sur les pins.

randonnée
Wednesday, July 13, 2011

Ma femme et moi avons fait cette randonnée plusieurs fois. C'est une excellente journée de randonnée jusqu'au lac pour le déjeuner et le retour. Cela nous prend généralement 2 à 3 heures pour atteindre l'extrémité inférieure du lac, où se trouve une belle zone de camping avec une boîte à provisions à l'épreuve des ours. Le sentier peut être un peu recouvert plus tard en été. Ce n'est pas une randonnée difficile et pour la plupart une belle montée en douceur vers le lac. Nos chiens adorent nager et jouer dans le lac après la randonnée et nous nous sommes bien amusés à nous prélasser au bord de l’eau et à nous rafraîchir les pieds.

randonnée
Thursday, August 26, 2010

Nous avons emprunté le sentier du lac Ptarmigan jusqu'au lac (3,5 milles aller). Le sentier continue autour du lac. La piste était assez boueuse, mais l'Alaska a connu 32 jours consécutifs de pluie mesurable dans cette région. Les myrtilles étaient dehors (et délicieux). Les ours le pensaient aussi. Bien que nous n'en ayons vu aucune, nous en avons vu des preuves. Sentier très pittoresque qui commence le long du ruisseau Ptarmigan, puis monte progressivement sur environ 750 pieds surplombant la vallée, puis redescend vers le lac. La plupart de ces informations étaient faciles à suivre, mais certaines parties étaient un peu envahies par la végétation. La vue sur le lac est vraiment sympa. Prenez un déjeuner et un pique-nique ...

randonnée
26 days ago

6 months ago

randonnée
6 months ago

randonnée
6 months ago

randonnée
6 months ago

randonnée
7 months ago

8 months ago

randonnée
8 months ago

Sunday, August 20, 2017

randonnée
Thursday, July 20, 2017

Tuesday, July 11, 2017

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Charger plus

Ptarmigan Lake Trail

MODERATE 12 reviews
#14 of 24 trails in

Ptarmigan Lake Trail is a 12.6 mile lightly trafficked out and back trail located near Seward, Alaska that features a lake and is rated as moderate. The trail is primarily used for hiking, camping, scenic driving, and backpacking and is best used from May until October. Dogs are also able to use this trail.

DISTANCE
12.6 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
4448 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Out & Back

dog friendly

backpacking

camping

hiking

scenic driving

forest

lake

river

views

wildlife

hiking
11 days ago

Beautiful day yesterday, violets are out, only a few skitters.Mostly dry trail.

25 days ago

1 month ago

7 months ago

I hiked this trail October1, 2016. My GPS measured it as 3.75 miles to the near edge of the lake. it was an overcast day, but very calm when I arrived. I got some fantastic reflection pictures because the water was so calm. I hiked about half way to the other end of the lake, and found several good vantage points for photos. The weather started to change, so I turned back at the point where the trail met a large Boulder face. This was elevated and had a view of a water cascade on the opposite side. Not many people on the trail at this time of year, very pleasant.

hiking
11 months ago

hiking
11 months ago

11 months ago

Trail is moderate with some AMAZING views. Not much elevation. The lake is beautiful but be sure to pack some bugs spray.

camping
Saturday, May 21, 2016

A very pretty hike done on a very pretty day. Easier coming out, as it in mainly downhill. I overnighted at the lake and watched a gorgeous sunrise. With a 40 lb pack and my dog, it took us 2 hours to hike in and 1.5 hours to hike out.

hiking
Monday, December 28, 2015

hiking
Friday, April 10, 2015

Hiked this trail on a snowy Easter Sunday, 2015. Gorgeous. Birds singing all along the creek. Snow on the pines.

hiking
Wednesday, July 13, 2011

My wife and i have done this hike several times. It is a great day hike up to the lake for lunch and back. It usually takes us 2-3 hours to get to the lower end of the lake where there is a nice camping area with a bear proof food storage box. The trail can be a little overgrown later in the summer. It is not a tough hike and for the most part is a nice gently rise to the lake. Our dogs love to swim and play in the lake after the hike in, and we had a great time lounging by the water and cooling our feet.

hiking
Thursday, August 26, 2010

We took Ptarmigan Lake Trail as far as the lake (3.5 miles one way). The trail continues on around the lake. The trail was pretty muddy, but Alaska has had 32 straight days of measurable rain in this area. The blueberries were out (and delicious). The bears thought so, too. Although we did not see any, we saw evidence of them. Very scenic trail, starting along the Ptarmigan Creek, then gradually up about 750 feet overlooking the valley and then back down to the lake. Most of it was easy to follow, but parts get somewhat overgrown. The view at the lake is really nice. Take a lunch and picnic...