Richtis Gorge is a 9.0 kilometer lightly trafficked out and back trail located near Kavoussio, Crete, Greece that features a waterfall and is rated as moderate. The trail offers a number of activity options and is best used from April until October. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
9 km
DÉNIVELÉ
380 m
TYPE D'ITINÉRAIRE
Aller-retour

chiens en laisse

convient aux enfants

camping

pêche

randonnée

activités en pleine nature

conduite scénique

balade

ornithologie

plage

forêt

rivière

vue panoramique

chute d'eau

fleurs sauvages

faune

arbres tombés

insectes

boueux

couvert de végétation

rocheux

gravir

Richtis Gorge Trail can also be a loop if you use the farm road running in parallel to it. It is accessible all year, but a lot easier to walk from April to October.

randonnée
2 months ago

Ceci est une magnifique dans et notre piste. Nous avons deux enfants de 11 et 14 ans et ils n'ont eu aucun problème avec la randonnée. Cela nous a pris un peu moins de 4 heures avec quelques arrêts en cours de route. La vue le long du chemin et la plage rocheuse à la fin valent la peine. Nous avons fait cette randonnée fin décembre et il faisait humide mais rien ne pouvait nous empêcher de chaussures imperméables.

11 months ago

Der trail ist auf kreta

Monday, July 10, 2017

Incroyable!

randonnée sac-à-dos
Tuesday, April 25, 2017

Si vous choisissez de faire de la randonnée dans Richtis, faites-en une randonnée, ne montez PAS. Par cela, je veux dire commencer à la plage, pas au début du sentier. Vous pouvez le faire en mettant "Richtis Beach" dans le GPS de votre voiture. Ensuite, vous pouvez commencer à la fin où le sentier est réellement entretenu. Bien que la partie la plus haute du sentier ne soit pas entièrement impraticable, elle est presque entièrement recouverte et vous devez être prêt à dévaler le ruisseau lui-même jusqu'à atteindre des portions plus praticables, qui ne le sont pas encore. Si vous êtes chanceux, vous devrez vous frayer un chemin sur des rochers lisses, humides et raides, avec des flaques d'eau profondes au-dessous de vous. Il y a aussi quelques pièges à eau auxquels vous devez veiller pour ne pas tomber - une eau profonde, au fond d'un trou à paroi lisse et plus profonde, impossible de se mettre sans corde et avec un partenaire capable de vous sauver. Ce sont les parties les plus hautes du sentier. Les parties les plus basses (randonnée de la plage avant d'atteindre la plus grande chute d'eau) sont bien entretenues et le sentier est bien balisé et sûr. Si vous choisissez de vous aventurer devant les escaliers raides, hauts, vieux et en bois qui mènent au sommet de la cascade, sachez que le sentier devient de plus en plus dangereux à mesure que vous avancez. Il y a quelques vieilles maisons de pierre abandonnées le long du sentier, mais vous devez vraiment vouloir les voir. Si vous voulez vraiment voir le pont de pierre, descendez de la tête d'essai - c'est facile et sur une route pavée jusqu'au pont -, faites demi-tour et rendez-vous à la plage. NE PAS NAGER DANS LA RIVIÈRE. Si vous allez au sommet, vous verrez une tonne de ruissellement des fermes là-bas (agrumes, légumes racines). Le meilleur des cas est le fumier, le pire des cas est un engrais chimique. Vous ne voulez probablement pas y nager de toute façon. Trash up stream aussi.

randonnée
Sunday, October 21, 2012

Grande randonnée à travers une "jungle" crétoise. Paysage unique pour la Crète orientale qui a tendance à être très sec. Pas difficile du tout (il a fallu grimper sur quelques rochers mais c'est à peu près tout) et avec beaucoup de variété. Vieux moulins à eau, herbes et fleurs sauvages, BEAUCOUP de platanes, la cascade et la plage à la fin. A pris plus de 600 images car la gorge est presque entièrement ombragée, ce qui donne l’occasion de réaliser d’intéressantes images à fort contraste lorsque la lumière traverse la végétation.

randonnée
5 months ago

randonnée
5 months ago

9 months ago

Monday, July 18, 2016

Sunday, November 29, 2015

Sunday, March 15, 2015

Richtis Gorge is a 9.0 kilometer lightly trafficked out and back trail located near Kavoussio, Crete, Greece that features a waterfall and is rated as moderate. The trail offers a number of activity options and is best used from April until October. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

Distance: 9.0 km Elevation Gain: 380 m Route Type: Out & Back

dogs on leash

kid friendly

camping

fishing

hiking

nature trips

walking

bird watching

beach

forest

river

views

waterfall

wild flowers

wildlife

blowdown

bugs

muddy

over grown

rocky

scramble

Richtis Gorge Trail can also be a loop if you use the farm road running in parallel to it. It is accessible all year, but a lot easier to walk from April to October.

hiking
10 months ago

chaussures imperméables indispensable pour les différentes traversées du ruisseaux et les maladroits

hiking
Sat Dec 22 2018

This is a gorgeous in in and our trail. We have two kids 11 and 14 and they had no trouble with the hike. It took us just under 4 hours with a few stops along the way. The view along the way and beach rocky shore at the end are worth it. We did this hike late December and it was wet but nothing we couldn’t handle with waterproof shoes.

Wed Apr 04 2018

Der trail ist auf kreta

Mon Jul 10 2017

Amazing!

backpacking
Tue Apr 25 2017

If you choose to hike Richtis, hike 'up', DON'T hike down. By this, I mean start at the beach, not at the trail head. You can do this by putting "Richtis Beach" into your car's GPS. Then you can start at the end where the trail is actually maintained. While not entirely impassable, the higher portion of the trail is nearly entirely grown over and you need to be willing to rock hop down the stream itself until you reach more passable portions, which still are not all that passable. There will be scrambling over steep, wet, smooth rocks - with deep pools of water below you if you're lucky. There are also a couple of water traps that you need to be mindful to not fall into - deep water, at the bottom of a deeper, smooth-wall hole, no way to get put without rope and an able body partner to rescue you. These are the higher portions of the trail. The lower portions - hiking up from the beach, before you reach the largest water fall - is well maintained, and the trail is pretty well marked and safe. If you choose to venture passed the steep, tall, old, wooden stairs that lead to the top of the waterfall, know that the trail only gets more hazardous the further up you go. There are a couple old, abandoned stone houses along the trail, but you have to really want to see them. If you really want to see the stone bridge, hike down from the trial head - it's easy and on paved road until the bridge - then turn around and go to the beach. DON'T SWIM IN THE RIVER. If you go to the top, you'll see a ton of run off from the farms there (citrus, root vegetables). Best case is manure, worst case is chemical fertilizer. You probably don't want to swim in it either way. Trash up stream too.

hiking
Sun Oct 21 2012

Great hike through a Cretan "jungle". Unique scenery for eastern Crete which tends to be very dry. Not difficult at all (had to climb over a couple of boulders but that's pretty much it) and with lots of variety. Old watermills, wild flowers and herbs, LOTS of plane trees, the waterfall and the beach at the end. Took over 600 pics as the gorge is -almost- entirely shaded which gives lots of opportunity for interesting high contrast pics as the light passes through the vegetation.

hiking
8 months ago

hiking
8 months ago

hiking
11 months ago

hiking
11 months ago

hiking
Mon Sep 17 2018

hiking
Mon Sep 17 2018

Sat Jun 16 2018

Mon Jul 18 2016

Sun Nov 29 2015

Sun Mar 15 2015