Aster Lake Trail

DIFFICILE 18 avis
N°42 sur 73 randonnées à

Aster Lake Trail est un sentier allez-retour de 21.4 kilomètres modérément fréquenté situé près de district d'amélioration de Kananaskis, Alberta en Canada. Le sentier longe un lac et sa difficulté est évaluée comme difficile. Le sentier offre plusieurs activités et sa meilleure utilisation est de mars à novembre. Les chiens sont les bienvenus sur ce sentier mais seulement en laisse.

Distance: 21.4 km Dénivelé: 1,248 m Type d'itinéraire: Aller-retour

chiens en laisse

randonnée sac-à-dos

camping

randonnée

activités en pleine nature

ornithologie

forêt

lac

vue panoramique

Le lac Aster est un lac de haute montagne situé dans une partie isolée du pays Kananaskis, dans le parc provincial Peter Lougheed. Le lac caché est inhabituel en ce sens qu'il n'a pas d'écoulement en surface mais qu'il draine à travers une fissure souterraine qui se vide aux sources situées au bord du lac Kananaskis supérieur. La forêt autour du lac Caché est extrêmement dense et composée de sous-bois épais.

raquettes
gravir
neige
rocheux
1 month ago

À l'âge de 16 ans, ce fut un voyage fantastique pour le routard qualifié. J'ai emmené deux de mes amis qui sont également compétents dans les voyages dans l'arrière-pays. A cette période de l'année, attendez-vous à des pousses chargées de vent et à des déplacements lents. Nous ne sommes jamais arrivés au camping mais nous avons passé des chutes de fossiles. Dans l'ensemble un très bon voyage et incroyablement difficile.

randonnée
gravir
rocheux
2 months ago

Sac à dos cela comme une nuit avec mon mari. Nous n'avons pas trouvé que la recherche d'itinéraire posait problème. L’embranchement du lac caché est marqué par le balisage et un sentier étroit facile à suivre - il se trouve quelques centaines de mètres plus tôt que All Trails ne l’a indiqué. La partie la plus difficile est une montée raide sur une pente en éboulis. Le sentier est facile à suivre mais difficile avec un sac lourd à cause de la qualité. Juste après la traversée de la rivière, il y a une petite course au sommet de l'éboulis qui est difficile avec un sac et si vous avez les bras courts. Il y a un autre itinéraire à gauche si vous voulez éviter cela. Tous les sentiers vous permettent également de descendre du sentier principal en direction de la station des gardes forestiers. Sachez que cette déviation n’est pas nécessaire et que le sentier bien tracé constitue la meilleure approche, mais l’un ou l’autre sentier vous mènera au lac Aster. Les casiers à ours sont sur le terrain de camping mais ils ne se verrouillent pas bien. Aussi, il n'y a pas de tables. Les toilettes étaient vraiment super!

randonnée
boueux
couvert de végétation
gravir
hors piste
rocheux
2 months ago

Manière facile de se perdre, le sentier n'est pas bien indiqué. Tant de sentiers empruntent des chemins différents. Commence extrêmement facile autour du lac. Ensuite, c'est presque l'escalade pour atteindre le sommet de la montagne. La paroi rocheuse était glissante et dangereuse car un côté est une falaise. Surpris nous n'avons pas été prévenus d'apporter des chaussures à crampons et du matériel d'escalade. Belle vue mais certainement pas pour les faibles de coeur. Le sentier sur tous les sentiers était éteint. Là où il nous a dit d'aller n'était pas vraiment la piste alors nous nous sommes mélangés. Bon défi mais pas une randonnée recommandée.

randonnée
3 months ago

Randonné Aster hier. QUESTION: Lorsque vous arrivez au premier panneau pour Ranger Station, il y a un sentier très bien utilisé sur la droite qui descend. Est-ce que quelqu'un sait où ce sentier mène? BTW - le premier sentier balisé qui descend sur la gauche de la station Ranger est celui à prendre pour Aster. Peu de temps après, vous verrez un panneau indiquant le 2e poste de garde forestier qui traverse la crique sur la gauche; ne prenez pas celle-là; restez à droite pour Aster.

