Der Pico Mountain Trail ist ein stark befahrener Wanderweg in der Nähe von Madalena, Azoren, Portugal, der die Möglichkeit bietet, wild lebende Tiere zu beobachten und als schwierig eingestuft wird. Der Weg wird hauptsächlich zum Wandern genutzt und ist das ganze Jahr über zugänglich.

Entfernung: 6.3 km Höhenunterschied: 1,066 m Routentyp: Hin & zurück

Wandern

Aussicht

Wildtiere

steinig

Scrambling

kein Schatten

Dieser Weg führt zum höchsten Gipfel Portugals, dem Pico Grande, der sich seit 1972 in einem Naturschutzgebiet befindet. Ein Muss, wenn Sie zur Insel fahren. Der Weg kann schwierig zu begehen sein, da es überall kalte Lava gibt, aber es gibt 47 Pfosten (Wegpunkte), um den Weg zu halten. Beachten Sie, dass sich das Wetter schnell ändert.

wandern
1 month ago

Wie alle anderen war dies eine ausgezeichnete Wanderung. Ich fand den losen Kies etwas herausfordernder als ich es gewohnt bin, aber es war überschaubar, wenn man auf den Lavaströmen blieb. Ja ... Lava fließt! :-) Stöcke waren definitiv eine Hilfe, genauso wie gutes Schuhwerk. Als wir hinaufgingen, begannen wir in den Wolken und endeten in voller Sonne, so dass Sonnencreme auch dann wichtig war, wenn man den Stopp nicht sehen kann. Wir haben uns für den absoluten Höhepunkt entschieden und obwohl Sie müde und müde sind, scheint er höher zu sein als er ist. Mach dich auf den Weg zum Gipfel. Hier spüren Sie die Hitze des Vulkans und sehen, wie die Gase austreten. Einfach unglaublich. Und die Aussicht ist mit nur ein paar hundert Fuß mehr noch besser. Ich habe auch Stöcke für diesen Gipfel verwendet, aber Hand über Hand funktioniert auch. Schließlich war das GPS, das Sie an der Basis erhalten, eine schöne Beruhigung. Sie können beobachten, wie es Ihnen geht, und Sie anrufen, wenn Sie zu wandern beginnen, aber Sie können sie auch anrufen, wenn Sie Probleme haben. Und Sie möchten nicht wissen, wie hoch die Kosten für sie sind, wenn Sie sich nicht an der Basis anmelden. Schließlich bin ich kein großer Wanderer. Ich trainiere nicht, aber ich gehe ein bisschen mit meinen Hunden spazieren. Ich habe das getan ... du kannst das tun. Verpassen Sie nicht eines der schönsten Erlebnisse auf den Azoren ... auch wenn es bewölkt ist

wandern
1 month ago

Fantastische Wanderung auf Pico. Wolken ziehen auf und ab, genug, um die schlagende Sonne daran zu hindern, Energie abzusaugen. Eigentlich dankbar dafür. Oft genug geräumt, um freie Sicht auf Horta und Lajes zu haben. Grund genug, Pico zu besuchen. Ging mit Führer; 7,5 Stunden auf und ab mit einer guten Gruppe. Großartige Erinnerung. Dort oben mit dem Inka-Pfad.

wandern
1 month ago

Wenn Sie die Kosten eines Führers für diese Wanderung berechnen, bedenken Sie, dass Sie ohne den Führer immer noch 20 Euro für den GPS-Tracker bezahlen müssen und dass Sie möglicherweise lange warten müssen, bevor Sie beginnen können. Bei gutem Wetter können Sie dies wahrscheinlich ohne Führung tun. Wenn die Wolken jedoch einrollen und Sie die Sicht auf die Wegpfosten verlieren, kann dies ein Problem sein. Wir hatten einen klaren Himmel oben, aber Wolken unten, also keine großartigen Aussichten auf den Atlantik. Es war jedoch eine großartige Wanderung. Die Landschaft ist rundum spektakulär. Am nächsten Tag wünschte ich mir, ich wäre an diesem Morgen gegangen, weil ich von Sao Roque aus sehen konnte, dass der Berg völlig klar war. Aber innerhalb von 2 Stunden war es wieder in den Wolken verschwunden. Es ändert sich schnell. Anspruchsvolle Wanderung. Sehr steil und wenn Sie nicht an das Wandern in höheren Lagen gewöhnt sind, werden Sie in der Nähe des Gipfels gewickelt. Das Herunterkommen kann schwierig sein, wenn es nass ist, und wäre ohne Stangen sehr schwer gewesen. Viele der Leute in meiner Gruppe hatten kleinere Stürze (die sie unverletzt überstanden). Das Besteigen von Pequeno Pico erfordert ein nicht unerhebliches Rätsel. Auch die Anfahrt zum Mountain House ist nicht ohne Nervenkitzel. Seien Sie gewarnt, dass Sie mitten auf der oft nebligen Straße auf große weiße Kühe stoßen können.

