Norton and Menethorpe est un circuit en boucle de 6 km situé près de Norton-on-Dewent, dans le North Yorkshire, en Angleterre. Le sentier est principalement utilisé pour la randonnée, la marche, le course à pied et les excursions dans la nature.

Distance: 10.5 km Dénivelé: 279 m Type d'itinéraire: Boucle

randonnée

activités en pleine nature

course de trail

balade

lac

rivière

boueux

couvert de végétation

REMARQUE IMPORTANTE: veuillez lire les informations d’accès complètes ci-dessous, car il existe des circonstances dans lesquelles cette marche sera impraticable ou non recommandée. Marche circulaire depuis la gare de Malton dans le bourg de Norton-on-Derwent à Ryedale. La route se dirige vers le sud-ouest, à travers des pâturages pour moutons, des enclos pour chevaux et le parcours de golf pour atteindre le petit hameau de Menethorpe avant de revenir à travers champs et pâturages le long de la rivière Derwent. Cette marche fait partie d’une collaboration avec le conseil de district de Ryedale. Pour plus d’informations sur la région, notamment sur les événements et l’hébergement, visitez le www.VisitRyedale.co.uk. La marche est relativement plate, avec seulement quelques pentes douces. Le chemin du retour au retour peut être boueux toute l’année, il est donc indispensable de bonnes bottes (ou dans les mois les plus humides). Ce chemin bordant la rivière fait partie de la plaine inondable; il ne faut donc PAS tenter l'itinéraire lorsque la rivière est haute ou en crue. Certaines sections des sentiers sont très étroites et peuvent être envahies par la végétation. La promenade traverse un certain nombre de pâturages avec des moutons, des chevaux de course (souvent avec des poulains au printemps et en été) et du bétail. Vous devrez négocier un certain nombre de portes, des portes pour les baisers et 10 mansardes (dont 4 sont hautes et entourées de grillage pour que les chiens aient besoin d'un ascenseur). Compte tenu de la quantité de bétail et de la conception des échasses, cette voie n'est pas recommandée pour les chiens. En raison de la nature douce des pâturages au bord de la rivière, cette promenade est également une meilleure réserve pour les mois d’été secs. Comptez 3 à 3,5 heures. Si vous recherchez des rafraîchissements, vous pourrez facilement rejoindre les centres-villes de Norton-on-Derwent ou de Malton depuis la gare, au début ou à la fin de la promenade. Carte OS: Explorer 300 collines Howardian et Malton. Cette promenade suit des sentiers publics et des pistes cavalières qui traversent des terres privées et publiques. Veuillez respecter la vie privée des personnes, garder les chiens sous contrôle et vous rappeler le code de la campagne.

4 months ago

Une belle promenade, assez facile en réalité, des instructions très faciles à suivre, des chemins assez secs, il faut juste faire attention au bord de la rivière qui est boueuse par endroits, en ce qui concerne bailes

Randonnées populaires

Norton and Menethorpe is a 10.5 kilometer loop trail located near Norton-on-Dewent, North Yorkshire, England that features a lake and is rated as moderate. The trail is primarily used for hiking, walking, trail running, and nature trips.

Distance: 10.5 km Elevation Gain: 279 m Route Type: Loop

hiking

nature trips

walking

running

lake

river

muddy

over grown

IMPORTANT NOTE: Please read the full access information below, as there are some circumstances in which this walk will be impassable or not recommended. A circular walk from Malton rail station in the market town of Norton-on-Derwent in Ryedale. The route heads south-west, through sheep pastures, horse paddocks and the golf course to reach the tiny hamlet of Menethorpe before returning through fields and cattle pastures alongside the River Derwent. This walk is part of a collaboration with the Ryedale District Council. For more visitor information on the area including events and accommodation, go to www.VisitRyedale.co.uk The walk is relatively flat with just a few gentle gradients. The riverside path for the return stretch can be muddy throughout the year, so good boots are a must (or wellingtons in the wetter months). This riverside path forms part of the flood plain and so the route should NOT be attempted when the river is running high or is in flood. Some sections of the paths are very narrow and can get overgrown. The walk crosses a number of grazing pastures holding sheep, racehorses (often with foals in the spring and summer) and cattle. You will need to negotiate a number of gates, kissing gates plus 10 stiles (4 of which are tall with wire fence surrounds so dogs would need a lift over). Given the amount of livestock and the design of the stiles, this route is not recommended for dogs. Due to the soft nature of the riverside pastures, this walk is also one best reserved for the dry summer months. Allow 3 to 3.5 hours. If you are looking for refreshments you can easily walk to the town centres of Norton-on-Derwent or Malton from the rail station at the start or end of the walk. OS Map: Explorer 300 Howardian Hills and Malton. This walk follows public footpaths and bridleways which cross private and public land. Please respect people's privacy, keep dogs under control and remember the Countryside Code.

hiking
over grown
1 month ago

Very overgrown, make sure to wear long sleeves! Narrow path by the river we followed the river and was so nice. Not muddy but walking 1 August.

hiking
3 months ago

Walked mid June. Avoid the narrow paths after The Avenue and go around as the guide suggests as it was overgrown. A long section of the walk by the River Derwent especially near the railway was badly overgrown and not enjoyable at all. Rest of walk very good. No mud when we did it.

7 months ago

A lovely walk, quite easy really, instructions very easy to follow, paths fairly dry, just need to be careful alongside river bank which is muddy in parts, regards bailes

Featured Trails