randonnée
rocheux
3 months ago

Randonnée jusqu'au lac Aster pour passer la nuit au camping dans l'arrière-pays. Cette randonnée est vraiment difficile à monter. Il y a une pente raide sur les éboulis pendant une grande partie de la randonnée. Le sac à dos n'a pas rendu les choses plus faciles, mais même sans sac à dos, c'est un bon entraînement. Vous aurez une vue magnifique sur les chutes de fossiles, le lac caché et le lac Kananaskis. les photos ne sont pas dues aux chutes de fossile justice c'est une belle cascade. Le camping est super juste au bord du ruisseau, je souhaite juste que vous allumiez des feux à haute voix. La randonnée au-delà du camping et en direction de Northover Ridge est un magnifique paysage. Grande randonnée recommande fortement

randonnée
gravir
rocheux
3 months ago

Grande randonnée avec une vue imprenable. Le lac est magnifique et tellement calme. Le sentier est modéré. Le chemin vers le lac caché est super lisse après cela, lorsque vous arrivez à Aster Lake, c'est plus difficile et vous obtenez une plus grande élévation. Il y a du brouillage et certaines parties sont raides. Des criques et de belles cascades tout le long.

randonnée
4 months ago

LOST PHONE / Zone de fréquentation des grizzlis et des louveteaux Achevé du sentier du lac Aster le week-end prolongé le 5 août, dernière étape de la boucle de la crête de Northover, ainsi que du sentier menant au lac Aster le 10 août. Belle randonnée avec beaucoup de paysages le long du chemin, mais ce n’est pas un sentier facile, en particulier avec un sac lourd, des terrains rocheux lâches et durs allant d’un lac caché à un lac aster. J'ai laissé tomber mon téléphone le 5 août près des lacs du côté nord-ouest du sentier de crête Northover (près du mont Northover). À cause du grizzly et du petit qui nageait dans les tarns, je n’ai pas pu le chercher ni le récupérer. Si vous trouvez mon iPhone dans un étui violet clair, contactez-moi ou désactivez le mode avion pour le message «téléphone perdu» et contactez le ph # que j'ai envoyé au téléphone. - est retourné à la piste le 10 août pour chercher un téléphone. N'a pas localisé. La même grizzli et son ourson ont été repérés à l’extrémité nord du lac Hidden, le long du sentier des lacs Aster / Caché, juste à l’extérieur du circuit du lac Kananaskis. Les sitings d'ours ont été rapportés.

randonnée
4 months ago

C'est une randonnée épique, mais pas pour les inexpérimentés. Le sentier à travers les bois autour du lac caché a été beaucoup amélioré. Le chemin d'éboulis qui monte de Hidden Lake s'est beaucoup détérioré depuis l'été dernier. Nous avons eu un été humide qui a beaucoup perturbé le sentier. Prends soin de toi, fais attention et apporte des bâtons. Il est amusant de brouiller le mur de tête, mais faites attention ...

randonnée
boueux
hors piste
4 months ago

Appelez le berceau, même numéro, même capot, c'est tout bon! Cette randonnée sous la pluie a-t-elle eu lieu le week-end de juillet 2019? Rien de trop technique, et beaucoup de bonnes vues! La promenade le long du lac va bien. Les chutes sont magnifiques, beaucoup d'eau coule des flancs de la montagne. Ne les laisse pas te retenir pour atteindre les étoiles.

randonnée
4 months ago

Nous sommes allés le 14 juillet. Garé sur le lac supérieur. Belle et facile promenade autour du lac jusqu'à ce que vous rencontriez le sentier du lac Aster. La carte que vous pouvez télécharger à partir de l'application m'a permis de passer devant le tournant et il n'y avait aucun signe indiquant le début du sentier. Courte randonnée étroite vers le lac caché qui était un peu plus grande que ce que je pensais. Vous pouvez marcher le long du lac à gauche ou suivre le chemin dans la forêt (comme nous l'avons fait) près du rivage rocheux. Sur cette carte, prenez le chemin du lac et montez sur un autre chemin menant au lac Aster, bien qu’ils se retrouvent au même endroit. Le sentier forestier menant au lac Aster jusqu’à la limite des arbres n’était pas trop mauvais. Un peu raide mais je suis un randonneur modéré et fait! Une fois sortis de la limite des arbres, nous sommes allés aux fossiles et n’avons pas emprunté le chemin des éboulis menant au lac Aster, mais nous nous sommes approchés! J'ai hâte d'y retourner! Nous avons essayé de nous approcher des chutes de fossiles et les avons rapprochées mais nous ne pouvions pas trouver un bon chemin sur les éboulis rocheux, nous sommes donc retournés après avoir déjeuné avec une vue magnifique. J'y retournerai un jour pour aller au lac et jusqu'aux chutes. Longue journée mais tu peux le faire !!!

