Eyjan Hill Trail

FACILE 8 avis
N°3 sur 8 randonnées à

Eyjan Hill Trail est un sentier allez-retour de 4.8 kilomètres modérément fréquenté situé près de Norðurþing, Norðurland eystra en Islande. Le sentier vous présentera des fleurs sauvages et sa difficulté est évaluée comme facile. Le sentier offre plusieurs activités et sa meilleure utilisation est de mars à septembre.

Distance: 4.8 km Dénivelé: 110 m Type d'itinéraire: Aller-retour

convient aux enfants

randonnée

activités en pleine nature

balade

ornithologie

vue panoramique

fleurs sauvages

payant

Il s’agit d’une belle randonnée qui prend environ 2 heures à un rythme tranquille, avec beaucoup de temps pour les photos. Il est principalement plat et offre une vue magnifique sur le canyon. Enraciné dans le folklore, le canyon Asbyrgi serait l'empreinte du sabot du cheval de Thor et Eyjan Hill vous placera au centre de celui-ci. Vous pouvez prendre une carte au centre du visiteur pour environ 3 USD, mais ce n'est pas tout à fait nécessaire. Il suffit de suivre les panneaux "Eyjan" et vous vous garerez près d'un camping et de salles de bains (très propres!). De là, vous verrez des panneaux indiquant le sentier. Vous commencez par une courte et plate promenade le long du pied du rocher, puis vous montez sur le rocher à l'aide de marches en bois et de quelques saillies rocheuses plates. Une fois que vous êtes au sommet du rocher, c'est une promenade à plat à l'autre bout du rocher, avec de belles vues tout au long du chemin. Cette randonnée est facile et familiale, avec très peu de circulation par rapport à d’autres parties de l’Islande. C'est un sentier moins fréquenté que d'autres en Islande.

randonnée
2 months ago

Il n'y a pas de descente intermédiaire comme il semble du graphique. Une bonne marche dure une heure et quinze minutes.

randonnée
Sat Nov 24 2018

Ce fut une belle randonnée (environ 2 heures à un rythme tranquille, avec beaucoup de temps pour les photos), la plupart du temps à plat, et offre de belles vues panoramiques sur le canyon. Enraciné dans le folklore, le canyon Asbyrgi serait l'empreinte du sabot du cheval de Thor et Eyjan Hill vous placera au centre de celui-ci. Vous pouvez prendre une carte au centre du visiteur pour environ 3 USD, mais ce n'est pas tout à fait nécessaire (nous avons gardé la nôtre en souvenir). Il suffit de suivre les panneaux "Eyjan" et vous vous garerez près d'un camping et de salles de bains (très propres!). De là, vous verrez des panneaux indiquant le sentier. Vous commencez par une courte et plate promenade le long du pied du rocher, puis vous montez sur le rocher à l'aide de marches en bois et de quelques saillies rocheuses plates. Une fois que vous êtes au sommet du rocher, c'est une promenade à plat à l'autre bout du rocher, avec de belles vues tout au long du chemin. Cette randonnée est facile et familiale, avec très peu de circulation par rapport à d’autres parties de l’Islande. C'était l'une de nos randonnées préférées lors de notre voyage d'une semaine, juste à cause du peu de gens que nous avons vus, de la beauté et de la paix de tout cela.

randonnée
Fri Feb 24 2017

Á-2 Colline Eyjan à Ásbyrgi Distance: 4,5 km (aller et retour) Durée de la marche: 1,5 à 2 heures Point de départ: Parking devant la maison de service du camping. Difficulté: chemin facile (bleu). Le sentier qui mène à Eyjan («l'île») à Ásbyrgi commence au parking du camping. Le sentier se dirige d'abord vers le nord, puis monte la falaise où il est propice à l'ascension. Des marches en bois ont été montées pour un accès plus facile. En montant à Eyjan, le chemin passe bientôt devant un vieux tas de pierres. Si vous faites demi-tour, la route a une longueur de 2 km, mais si le chemin est suivi plus au sud, il ira jusqu’au bord de la falaise. De là, belle vue sur Ásbyrgi. Cet itinéraire est une agréable promenade en soirée. http://www.vatnajokulsthjodgardur.is/english/what-to-see/hiking-routes/the-jokulsargljufur-canyon/asbyrgi/

randonnée
2 months ago

randonnée
2 months ago

randonnée
3 months ago

randonnée
5 months ago

randonnée
Fri Sep 07 2018

Help keep our trails and parks open during COVID-19 by committing to social distancing. Some trails or park services may be closed this weekend so check with local authorities before heading out.
Learn more

Eyjan Hill Trail is a 3 mile moderately trafficked out and back trail located near Norðurþing, Northeastern, Iceland that features beautiful wild flowers and is good for all skill levels. The trail is primarily used for hiking, walking, nature trips, and bird watching and is best used from March until September.

