Der Carrauntoohil Loop ist ein gut 7,8 km langer Wanderweg, der in der Nähe von Killorglin, County Kerry, Irland, liegt und über einen See verfügt. Der Wanderweg bietet verschiedene Aktivitätsmöglichkeiten und wird am besten von März bis November genutzt.

Distance: 12.6 km Höhenunterschied: 973 m Routentyp: Rundweg

Angeln

Wandern

Naturausflüge

Trailrunning

Gehen

Vogelbeobachtung

See

Aussicht

Scrambling

kein Schatten

wandern
22 days ago

Geniale Wanderung, die die Möglichkeit bietet, Fähigkeiten auf verschiedenen Untergründen / Wegen zu verbessern. Alles, von einem leichten Spaziergang vom Cronin's Yard bis zu herausfordernden Kletterpartien, klettert die Leiter des Teufels hinauf und hält die Steigung zum Gipfel aufrecht. Einmal im Sattel, bevor man nach Carrauntoohil aufsteigt, gibt es einen herrlichen Abhang zu den Tälern Bridia und Black. Oben hatte ich eine 360-Grad-Ansicht direkt unter der Wolkenbank, die sich mit großer Geschwindigkeit bewegte. Wenn Sie im Zickzack fahren, brauchen Sie Schwindelfreiheit und Schwindelfreiheit. Eine gute Kondition ist vor allem beim Abstieg erforderlich, der die Knie und Knöchel im lockeren felsigen Gelände belastet. Gute wasserdichte Knöchelstützstiefel können dabei helfen, durch sumpfige Sümpfe zu felsigen Furchen zu gelangen. Meine Wanderstöcke waren praktisch, als ich mein Knie nach unten drehte und mich schwer auf meine Stöcke stützen musste, um sicher runterzukommen.

wandern
steinig
1 month ago

kein schatten
off-trail
schlammig
steinig
1 month ago

Sehr schwer. Sehr wert es. Achten Sie auf gutes Schuhwerk und viel Wasser. Auch ein Imbiss ist ratsam. Wenn Sie Höhenangst haben ... denken Sie nicht einmal an diese Wanderung. 6 bis 7 Stunden Wanderung. Seien Sie auf jedes Wetter vorbereitet. Soooooo lohnt sich der Aufstieg an einem klaren Tag. Atemberaubend !!!

9 months ago

Liebte die Wanderung! Das Klettern auf den Felsen ist nicht zu extrem, obwohl Sie in anständiger Form / athletisch sein sollten. Der Tag begann klar mit blauem Himmel und es war wunderschön. Am Gipfel waren die Wolken eingezogen. Wir kletterten auf die Kletterfelsen, erreichten den Gipfel, und auf dem Anständigen gingen wir ein Stück hinunter, gingen den schmalen Grat entlang und die Serpentine hinunter. Ich empfehle das als Ihren Plan. Tolle schöne Wanderung !!

wandern
10 months ago

Tolle Wanderung! Mein Freund und ich haben die ganze Sache in etwa 3,5 Stunden gemacht. Wir gingen die Rutsche hinauf und die Serpentinen hinunter, da es während der gesamten Wanderung sehr stürmisch war. Wenn Sie ein starker Wanderer sind, benötigen Sie keine Stöcke und es ist eine sehr entspannte Annäherung, und Sie werden Ihre Hände für die Rutsche haben wollen. Für die Rutsche haben wir nichts gefunden, was als verräterisch erschienen ist, obwohl ich sehe, dass Leute in Schwierigkeiten geraten, wenn sie nicht genug Schichten tragen, da es wirklich kalt wird, besonders wenn wir uns der Spitze näherten. Eine gute Regenjacke, Regenhose und Handschuhe würde ich vor allem anderen empfehlen.

11 months ago

Wir waren ein bisschen nervös, als wir Cronins Hof wegen all der Warnschilder und Denkmäler am Hinterkopf verließen. Aber ich bin froh, dass wir weitermarschierten, denn es war eine tolle 6-stündige Wanderung mit epischen Ausblicken. Wir empfehlen, die Teufelsleiter hinaufzugehen, aber den Zickzack hinunterzugehen, um einen sichereren Weg nach unten zu erreichen. Achten Sie darauf, Ihre Schritte zu beobachten, während Menschen regelmäßig stolpern und fallen. Als wir die Leiter hinaufgingen, stießen wir auf eine Frau, die einen Abstecher vom Gipfel hinunter hatte und ziemlich zerkratzt aussah ... Seien Sie nur vorsichtig und prüfen Sie das Wetter, bevor Sie losfahren, um sicherzustellen, dass Sie nicht im Regen hängen bleiben, Nebel oder starke Winde. Es kann sehr rutschig werden, da der größte Teil der Wanderung auf Felsen geht. Wenn Sie nicht erwartet werden, empfehlen wir nicht, dies im Winter oder bei schlechtem Wetter zu tun. Außerdem werden Sie die atemberaubende Landschaft vermissen!

