Kuliouou West Valley Trail

SCHWER 26 Bewertungen
#4 von 7 Wegen in

Der Kuliouou West Valley Trail ist ein moderat befahrener Wanderweg in der Nähe von Honolulu, Oahu, Hawaii, der über einen Fluss verfügt und als schwierig eingestuft wird. Der Weg wird hauptsächlich zum Wandern, Spazierengehen, für Ausflüge in die Natur und zur Vogelbeobachtung genutzt und ist das ganze Jahr über zugänglich.

Entfernung: 4.5 km Höhenunterschied: 583 m Routentyp: Hin & zurück

Wandern

Naturausflüge

Spazieren

Vogelbeobachtung

Wald

Fluss

Aussicht

Wildblumen

Wildtiere

Sturmholz

Insekten

schlammig

steinig

keine Hunde

wandern
abseits des Weges
überwachsen
6 days ago

Ungefähr auf halber Strecke ist der Weg schwer zu finden, die Kiefernnadeln auf dem Boden machen es zu einem schlampigen Abhang, der wieder nach unten führt. Fantastische Aussicht auf Koko Head und Diamond Head von oben. Auf dem Weg nach oben gibt es nicht viel zu sehen.

wandern
2 months ago

Dies ist ein Weg für erfahrene Wanderer. Steiler Start zum Grat. Dann ist der Weg leicht bewachsen, aber nicht schlecht. Einige Teile des Pfades sind heruntergekommen, seien Sie also vorsichtig, wo Sie hintreten. Der letzte Teil des Aufstiegs ist eine echte Kletterwand. Über 2 mal 15ft. Aber die Seile sind in gutem Zustand und jede abenteuerlustige Seele wäre in Ordnung. Die Aussicht ist alle Mühen wert. Also viel Spaß!

wandern
steinig
überwachsen
2 months ago

Zeit: 3 und 1/2 Stunden Gipfel: Nein, wir haben uns umgedreht, es hat geregnet und ist rutschig geworden. Kritik: Diese Wanderung ist ein harter Aufstieg in die Berge. Es gibt Abschnitte mit Seilen und es gibt mehrere Stellen, die überwachsen sind. Es sind rosa Bänder vorhanden. Suchen Sie nach Bändern, wenn Sie sich verlaufen haben. Ich würde sagen, wir sind mäßig erfahrene Wanderer und würden dies als ziemlich schwierig einstufen. Wir haben Tennisschuhe benutzt, uns aber vor dem letzten Gipfel umgedreht, der uns noch dreieinhalb Stunden gekostet hat. Sie sehen jedoch immer noch spektakuläre Ausblicke, die nur so weit reichen. Die anderen Personen auf dem Pfad, die höher gingen, hatten Wanderschuhe und / oder Spikes an. Ich würde auch längere Hosen für die überwucherten Bereiche empfehlen. Es gibt ein paar Seilabschnitte, die gerade nach oben ragen. Insgesamt tolle Wanderung, tolles Training, nicht überfüllt!

wandern
Fri Aug 31 2018

Dies sollte als eine Stufe über dem Durchschnitt eingestuft werden. Hervorragende Wanderung. Sie benötigen hohe Knöchel-Wanderschuhe, da die überwachsenen Baumwurzeln und die felsige Straße ein Knöchelbrecher sind. Bereiten Sie diese Beinmuskulatur für das Treppensteigen an der Spitze und ein ordentliches Wiederherstellen vor.

wandern
Sat Aug 04 2018

Dies ist einer meiner Lieblings-Quickies. Ein hervorragendes Training (1700 Höhenmeter auf den ersten 3 Meilen) mit einmaligem Blick auf Kuliouou und 'Aina Haina. Parken: Parken Sie an der Straße vor dem Ausgangspunkt in einer respektvollen Lage. Es gelten Wohnparkmethoden. Wanderung: Vor dem Ausgangspunkt folgen Sie der asphaltierten Straße und biegen Sie links ab. Kurz vor der Unterstation sehen Sie rechts einen Pfad, der sofort in die Bäume klettert. Wenn Sie sich etwas in den Eisenhölzern verlaufen, suchen Sie einfach nach einem etwas abgenutzten Pfad in den Nadeln. Rosa Bänder sind auf dem gesamten Weg sichtbar. Es gibt viele Seile für die Hangabfahrten in der Nähe der Spitze. Schwierigkeit: Dies ist wahrscheinlich keine gute Wanderung für Hunde oder Kinder. Ratings: Auszahlung: 9/10 Intensität: 9/10 Risiko: 7/10 Vermittlung: 7/10