randonnée
Fri Jul 13 2018

Super randonnée / brouillage. Un lac suivi d'un autre. Il est préférable de camper au lac Aster et de le faire pendant 2 jours, ou utilisez le camping comme point de départ pour l’un des sommets environnants. Beaucoup de glace, de neige et d'éboulis peuvent être difficiles.

randonnée
3 months ago

a enregistré Aster Lake Trail

randonnée
3 months ago

randonnée
3 months ago

randonnée
4 months ago

randonnée
4 months ago

randonnée
4 months ago

a enregistré Aster Lake Trail

randonnée
5 months ago

Help keep our trails and parks open during COVID-19 by committing to social distancing. Some trails or park services may be closed this weekend so check with local authorities before heading out.
Learn more

Aster Lake Trail is a 13.3 mile moderately trafficked out and back trail located near Kananaskis Improvement, Alberta, Canada that features a lake and is rated as difficult. The trail offers a number of activity options and is best used from March until November. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

Distance: 13.3 miles Elevation Gain: 4,094 feet Route Type: Out & Back

dogs on leash

backpacking

camping

hiking

nature trips

bird watching

forest

lake

views

Aster Lake is a high alpine lake located in a remote section of Kananaskis Country located in Peter Lougheed Provincial Park. Hidden Lake is unusual in that it doesn't have a surface outflow and instead drains through an underground fissure that empties at the springs on the shores of Upper Kananaskis Lake. The forest around Hidden Lake is extremely dense with thick underbrush.

hiking
snow
3 days ago

Great trail until reaching Aster Creek after climbing through the scree slope. After this, there was still alot of snow and I turned back and returned to my camp at the Point on Upper Kananaskis Lake. Trail around Hidden Lake is lush forest and taking the marked route there are only a few fallen trees over the trail and were easily navigable.

5 days ago

Did the trail to Aster Lake yesterday, June 26. There is still so much snow on the way up to Aster Lake and much of the trail is hidden under snow. The snow is mostly packed and I was able to walk on top. I brought crampons which helped but could not avoid my boots getting soaked. The hike took much longer due to re-routing and finding the trail hidden under all the snow plus rain throughout half of the trek. I was the only one who camped at Aster Lake that night. I originally planned to do the loop and do the Northover ridge the 2nd day, however, it was just rainy and heavy clouds this morning at Aster lake for me to continue up the ridge. Opted to go back down the same way I came up. Will definitely have to go back at another time when the trail and weather conditions are much more favorable. I'm sure the views up there are even more amazing.

hiking
7 days ago

Amazing views and varied terrain on this hike! We stopped about a km short of the lake, due to sketchy snow over a torrent of meltwater coming down the mountain. We would have had to cross the snow over fast-moving water and could not be sure it could be done safely with the conditions. I wouldn’t hesitate to come back in a couple weeks to complete the trail to the lake.

hiking
blowdown
scramble
snow
13 days ago

I stop at one km short to the lake, due to not having snowshoes I used micro spike near the end

hiking
blowdown
over grown
21 days ago

Tried to get up to Fossil Falls. The trail around Hidden Lake has a lot of blown down trees. Very hard to navigate the trail. Was unable to make it due to blown down trees.

snowshoeing
rocky
scramble
snow
7 months ago

As a 16 year old it was an awesome trip for the skilled backpacker I brought two of my friends who are also skilled in backcountry travel. At this time of year expect wind loaded shoots and slow travel. We never made it to the campground but we passed fossil falls. Over all a really great trip and insanely challenging.