wandern
2 months ago

Wir sind mit der Familie (7 und 9 Jahre alt) in 8h inklusive Pico und einer Essenspause geklettert. Wir waren mit einem tollen Führer! Für uns war der Guide besonders bei Kindern unverzichtbar essential

wandern
2 months ago

8h, ... ruhiges Tempo aber schwierige Wanderung. Top Bedingungen, Sonne. aber Wolken blockieren die 360-Ansicht oben. Aufmerksamkeit. Im Sommer viel los, wenn die vorherigen Tage regnerisch waren. Andernfalls wird die begrenzte Anzahl von GPS-Geräten überschritten und Sie müssen warten, bis die Geräte ausgehen. unser Fall = 3h warten! aber es hat sich gelohnt.

wandern
2 months ago

Wir haben uns einen Führer genommen und sind alle sehr dankbar dafür. Wir hatten eine Gruppe im Alter von 10 bis 66 Jahren und alle konnten es schaffen (bis nach Piquinho). Gute Wanderschuhe mitnehmen! Planen Sie ständige Wetteränderungen ein.

wandern
2 months ago

Extrem technischer Track. Viele Kletterpunkte bevor man die Spitze des Berges erreicht. Wir haben die Aussicht mit dem Nebel nicht gesehen.

wandern
kein schatten
steinig
3 months ago

Fantastisch! Stiefel und Stöcke sind ein Muss, wenn Sie älter oder weniger fit sind! Viele Leute sind in Shorts und Tennisschuhen geklettert, aber das würde ich überhaupt nicht empfehlen. Wir sind sehr langsam gefahren, weil wir keine normalen Wanderer sind und älter als der durchschnittliche Wanderer. Ich habe alle 2 Liter Wasser getrunken, aber es ist mir nie ausgegangen. Die Aussicht ist einen Spaziergang wert!

wandern
kein schatten
4 months ago

Wir sind bei perfektem Wetter gewandert, was eine Seltenheit ist. Hatte keine Anleitung und es war kein Problem. Sie müssen sich in der Casa Montanha anmelden und 20 Euro pro Person bezahlen sowie ein Zwei-Wege-GPS-System mitführen. Wir haben früh angefangen, um die Sonne zu nutzen, die nicht hoch genug ist, um die Westseite zu erreichen, die man erklimmt. Dauerte etwas mehr als sieben Stunden, da wir auf dem Weg nach unten die Höhlen am 2. Pfosten erkundet haben. Ohne Wolken gibt es immense Aussichten. Eine unserer unvergesslichsten Wanderungen.

wandern
Friday, August 31, 2018

Schöne Wanderung mit der elektrischen grünen Erica Azorica, die die Landschaft unterhalb von 1700 Metern abdeckt, und viele Wildblumen. Kann leicht in 7 Stunden erledigt werden und es ist keine Anleitung erforderlich (obwohl ich aus anderen Gründen mit einer Gruppe gegangen bin). Wird 20 Euro kosten, um teilzunehmen. Sie fordern nun die Verwendung eines GPS-Trackers (klein und leicht). Verlieren Sie es nicht, da es 250 Euro kostet (kann eine Versicherung für 25 Euro mehr erwerben). Gute Badezimmer und eine kleine Bar am Ausgangspunkt des Mountain House. Trail ist nicht schwer zu folgen, besonders mit dieser App, die Sie bei Nebel / Wolken benötigen. Geh nicht, wenn es regnet. Wird sehr, sehr rutschig sein. Oben ist die Aussicht fantastisch, aber auf dem Weg gibt es viele gute Aussichten. Nur Wildtiere, die Sie sehen werden, sind Vögel. Manchmal viele Leute und einige Engpässe. Alles in allem ist es ein Muss, eine Wanderung zu machen, aber Sie müssen etwas Wandererfahrung haben, sollte in einem vernünftigen Zustand sein und richtige Wanderschuhe sind ein Muss.

wandern
Wednesday, August 29, 2018

Gemacht in der Nacht mit der Familie, was für ein wunderbarer Blick auf den Sonnenaufgang über den Wolken!

wandern
Thursday, June 07, 2018

Eine der schönsten Wanderungen meines Lebens

Sunday, June 03, 2018

Sehr schöner Treck! Der Weg ist bis zum Gipfel markiert, Sie brauchen keinen Führer.

wandern
Wednesday, May 09, 2018

Es war eine der besten Wanderungen, die ich je gemacht habe! Die meisten Leute machen es in ungefähr 7 Stunden. Bringen Sie einen Hut mit, denn es gibt keine Bäume, die Sie bedecken können! Sie können an der Spitze campen und gehen Sie bitte auf Pequeno, es ist unglaublich, den Atlantik um Sie herum zu sehen!