wandern
Tue Aug 29 2017

Hahaione ist eine meiner Lieblingswanderungen auf der Insel Oahu. Auf OahuHike.com findest du weitere schöne Wanderungen, die Hahaione ähneln

wandern
Mon Jun 26 2017

Dies ist nicht Hahahione, sondern der westliche Grat von Kuli'ou'ou. Dieser Grat führt Sie nach Pu'u O Kona, einem der herausragenden Gipfel der Ko'olaus. Sie können diesen Grat mit dem Haupt-Kuli'ou'ou verbinden, um eine Rundwanderung zu machen. Definitiv eine anspruchsvolle Gratwanderung mit einigen steilen Abschnitten, schmalen Graten und Klettern. Die Aussicht ist fantastisch, wenn man sie an einem klaren Tag erwischt. Weitere Informationen zu dieser Wanderung finden Sie in meinem Blogpost! https://www.thehikinghi.com/single-post/2017/05/30/Puu-O-Kona-via-Kuliouou-Ridge

wandern
Sun Jun 11 2017

6/11/2017-Ich denke, das ist die kuli'ou'ou westliche Gratwanderung (nicht hahaione), was cool war und ein bisschen Klettern bedeutete. Ein wenig schlammig und rutschig durch Regen, aber die Aussicht ist ziemlich schön. Zum Glück war es nicht zu sonnig und auf dem Grat wehte eine stetige Brise.

wandern
Thu Mar 30 2017

Dies ist keine Hahaione Kammwanderung, ich bin mir nicht sicher, was die Bilder angeht, aber die Karte zeigt die Kammwanderung Pu'u O Kona, die auch weiß, wie der Kuliouou Westgrat, Sie können eine Schleife machen, wenn Sie einmal nach Osten fahren Oben zum bekannten Kuliouou-Höhenweg. Die Hahaione-Höhenwanderung befindet sich im Hahaione-Tal, in der Nähe der Hahaione-Straße. Sie können auch eine Schleife machen, die am Wassertank in der Pukoo-Straße endet. Die Wanderungen sind schön, aber ich gebe 1 Stern dafür Desinformation.

Sat Feb 25 2017

Erstaunliche Wanderung: Wenn Sie parken, folgen Sie der harten Straße nach links und vor dem Wassergebäude rechts, und Sie müssen den Weg nicht finden. Wenn Sie nicht in Form sind, würde ich diesen Weg nicht empfehlen. Er ist direkt hoch und sobald Sie den Grat erreichen, wird er manchmal etwas skizzenhaft, aber der Blick lohnt sich. Ich denke, die Leute haben in einigen dieser Bewertungen den falschen Weg eingeschlagen, weil man sich auf der Spur nicht verirren kann. Achten Sie darauf, dass der Wind an einer Stelle fast vom Grat geblasen wurde.

Mon Dec 05 2016

Ich ging den Jagdpfad nach rechts hoch. Tolle Wanderung. Rund 4,5 Meilen hin und zurück. Negativ ist nur, dass sich auf diesem Weg mehr Müll befindet als auf allen anderen, die ich bisher gemacht habe.

Mon Nov 28 2016

Liebte das Seilklettern an der Spitze des Wegs, wunderschöne Aussicht!

Fri Oct 14 2016

Es ist unglaublich !!!!!! Ich würde seine App allerdings beim Wandern verwenden, weil man sich anfangs an einigen Stellen verlaufen kann. Bringen Sie Wasser und Gaterade und mehr Wasser und Gaterade. Die Szene ist es wert, den ganzen Weg nach oben zu gehen, aber seien Sie vorsichtig, da sie in einigen Bereichen rutschig ist. Wenn Sie älter sind oder Knieprobleme haben, rate ich Ihnen, nicht den gesamten Weg zu gehen (kann leicht das Gleichgewicht verlieren und fallen). Stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie auch genug Essen mitbringen, es ist ein Training. Es dauerte ungefähr 3,5-4 Stunden, da es ständig leicht bergauf geht.

Fri Aug 19 2016

Ein Gebiet am Gipfel ist sehr steil und rutschig, wenn es kürzlich geregnet hat.

wandern
Sun May 15 2016

Wir haben in Hahaione angefangen und sind nach Kuliouou gewandert. Schön und schattig. Als wir uns dem Kuliouou-Weg näherten, mussten wir die Seite des Berges hinuntergehen, und es war steil, aber machbar, da es in letzter Zeit nicht viel geregnet hat. Wäre bei nassen Bedingungen zu rutschig. Liebte die ganze Reise. Ich habe bis zum Ende keine anderen Wanderer gesehen.

wandern
2 months ago

wandern
2 months ago

wandern
6 months ago

wandern
7 months ago

wandern
Thu Sep 27 2018

wandern
Fri Jun 01 2018

wandern
Fri Mar 09 2018

wandern
Mon Jan 01 2018

wandern
Thu Jul 13 2017

wandern
Thu Apr 27 2017

Mon Jul 04 2016

Empfohlene Routen

Kuliouou West Valley Trail is a 2.8 mile moderately trafficked out and back trail located near Honolulu, Oahu, Hawaii that features a river and is rated as difficult. The trail is primarily used for hiking, walking, nature trips, and bird watching and is accessible year-round.

