Ke'e Beach-Kalalau Overlook

MODERATE 27 reviews

Ke'e Beach-Kalalau Overlook is a 1.4 kilometer moderately trafficked out and back trail located near Hanalei, Kauai, Hawaii that offers scenic views and is rated as moderate. The trail is primarily used for hiking and walking and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

Distance: 1.4 km Elevation Gain: 127 m Route Type: Out & Back

dogs on leash

kid friendly

hiking

walking

beach

views

NOTE: Advance reservations are now required for all visitors (except state of Hawaiʻi residents). Please see state park website for reservations and information https://www.gohaena.com/ Start from the Kalalau Trailhead and hike 1/4 mile to a viewpoint. From there you can choose to turn back or continue on.

hiking
1 month ago

Perfect hike before hitting the beach! Breathtaking views

hiking
2 months ago

We were unaware of the new reservations system and despite arriving very early (7:30 am), we were not allowed in the park. There is no way to pay/reserve on the day you arrive -- it must be done 24 hrs in advance. Glad they are managing the park to limit visitors and protect the park, but we sure wish we had known about this change ahead of time. Turned around and spent a beautiful morning snorkeling at nearby Tunnels Beach. A very nice consolation prize!

6 months ago

I was 66 and out of shape (more than I thought) when we hiked to the beach and back. Challenging for me but worth every step.

hiking
Wednesday, February 28, 2018

Gorgeous beach ❤️

Friday, September 08, 2017

Quick and beautiful!

Sunday, February 05, 2017

We hit the 1 mile and kept going another mile to the beach and another 4 to the waterfall. very fun hike - beautiful views! don't forget to watch for whales during certain seasons!

hiking
2 months ago

hiking
7 months ago

hiking
Wednesday, January 31, 2018

hiking
Wednesday, January 24, 2018

hiking
Sunday, January 14, 2018

hiking
Tuesday, January 02, 2018

Monday, November 20, 2017

hiking
Saturday, November 18, 2017

Friday, November 17, 2017

hiking
Tuesday, October 17, 2017

hiking
Monday, September 18, 2017

Thursday, July 13, 2017

Saturday, June 24, 2017

Saturday, June 03, 2017

hiking
Saturday, May 06, 2017

Monday, April 24, 2017

Thursday, March 16, 2017

Friday, September 09, 2016

hiking
Sunday, June 19, 2016

Featured Trails