aufgezeichnet Recording - Oct. 20, 04:30 p.m.

wandern
19 hours ago

wandern
1 month ago

wandern
1 month ago

wandern
1 month ago

wandern
2 months ago

wandern
2 months ago

wandern
2 months ago

wandern
3 months ago

aufgezeichnet Pico Mountain Trail

wandern
3 months ago

wandern
4 months ago

wandern
4 months ago

wandern
5 months ago

wandern
7 months ago

wandern
9 months ago

wandern
Thursday, August 30, 2018

Mehr laden

Empfohlene Routen

Cyber Weekend Sale 50% Off
Get Started
Help keep our trails and parks open during COVID-19 by committing to social distancing. Some trails or park services may be closed this weekend so check with local authorities before heading out.
Learn more

Pico Mountain Trail is a 3.9 mile heavily trafficked out and back trail located near Madalena, Azores, Portugal that offers the chance to see wildlife and is rated as difficult. The trail is primarily used for hiking and is accessible year-round.

Length 3.9 mi Elevation gain 3,497 ft Route type Out & Back
Hiking Views Wildlife Rocky Scramble No shade
Description
Waypoints (0)

This trail ascends to the highest peak of Portugal, the Pico Grande, located on a nature reserve since 1972. A must do trail if you go to the Island. The trail can be hard to follow as there is cold lava everywhere, but there are 47 posts (way points) to keep the track. Be aware that weather changes quickly.

Weather
UV Index
Daylight
Reviews (43)
Photos (79)
Recordings (42)
Completed (70)
View user's profile page
jessie st
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarNovember 27, 2020
Hiking

Did this trail Jun '17. Amazing, and challenging. This trail is not for the faint of heart. Its laborious, no rails or anything...several places where you really have to watch your step. No bathrooms except for the visitors center at the bottom, pack all your food and water with you. There is a basin at the top, and another smaller summit beyond that. You reach the summit almost hand over hand, but the views from the top are unimaginable. Being 8,000 ft in the air overlooking the Atlantic Ocean is nothing short of breathtaking.

View user's profile page
Марина Сластён
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarOctober 6, 2020
Hiking

The trail is great. Be prepared for climbing up and down

View Марина's Recording
View user's profile page
Tudor Cabau
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSeptember 14, 2020
HikingFeeGreat!No shade

Despite the rain and fog we set out at 1 pm in September. It rained all the way up despite the forecast saying the weather is good. When we got to the top the clouds cleared and the rain stopped so we had some great views and we're all alone up there. The trail isn't technically difficult but does take lots of energy. That being said we did see people in sneakers who where all scratched up from sliding down, so i definitely recommend hiking boots. Unless you're worried about your physical condition I don't see why you'd need a guide like some recommended. You would probably get a lot more facts and info from a guide though.

View user's profile page
Tudor Cabau
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSeptember 10, 2020
CampingFeeGreat!No shade
View Tudor's Recording
View user's profile page
Marcel Ribeiro
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSeptember 7, 2020
HikingWashed out
View Marcel's Recording
View user's profile page
damien torres
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarAugust 13, 2020
Hiking
View damien's Recording
View user's profile page
Peter Barrow
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSeptember 8, 2019
Hiking

Much like all others, this was an excellent hike. I found the loose gravel to be a bit more challenging then I'm used too, but it was manageable if you stay on the lava flows. Yeah...lava flows! :-) Poles were definitely a help as was good footwear. As we went up, we started in the clouds and ended up in full sun so sunblock even when you can't see the stop was critical. We did go for the absolute peak and even though you're tired and beat, it seems higher than it is. Go for the peak. That's where you'll feel the heat of the volcano, see the gases coming out. Just amazing. And the views are even better with just that few hundred feet more. I used poles to that peak as well, but hand over hand works too. Lastly the GPS you get at the base was a nice peace of mind. They can watch how you're doing and call you if you start to wander, but you can also call them if you have trouble. And you don't want to know how much the cost is for them to go get you if you don't register at the base. Lastly I'm not much of a hiker. I don't work out, but I do trail walk with my dogs a bit. I did this...you can do this. Don't pass up on one of the most amazing experiences in the Azores...even if it's cloudy

View user's profile page
Eric Rosenthal
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarAugust 28, 2019
Hiking

When pricing the cost of a guide for this hike, remember that without the guide you will still have to pay 20 euros for the GPS tracker, and you may have a long wait before you can start. You can probably do this without a guide in good weather, but if the clouds roll in and you lose visibility of the trail posts, it might be a problem. We had clear skies at the top, but clouds below, so no awesome views of the Atlantic. It was a great hike, though. Scenery is spectacular all around. The next day I was wishing I had gone that morning because I could see from Sao Roque that the mountain was completely clear. But within 2 hours it was gone in the clouds again. It changes fast. Challenging hike. Very steep and if you are not used to hiking at higher elevations, you will get winded near the top. Coming down can be tricky if it is wet, and would have been really hard without poles. Many of the people in my group had minor falls (which they survived uninjured). Getting to the top of Pequeno Pico involves a bit of not insignificant scrambling. Driving to the Mountain House is not without thrills as well. Be warned that you may well encounter big white cows in the middle of the often foggy road.