Length2.8 miElevation gain1,912 ftRoute typeOut & back
HikingNature tripsWalkingBird watchingForestRiverViewsWildflowersWildlifeBlowdownBugsMuddyRockyNo dogs
Description
Waypoints (0)
Getting There

Weather
UV Index
Daylight
Reviews (56)
Photos (209)
Activities (46)
Completed (290)
View user's profile page
Jonathan Ford
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarFebruary 23, 2021
HikingGreat!Scramble

Good hike, mostly shaded. Gets more challenging as you approach the very end. Trail was in great shape today. No mud and I had it all to myself. I brought my pup, who is a very good little hiker, and she did not have any issues.

View Jonathan's activity
View user's profile page
Paul Baron
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarFebruary 13, 2021
Hiking

Fantastic trail no trash no people challenging but worth it. Took 3+ hours

View Paul's activity
View user's profile page
sal sal
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarFebruary 13, 2021
Hiking
View sal's activity
View user's profile page
Paul Baron
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarFebruary 5, 2021
Hiking

A little muddy on the bottom stretch but dries out by the first summit

View Paul's activity
View user's profile page
Sathish Thyagarajan
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarJanuary 13, 2021
Hiking
View Sathish's activity
View user's profile page
Chris Reimer
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarJanuary 13, 2021
Hiking
View Chris's activity
View user's profile page
Cristina Calderon
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarOctober 24, 2020
Hiking
View Cristina's activity
View user's profile page
Chelsea McKay
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarJuly 11, 2020
HikingScramble

Pretty empty! Everyone does the east ridge instead. This one is not as maintained but more relaxing and calm since it’s not crowded. The first 1/3 and last 1/3 are straight climbs with some ropes included. the entrance isn’t super obvious since there’s no trail marker, but it’s right before the white building on the right. Parking at Kouliouou is always difficult, but we lucked out with a spot on the block today. There was a cop giving out parking tickets. I found this to be much easier than most ridge hikes. There is the option to continue on and do the loop but it was SUPER windy at the top today, wasn’t worth the risk.

View user's profile page
Jaimie Chhu
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarMay 26, 2020
HikingMuddyRocky

I was surprised by the lack of people on this trail. I think they opt for the more well known kuliouou ridge trail. The start is a steep ascent that then levels, followed by steeper ascents. There's not a view in the first 3/4 of the hike but once you get high enough, the ridge opens up and the view is spectacular. I liked it better than kuliouou.

View user's profile page
Vanessa Wegner
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarNovember 16, 2019
HikingOff trailOver grown

About half way the trail gets hard to find, the pine needles on the ground make it a sloppy slope back down to the bottom. Awesome view of koko head and diamond head from the top. Not much to see on the way up.

View user's profile page
Marine Marcus
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSeptember 1, 2019
Hiking

This is a trail for experienced hikers. Steep start to the ridge. Then the path is slightly overgrown but not too bad. Some parts of the path are run down so be careful where you step. The last part of the climb is a real climb wall. About 2 times 15ft. But the ropes are in good condition and any adventurous soul would be ok. The view is worth all efforts. So enjoy!

View Marine's activity
View user's profile page
FeliciaRenaePhotography _
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarAugust 31, 2019
HikingOver grownRocky

Time: 3 and 1/2 hours Summit: No, we turned around it was raining and getting slippery. Review: This hike is a tough climb up the mountains. There a sections with ropes and it does have multiple spots that are overgrown. There are pink ribbons in place, look for those if you get lost. I would say we are moderately experienced hikers and would rank this as pretty difficult. We used tennis shoes but did turn around before the final summit which still took us 3 and 1/2 hours. However, you still see spectacular views only going this far. The other individuals on the trail that were going higher had on hiking boots and/or spikes. I would also recommend longer pants for the overgrown areas. There are a couple rope sections that are straight up - beware coming down them. Overall great hike, great workout, not overcrowded!

View user's profile page
Diane Apellanes Villanueva
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarAugust 31, 2018
Hiking

This should be rated as one step above moderate. Excellent hike. Need high ankle hiking boots as the overgrown tree roots and rocky road it’s an ankle breaker. Get those leg muscles ready for stair climb at the top and decent back down.

