Maggies Glen Loop

EASY 15 reviews
#10 of 27 trails in

Maggies Glen Loop is a 2.2 mile moderately trafficked loop trail located near Pelham, Alabama that offers the chance to see wildlife and is good for all skill levels. The trail offers a number of activity options and is best used from March until November. Dogs are also able to use this trail.

DISTANCE
2.2 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
285 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Loop

dog friendly

kid friendly

birding

hiking

nature trips

trail running

walking

forest

views

wildlife

muddy

The hike to Maggies Glen from the North Trailhead in Oak Mtn State Park is an excellent hike for beginners or for a family that wants to enjoy a Sunday afternoon. This particular hike should only take an hour or two. You start the hike at the North Trailhead and walk a couple of hundred yards up the North Trailhead to the sign which marks the direction to Maggies Glen. You then follow the white trail towards Maggies Glen. The hike at this point is fairly level and quite relaxing. After traveling approximately a mile (the midpoint of the hike) you will be rewarded by reaching Maggies Glen. The Glen offers a great point to stop and rest. The Glen has benches which were built by a Boy Scout for his Eagle Scout project and has a lovely stream which produces very relaxing sounds as it flows over rocks in the area.

hiking
Tuesday, September 08, 2015

Very enjoyable hike. Pretty views at Maggies Glen.

hiking
3 months ago

hiking
5 months ago

hiking
6 months ago

hiking
Sunday, July 30, 2017

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Saturday, June 03, 2017

Thursday, May 11, 2017

hiking
Sunday, April 09, 2017

Sunday, November 27, 2016

hiking
Sunday, November 13, 2016

Sunday, May 29, 2016

Wednesday, March 23, 2016

Saturday, March 05, 2016

cross country skiing
Monday, December 07, 2015