Campbell Gorge Hike

MODERATE 23 reviews

Campbell Gorge Hike is a 4 mile loop trail located near Anchorage, Alaska and is rated as moderate. The trail is primarily used for hiking, horses, and mountain biking and is best used from March until November. Dogs and horses are also able to use this trail.

DISTANCE
4.0 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
925 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Loop

dog friendly

hiking

mountain biking

horseback riding

Great little hike that gives a fantastic view! A nice hike that pays off with a great view of Campbell Creek Gorge and the city down below. Follow the trail from the parking lot, taking a left on the Spencer Loop Trail after you cross the bridge. After about 0.85 miles you will come to the part of the trail called Wall Street. As the trail starts to turn to the south, there will be a foot path leading east up the hill. Follow this path for 0.17 miles till you reach an intersection. Head left and downhill till you come out on a ledge that gives a wonderful view of Campbell Creek far below and a view of Anchorage in the distance. You can hike back the way you came or follow Spencer Loop Trail all the way around for added mileage. Trail is best hiked in the summer months. Spencer Loop Trail is open to cross country skiing only during the winter.

hiking
1 month ago

2 months ago

There's just a milieu of trails back here, do know where your going. I saw lots bear poop! Nice maintained trail.

2 months ago

hiking
4 months ago

5 months ago

5 months ago

hiking
8 months ago

Not a good view of the gorge. Simple hike if you aren't looking for a view.

walking
Sunday, October 16, 2016

A nice trail if you want to go for a walk and get out of the city while still being in the city.

hiking
Thursday, September 08, 2016

Pleasant easy-to-moderate hike in Far North Bicentennial Park. Moose along the trail. Nice view of Anchorage below. Lots of bear scat; no bears seen along our path.

Friday, September 02, 2016

Great view of the city. Saw a moose pop out of the bushes

hiking
Sunday, June 26, 2016

hiking
Monday, May 30, 2016

hiking
Sunday, May 22, 2016

hiking
Saturday, May 14, 2016

hiking
Friday, May 13, 2016

Sunny, beautiful hike!

hiking
Friday, May 13, 2016

hiking
Monday, January 11, 2016

Sunday, January 10, 2016

Sunday, July 05, 2015

hiking
Thursday, August 14, 2014