View user's profile page
Solamen Silva
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarAugust 4, 2018
Hiking

This is one of my favorite quickies. An excellent workout (1700’ elevation gain in the first .3 miles) with some unique views of Kuliouou and ‘Aina Haina. Parking: Park along the road before the trailhead in a respectful location. Residential parking manners apply. Hike: Before the trailhead, follow the paved road down and turn to the left. Just before the substation, you’ll see a trail to the right that instantly climbs into the trees. If you get a little lost in the ironwoods, just look for a slightly worn path in the needles. Pink ribbons are visible all along the way. There are plenty of ropes for the slope scrambles near the top. Difficulty: This is probably not a good hike for dogs or children. Ratings: Payoff: 9/10 Intensity: 9/10 Risk: 7/10 Wayfinding: 7/10

View user's profile page
Dave Lockness
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarAugust 29, 2017
Hiking

Hahaione is one of my favorite hikes on the island of Oahu. Check out OahuHike.com to find more beautiful hikes similar to Hahaione

View user's profile page
Steve Warner
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarJune 26, 2017
Hiking

This is not Hahahione, but the western ridge of Kuli'ou'ou. This ridge will take you to Pu'u O Kona, one of the prominent peaks of the Ko'olaus. You can connect this ridge to the main Kuli'ou'ou to make it a loop hike. Definitely a challenging ridge hike though with some steep sections, narrow ridges, and rock climbing. The views are awesome though if you catch it on a clear day. For more on this hike, check out my blog post! https://www.thehikinghi.com/single-post/2017/05/30/Puu-O-Kona-via-Kuliouou-Ridge

View user's profile page
CN L7
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarJune 11, 2017
Hiking

6/11/2017-I think this may be the kuli'ou'ou west ridge hike (not hahaione) which was cool and involved a bit of climbing. A little muddy and slippery due to rain but the views are pretty nice. Thankfully it wasn't too sunny and there was a steady breeze on the ridge.

View user's profile page
Olivier Vasquez Rojas
Yellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarMarch 30, 2017
Hiking

This is not Hahaione ridge hike by the way, I'm not sure about the pictures, but the map shows the Pu'u O Kona ridge hike, also knows as the Kuliouou west ridge, you can do a loop if you head east once at the top to the well known Kuliouou ridge trail. The Hahaione ridge hike is located in the Hahaione valley, off of Hahaione St, you can also do a loop on this one that ends at the water tank at Pukoo St. The hikes are nice but I'll give it 1 star cause of the misinformation.

View user's profile page
Chris Newton
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarFebruary 25, 2017

Amazing hike, when you park follow the hard road to the left and right before the water building it's on the right, no marker just have to find the trail. If you're not in shape I wouldn't recommend this trail, it's straight up and once you get to the ridge it gets sketchy at times but views are worth it. I think people have taken the wrong trail in some of these reviews because there's no way you can get lost once on the trail. Watch for wind almost got blown off the ridge at one point.

View user's profile page
Carl Brinkerhoff
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarDecember 5, 2016

I went up the hunting trail to the right. Great hike. About 4.5 miles round trip. Only negatives is there is more litter on this trail than I've seen on all the other trails I've done.

View user's profile page
Mark Deakos
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarNovember 28, 2016

Loved the rope climbing at the top of the trail, beautiful views!

View user's profile page
Victoria Glassmaker
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarOctober 14, 2016

It is amazing!!!!!! I would use his app when hiking though because towards the beginning you can get lost at a couple points. Bring water and gaterade and more water and gaterade. The scene is worth going all the way up but be careful because it is slippery with mud in some parts. If you're older or have knee problems I advice not to go the entire way (can easily lose balance and fall). Make sure you bring enough food too, it is a workout. It took us about 3.5-4hrs because it is a constant slight uphill.

View user's profile page
Matthew S
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarAugust 19, 2016

One area by the peak is very steep and slippery if it rained recently.

View user's profile page
Carla Bowen
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarMay 15, 2016
Hiking
First to Review

We started at Hahaione and hiked over to Kuliouou. Beautiful and shady. When we got closer to Kuliouou trail we had to hike down side of mountain and it was steep, but doable since it hasn't rained much lately. Would be too slippery in wet conditions. Loved the whole journey. Didn't see any other hikers until very end.

View user's profile page
Shawn G
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarFebruary 15, 2021
Hiking
View Shawn's activity
View user's profile page
Serge Hnatkovych
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarFebruary 6, 2021
Hiking
Showing results 1 - 26 of 56