China Poot Lake Trail via Halibut Cove Ranger Station

MITTELSCHWER 9 Bewertungen
#3 von 4 Wegen in

Der China Poot Lake Trail über die Halibut Cove Ranger Station ist ein 5,4 Meilen langer Wanderweg in der Nähe von Homer, Alaska, der über einen See verfügt und als moderat eingestuft wird. Der Weg wird hauptsächlich zum Wandern benutzt und wird am besten von Juni bis Oktober benutzt. Hunde können diesen Weg auch benutzen, müssen aber an der Leine gehalten werden.

Entfernung: 5.4 miles Höhenunterschied: 951 feet Routentyp: Rundweg

angeleinte Hunde

Wandern

Wald

See

Aussicht

überwachsen

Schnee

wandern
geschlossen
käfer
überwachsen
3 months ago

wandern
Sunday, August 12, 2018

Wir blieben in der China-Poot-Jurte und weil Käfer den Wald abgetötet haben, haben Gras und Gebüsch die Wege völlig und völlig verdeckt - es sei denn, die Pfadfinder haben kürzlich den Weg frei gemacht. Wir waren im August 2018 6 Wochen zu spät und konnten überhaupt nicht mehr wandern. Im Umkreis von 100 Fuß fühlen Sie sich völlig verloren.

wandern
Sunday, April 19, 2015

Über Homer mit dem Boot fahren. Schöne, ruhige, lange Wanderung in einer einsamen Hütte und einem ruhigen See. Stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie die Kabine im Voraus reservieren. Es gibt Bären auf der Spur, also sei auf der Hut! Stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie mit Wasser gefiltertes Wasser aus einem Gletscherbach holen - also rein und fleischig! Seien Sie auf Mücken vorbereitet - sie waren überall !!!!!!

wandern
Monday, July 08, 2013

Trail klärt sich bis Ende Mai in den meisten Jahren. Ich liebe diesen Weg, aber nicht für jeden. Bis Mitte Juni sind die Fehler voll in Kraft. Tolle Zeltplätze am See und eine süße Kabine für die öffentliche Nutzung (früh buchen). Achten Sie auf Bären!

wandern
Monday, July 08, 2013

Toller Trail, aber Anfang Mai etwas skizzenhaft. Viel Schnee auf dem Trail und nach dem Holzen war üblich. Der See war größtenteils vereist und das Angeln war nicht fruchtbar. Die Kabine war super sauber und es gab eine ordentliche Menge Holz zu verbrennen. Später in der Saison werden viele Fehler erforderlich. Kann diesen Weg nur wärmstens empfehlen!

Camping
Friday, June 07, 2013

Der Trail wird gut genutzt und aktiv von einer Sommercrew beseitigt und laufend verbessert. Es gibt viele Höhenunterschiede, schlammige Stellen, Wurzeln mit engen und steilen Punkten. Die meisten der großen Bäche sind überbrückt. Wenn Sie in eine der Hütten oder auf Campingplätzen wie Moose Valley packen, ist dies anstrengend. Nimm dir Zeit! Es ist umgeben von Bergen und schönen Hügeln. Wildtiere sind verbreitet, wie Schwarzbär, Elch, Weißkopfseeadler, Bergziegen und Seetaucher und Enten. China Poot Lake hat Angeln. Es ist ein großer tiefer See. Die Meeresbuchten sind malerisch. Buggy im Sommer. 75 US-Dollar für ein Rundfahrt-Taxi. Der Salty Dog, eine 50 Jahre alte Log-Taverne am Spieß von Homer, ist ein Muss-Bier und ein Schuss.

angeln
Sunday, March 04, 2018

wandern
Saturday, July 16, 2016

Empfohlene Routen

Help keep our trails and parks open during COVID-19 by committing to social distancing. Some trails or park services may be closed this weekend so check with local authorities before heading out.
Learn more

China Poot Lake Trail via Halibut Cove Ranger Station

moderateYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray Star(11)
Kachemak Bay State Park

China Poot Lake Trail via Halibut Cove Ranger Station is a 5.4 mile moderately trafficked loop trail located near Homer, Alaska that features a lake and is rated as moderate. The trail is primarily used for hiking and is best used from June until October. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

Distance: 5.4 miles Elevation Gain: 951 feet Route Type: Loop

dogs on leash

hiking

forest

lake

views

over grown

snow

hiking
flooded
6 days ago

A bit overgrown in places but overall not bad. Flooded for a few hundred feet near the lake but we made it xtratuf’s. Saw a sow with two cubs. Watch for bear.

hiking
bugs
closed
over grown
11 months ago

hiking
Sun Aug 12 2018

We stayed in the China Poot yurt and because beetles have killed the forest, grasses and shrubbery have utterly and totally obscured the trails -- except if the Boy Scouts have recently happened to clear the trail. We were 6 weeks too late last August 2018 and unable to hike at all, within 100 feet you feel utterly lost.

hiking
Sun Apr 19 2015

Got to trail head via boat ride from Homer. Beautiful, serene, long hike in to a solitary cabin and peaceful lake. Make sure to reserve cabin in advance. There are bears on the trail so be alert! Be sure to bring a water filter-filtered water out of a glacial stream-so pure and fleshing! Be prepared for Mosquitos-they were everywhere!!!!!!

hiking
Mon Jul 08 2013

Trail clears up by late May most years. I love this trail but its not for everyone. By mid-June the bugs are in full force. Great tent spots by the Lake and a sweet public use cabin (book early). Look out for bears!

hiking
Mon Jul 08 2013

Awesome trail but a bit sketchy in early May. Lots of snow on the trail and post-holing was common place. The lake was mostly iced over and fishing was not fruitful. The cabin was super clean and there was a decent amount of wood to burn. Later in the season will require lots of bug dope. Highly recommend this trail!

camping
Fri Jun 07 2013

The trail is well used and actively cleared and continually improved by a summer trail crew. There are lots of elevations changes, muddy spots, roots, with narrow and steep points. Most of the big streams are bridged. If you are packing to one of the cabins or camping spots like Moose Valley, it is strenuous. Take your time! It is surrounded by mountains and beautiful hills. Wildlife are prevalent, such as black bear, moose, bald eagle, mountain goats, and loons and ducks. China Poot Lake has fishing. It is a large deep lake. The sea bays are picturesque. Buggy in the summer. $75 for a round trip taxi. The Salty Dog, a 50 year old log tavern on the Homer spit is a must beer and a shot stop.

fishing
Sun Mar 04 2018