Sunday, September 24, 2017

Schöne Aussicht und gute Spur. Hat die Teufelsleiter genommen, um an die Spitze zu gelangen, und die Schleife zurück nach unten. Die Leiter scheint ziemlich gefährlich zu sein, macht aber Spaß beim Aufstieg. Die Schleife ist länger als der Teufel, dauert aber genauso lange. Wir brauchten 7,5 Stunden inklusive zwei größeren Pausen

wandern
Monday, February 13, 2017

Mein Lieblingswanderpartner (meine Frau) und ich waren im Juni 2009 an einem klaren blauen Sonnentag auf den höchsten Punkt in Irland gewandert. Der Berg ist ziemlich beeindruckend, und Sie scheinen sehr steil zu sein. Wir stiegen zwischen den beiden darunter liegenden Seen auf und stiegen die berüchtigte Devils Ladder auf. Dies ist eine steile Rutsche, die den ganzen Weg mit Talus und Felsbrocken gefüllt ist. Sie müssen Ihren Weg wählen, da es in diesem Abschnitt keine echten Spuren gibt. Es dauerte fast eine Stunde, um diese kurze Tonhöhe zu erklimmen. An einigen Stellen etwas skizzenhaft. Oben auf der Leiter ist sie nach oben weit offen. Nach etwa 2 1/2 Stunden Wanderung kamen wir oben an. Es ist ziemlich steil, aber Sie kämpfen hier nicht gegen hohe Höhen. Die Aussichten sind dort endlos. Sie können sowohl die Kenmare- als auch die Dingle-Buchten auf dem Ozean und unzählige Seen in der Umgebung von Killarney sehen. Es gibt ein großes Kreuz mit einigen Denkmälern für einige Wanderer. Wir hatten den Platz auch für uns, was es schön machte. Nach etwa einer halben Stunde oder mehr starteten wir runter. Als wir wieder oben waren, entschieden wir uns für eine andere Route. Von da aus wanderten wir weiter auf dem Gratweg, der zum Hauptweg hinuntergeht und die Leiter meidet. Wirklich schön entlang dieser Kammkante. Es war steil, hier die Weichen hinunterzuklettern, aber die Felsbrocken hinunter. Wir kamen zurück zum Hauptweg und von dort aus war es nur noch ein Auto. Schöne Wanderung an einem wunderschönen Tag. Wenn überhaupt, ist es eine großartige Möglichkeit, einen Tag zu verbringen. Auf dem Weg zurück zu unserem B & B haben wir uns für ein paar festliche Pints in das Ecklokal gerollt. Tolle Art, den Tag ausklingen zu lassen !!! Ich würde es auf jeden Fall wieder tun.

wandern
28 days ago

wandern
2 months ago

wandern
3 months ago

wandern
4 months ago

aufgezeichnet Toine Mtn.

wandern
8 months ago

wandern
Thursday, May 31, 2018

Saturday, May 27, 2017

Empfohlene Wege

Help keep our trails and parks open during COVID-19 by committing to social distancing. Some trails or park services may be closed this weekend so check with local authorities before heading out.
Learn more

Carrauntoohil Loop is a 7.8 mile moderately trafficked loop trail located near Killorglin, County Kerry, Ireland that features a lake and is rated as difficult. The trail offers a number of activity options and is best used from March until November.

Length 7.8 mi Elevation gain 3,192 ft Route type Loop

Fishing

Hiking

Nature trips

Walking

Bird watching

Running

Lake

River

Views

Wild flowers

Wildlife

Rocky

Scramble

No shade

Description
Waypoints (0)

This is a brilliant hike that offers the opportunity to hone in skills on various surfaces/trail types. Once in the saddle before ascending to Carrauntoohil, there is a magnificent drop to the Bridia and Black valleys. The scrambling up the rocks are not too extreme although you should be in decent shape/athletic. Good ankle support boots that are waterproof can help navigate boggy marshes to rocky ruts.

Weather
UV Index
Daylight
Reviews (32)
Photos (170)
Recordings (25)
Completed (87)
Jimmy Ryan
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarMon Jan 06 2020

brilliant walk

Anya Anna
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSat Aug 31 2019
HikingRocky
View Anya's Recording
Carlien K.
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSun Jun 30 2019
Hiking

Brilliant hike that offers the opportunity to hone in skills on various surfaces/trail types. Anything from an easy stroll entering from Cronin’s Yard to challenging scrambles up Devil’s ladder and sustained incline to the peak. Once in the saddle before ascending to Carrauntoohil, there is a magnificent drop to the Bridia and Black valleys. On top I had 360 view just below the cloud bank— which moved in at great speed. Coming down the zigzags you need a good head for heights and the vertigo pull. Good level of fitness needed especially on the descent that puts strain on your knees and ankles on the loose rocky terrain. Good ankle support boots that are waterproof can help navigate boggy marshes to rocky ruts. My hiking poles came in handy as I twisted my knee coming down and had to lean heavily on my poles to get down safely.