View user's profile page
Sabine Caron
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarAugust 12, 2019
Hiking

Nous avons fait l’ascension en famille ( enfants de 7 et 9 ans) en 8h en comptant le petit pico et une pause repas. Nous étions avec un super guide ! Pour nous le guide était indispensable surtout avec des enfants

View user's profile page
Florent Martin
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarAugust 9, 2019
Hiking

8h,... rythme tranquille mais randonnée difficile. conditions top, soleil. mais nuages bloquant la vue 360 au sommet. attention. en été, forte affluence si les jours précédents étaient pluvieux..y aller avant 6h, - 6h30. sinon le nombre limité de GPS est dépassé et vous devrez attendre ceux qui descendent. notre cas = 3h d'attente !. mais cela valait le coup.

View user's profile page
Fatima Cornwall
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarAugust 3, 2019
Hiking

We took a guide and we all very thankful for that. We had a group whose ages ranged from 10 to 66 and all were able to complete it (all the way to Piquinho). Take good hiking boots! Plan for constant changes in the weather.

View user's profile page
Rui Marques
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarAugust 2, 2019
Hiking

Trilho extremamente técnico. Muito pontos de escalada antes de chegar ao topo da montanha. Não vimos a vista com o nevoeiro.

View Rui's Recording
View user's profile page
Heather Oliveira
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarJune 23, 2019
HikingNo shadeRocky

Fantastic! Boots and poles are a must if you are older or less fit! Many people climbed in shorts and tennis shoes but I wouldn’t recommend that at all. We went very slowly because are not regular hikers and we are older than the average hiker. I drank all 2 liters of water but never ran out. The view is worth the walk!

View user's profile page
Carol Van Dyke
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarMay 26, 2019
HikingNo shade

We hiked in perfect weather which is a rarity. Did not have a guide and it was no problem. You have to sign in at the Casa Montanha and pay 20 euros per person plus carry a two way GPS system. We started early to take advantage of the sun not high enough to hit the western side which is one climbs. Took a little more than seven hours because on the way down we explored the caves at the 2nd post. With no clouds there are immense views. One of our most memorable hikes.

View user's profile page
Swamy Murthy
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarAugust 31, 2018
Hiking

Beautiful hike with the electric green erica azorica covering the landscape below 1700 meters and plenty of wildflowers. Can easily be done in 7 hours and no need for a guide (though I went with a group for other reasons). Will cost you 20 euros to enter. They now mandate use of gps tracker (small and light). Don’t lose it as it will cost 250 euros (can purchase insurance for 25 euros more). Good bathrooms and small bar at trailhead in the Mountain House. Trail is not hard to follow especially with this App which you will need if there is fog/clouds. Don’t go if it is raining. Will be very, very slippery. At top the views are fantastic, but plenty of good views along the way. Only wildlife you will see are birds. At times, lots of people and some bottlenecks. Overall a must do hike, but you need some hiking experience, should be in reasonable shape, and proper hiking shoes are a must.

View user's profile page
Mario Da Silva
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarAugust 29, 2018
Hiking

Done by night with family, what a wonderful view to see the sunrise over the clouds !

View user's profile page
Brennen Zimmer
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarJune 7, 2018
Hiking

One of the best hikes of my life

View user's profile page
Mimi Tardy
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarJune 3, 2018

Very nice trek! The trail is marked all the way up to the summit, you don’t need a guide.

View user's profile page
François Dubé
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarMay 9, 2018
Hiking
First to Review

It was one of the best hike I’ve done! Most people do it in approximately 7 hours. Bring a hat because there is no trees to cover you! You can camp at the top and please go on pequeno, it is juste amazing to see the Atlantic ocean all around you!

View user's profile page
Andrea Aleni
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarNovember 5, 2020
Hiking
View Andrea's Recording
View user's profile page
Ting L
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarOctober 18, 2020
View user's profile page
Tomás Osório
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarOctober 10, 2020
Hiking
View Tomás 's Recording
View user's profile page
Nils-Peter Fischer
Gray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarSeptember 3, 2020
Hiking
View Nils-Peter's Recording
View user's profile page
Dena Loijos
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarJanuary 12, 2020
Hiking
View Dena's Recording
View user's profile page
Emery Coxe
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarNovember 7, 2019
Hiking
View Emery's Recording
Showing results 1 - 25 of 43