Length 3.0 mi Elevation gain 360 ft Route type Out & Back

Kid friendly

Hiking

Nature trips

Walking

Bird watching

Views

Wild flowers

Fee

Description
Waypoints (0)

This is a great hike that takes about 2 hours at a leisurely pace, with plenty of time for photos. It is mostly flat and offers beautiful, sweeping views of the canyon. Rooted in folklore, Asbyrgi canyon is believed to be the hoof print from Thor's horse, and Eyjan Hill puts you right at the center of it. You can pick up a map at the visitor's center for around $3USD, but it's not entirely necessary. Just follow signs for "Eyjan" and you'll park near a campsite and (very clean!) bathrooms. From there you'll see signs for the trail. You start with a short, flat walk along the base of the rock, then you ascend the rock with the help of wooden steps and some short, flat rock ledges. Once you're at the top of the rock, it's a flat stroll to the other end of the rock, with beautiful views all along the way. This hike is easy and family-friendly, and had very little traffic compared to other parts of Iceland. This is a less busy trail than others in Iceland.

Weather
UV Index
Daylight
Reviews (8)
Photos (12)
Recordings (10)
Completed (13)
Fane Fane
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarTue Oct 01 2019
Hiking

No hay bajada intermedia como parece por la gráfica. A buen paso es una hora y quince minutos.

View Fane's Recording
Emily G.
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarSat Nov 24 2018
Hiking

This was a great hike (~2 hours at a leisurely pace, with plenty of time for photos), mostly flat, and offers beautiful, sweeping views of the canyon. Rooted in folklore, Asbyrgi canyon is believed to be the hoof print from Thor's horse, and Eyjan Hill puts you right at the center of it. You can pick up a map at the visitor's center for around $3USD, but it's not entirely necessary (we kept ours as a souvenir). Just follow signs for "Eyjan" and you'll park near a campsite and (very clean!) bathrooms. From there you'll see signs for the trail. You start with a short, flat walk along the base of the rock, then you ascend the rock with the help of wooden steps and some short, flat rock ledges. Once you're at the top of the rock, it's a flat stroll to the other end of the rock, with beautiful views all along the way. This hike is easy and family-friendly, and had very little traffic compared to other parts of Iceland. It was one of our favorite hikes during our week-long trip there, just due to the few people we saw, and beauty and peace of it all.

Simina Florea
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarFri Feb 24 2017
Hiking

Á-2 Eyjan hill in Ásbyrgi Distance: 4,5 km (back and forth) Walking time: 1,5-2 hrs Starting point: Car park in front of the service house at the campsite Path difficulty: Easy route (blue) The trail upon Eyjan (“the island”) in Ásbyrgi starts at the parking lot at the campsite. The trail heads first north and then it goes up the cliff where it is suitable for ascent. Wood steps have been put up for easier access. When up at the Eyjan the path goes soon past an old pile of stone. If you turn around there, the route is 2 km long, but if the path is followed further south, it goes all the way to the edge of the cliff. From there is a beautiful view over Ásbyrgi. This route is an enjoyable evening stroll. http://www.vatnajokulsthjodgardur.is/english/what-to-see/hiking-routes/the-jokulsargljufur-canyon/asbyrgi/

Robert Sheckler
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarFri Oct 04 2019
Hiking
View Robert 's Recording
Catarina Medeiros
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarTue Oct 01 2019
Hiking
View Catarina's Recording
Katy Hollenbaugh
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarFri Sep 06 2019
Hiking
View Katy's Recording
Todd Monsell
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSun Jun 23 2019
Hiking
View Todd's Recording
Runar Petursson
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarFri Sep 07 2018
Hiking
View Runar's Recording