Kathleen Burke
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarFri May 24 2019
HikingRocky
View Kathleen's Recording
Jennifer Kershner
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarThu May 23 2019
MuddyNo shadeOff trailRocky

Very hard. Very worth it. Make sure you have proper footwear and lots of water. Also a snack is advisable. If you are afraid of heights...don't even consider this hike. 6 to 7 hour hike. Be prepared for any and all types of weather. Soooooo worth the climb on a clear day. Stunning!!!

Lindsay McMahon
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarThu Oct 18 2018

Loved the hike! The scrambling up the rocks are not too extreme although you should be in decent shape/athletic. The day started off clear with blue skies and it was beautiful. At the peak the clouds had rolled in. We hiked up the scramble rocks, made it to the peak, and on the decent we walked down a little ways, walked along the ridge (pretty narrow) and down the switchback. I recommend this as your plan. Great beautiful hike!!

Dani Moreno
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarFri Sep 21 2018
Hiking

Great hike! My boyfriend and I did the entire thing in about 3.5 hours. We went up the chute and down the switchbacks considering it was very stormy throughout the entire hike. If you are a strong hiker you won't need poles and it is a very laid back approach and you will want your hands for the chute. For the chute, we didn't encounter anything that appeared treacherous though I can see people getting in trouble if they aren't wearing enough layers as it got really cold especially as we approached the top. A good rain jacket, rain pants, and gloves are what I would recommend above everything else.

Costin Stancescu
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarThu Jul 26 2018

We were a bit nervous as we left Cronin's yard because of all the warning signs and memorials at the trail head. But I'm glad that we marched on as it was a great 6hr hike with epic views. We recommend going up the devil's ladder but going down the zig zag for a safer route back down. Be sure to watch your steps as people trip and fall regularly. As we hiked up the ladder, we came across a woman who had trip going down from the summit and looked pretty scratched up... Just be careful and check the weather before heading to make sure you don't get caught in rain, fog or high winds. It can get very slippery since most of the hike is on rocks. Unless you're expecienced, we wouldn't recommend doing it in the winter or in bad weather. Besides, you'll miss all the stunning scenery!

Markus Bögge
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSun Sep 24 2017

Nice view and good track. Took the Devil's ladder to go to the top and the loop back down Ladder seems quite dangerous going down but is fun going up The Loop may be longer than the Devil but takes the same amount of time Should be done on sunny day. We needed 7,5h including two bigger breaks

Pat Ribotto
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarMon Feb 13 2017
Hiking

My favorite hiking partner (my wife) and I hiked to the highest point in Ireland in June of 2009 on a clear blue sunny day. The mountain is quite impressive as you approach it, and it appears to be very steep. We hiked up between the two lakes below it and ascended the infamous Devils Ladder. This is a steep chute filled with talus and boulders the whole way. You have to pick your way through as there is no real trail in this section. It took us almost an hour to go up this short pitch. Kinda sketchy in a few places. Once at the top of the ladder, it is wide open to the top. We arrived on top after about 2 1/2 hours of hiking. It is pretty steep, but you are not fighting high elevation here. The views are endless up there. You can see both the Kenmare and the Dingle Bays on the ocean, and countless lakes all over the Killarney area. There is a huge cross on top with a couple of memorials for some hikers. We had the place to ourselves too ,which made it nice. After about a half hour or more on top we started down. When we got back to the top of the ladder, we decided to take a different route down from there. So we kept hiking on the ridge trail from there, and that goes back down to the main trail avoiding the ladder. Really nice along this ridge top. It was steep going down the switches here, but beat going down the boulders. We got back to the main trail and then it was just back to the car from there. Beautiful hike on a gorgeous day. If ever there, it's a great way to spend a day. We rolled into the corner pub on our way back to our B&B for a few celebratory pints. Great way to end the day!!! Would do it again for sure.

Norah Hickey
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarMon Jul 06 2020
Hiking
View Norah 's Recording
Joe O'Connor
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarFri May 29 2020
Hiking
View Joe's Recording
Trish M.
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarFri Jan 03 2020
Árpád Papp
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSat Nov 30 2019
Hiking
View Árpád's Recording
Dainius Cepuraitis
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarTue Nov 05 2019
Hiking
View Dainius's Recording
Matt Maher
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarMon Nov 04 2019
Hiking
View Matt's Recording
Csaba Dombegyházi
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSat Sep 14 2019
Hiking
View Csaba's Recording
Mary Spillane
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSat Aug 24 2019
Hiking
Stephen Amoroso
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarTue Jul 30 2019
Hiking
Ian O'Connell
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSun Jul 21 2019
Hiking
View Ian's Recording
Michael Mordaunt
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSat Jun 29 2019
Hiking
View Michael's Recording
Carlien K.
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarMon Jun 24 2019
Hiking
Brian Mcaleer
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarSat Jun 01 2019
Hiking
View Brian's Recording
Tom Garrahan
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarMon May 27 2019
Hiking
View Tom's Recording
Csaba Pal
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSat May 18 2019
Hiking
View Csaba's Recording
Edd Mellor
Yellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarFri May 03 2019
Hiking
View Edd's Recording
Alan McDonagh
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarFri Apr 26 2019
Hiking
View Alan's Recording
Showing results 1 - 27 of 32