hiking
rocky
scramble
9 months ago

Backpacked this as an overnight with my husband. We didn’t find route finding to be an issue. The Hidden lake turnoff is marked by flagging and an easy to follow narrow trail - it’s a few hundred metres earlier than All Trails has it. The hardest part is a steep ascent up a scree slope. The trail is easy to follow but challenging with a heavy pack due to the grade. There is a short scramble at the top of the scree just after the river crossing that is difficult with a pack and if you have short arms. There is an alternate route to the left if you want to avoid that. All trails also has you step off the main trail towards the ranger station. Know that this diversion is unnecessary and the well worn path is actually the better approach but either trail will get you to Aster lake. Bear lockers are at the campground but they don’t lock well. Also there are no tables. The toilet was really great though!

hiking
muddy
off trail
over grown
rocky
scramble
9 months ago

Way to easy to get lost, trail is not marked well at all. So many trails going different ways. Starts off extremely easy around the lake. Then it is almost rock climbing to get to the top of the mountain. The rockface was slippery and dangerous as one side is a cliff. Surprised we were not warned to bring spiked shoes and rock climbing equipment. Beautiful views but definitely not for the faint of heart. The trail on all trails was off. Where it told us to go was not actually the trail so we got mixed up. Good challenge but not a recommended hike.

hiking
10 months ago

Hiked Aster yesterday. QUESTION: When you get to the first sign for the Ranger Station there is a very well worn trail on the right going down. Does anyone know where that trail leads to? BTW - the first signed trail leading down on the left to the Ranger Station is the one to take for Aster. Shortly after you will see a 2nd Ranger station sign across the creek on the left - do not take that one - stay to the right for Aster.

hiking
10 months ago

We did everything except Northover Ridge, which I wished we had started earlier so we could do the whole loop, none the less it was a beautiful day and the views were amazing. Tons of people running the trail, and no wildlife that we could see. Super easy to follow trail, a bit of leg work to get across the boulder field but worth every ankle roll ;). We did 30km up 982m and took 8 hours total moving time as some parts were slower than others. Still a great day!

hiking
rocky
10 months ago

Hiked upto Aster lake to stay the night at the backcountry campsite. This hike is definitely challenging going up. there is a steep incline on scree for a large portion of the hike. The backpack didn't make things any easier but even without a backpack its a good workout. You get some great views of fossil falls, hidden and upper Kananaskis Lake. the pics dont due fossil falls justice it is a beautiful waterfall. The campsite is great right by the stream, I just wish you were aloud fires. Hiking beyond the campsite and toward Northover Ridge is great scenery. Great hike would highly recommend

hiking
rocky
scramble
10 months ago

Great hike with an amazing views. Lake is beautiful and sooo calm. The trail is moderate. The way to the hidden lake is super smooth after that when you are getting to aster lake it’s harder and you are getting bigger elevation. There is scramble and some parts are steep. Creeks and beautiful waterfalls all the way.

hiking
10 months ago

LOST PHONE / Grizzly & cub frequenting area Completed the Aster Lake trail on long weekend Aug 5 as last leg of Northover ridge loop and also completed the trail to aster lake as an in-and-out on Aug 10. Beautiful hike with lots of scenery along the way but not an easy trail, especially with a heavy pack, some tough loose rocky terrain up from hidden lake to aster lake. Dropped my phone Aug 5 near the tarns in the BC side of Northover ridge trail (near mount Northover). Due to grizzly and cub swimming in the tarns I was unable to search for it and retrieve it. If you find my iPhone in a light purple case, please contact me or take off airplane mode for the “lost phone” message and contact ph# I have sent to the phone. - returned to the trail August 10 to search for phone. Did not locate. Same grizzly and her cub spotted at the north end of Hidden Lake along the aster lake/hidden lake trail just off of the Kananaskis Lake circuit. The bear sitings have been reported.

hiking
10 months ago

This is an epic hike, but not for the inexperienced. The trail through the woods around Hidden Lake has been improved a lot. The scree path up from Hidden Lake, has deteriorated a lot since last summer. We’ve had a wet summer that has disrupted the trail a lot. Take care, pay attention and bring poles. The scramble up the head wall is fun, but pay attention...

hiking
muddy
off trail
11 months ago

Call the crib, same number same hood, it's all good! Did this hike in the rain over July 2019 weekend. Nothing overly technical, and a lot of good views! The walk along the Lake is okay. The falls are gorgeous, lots of water running off the mountain sides. Don't let them hold you down reach for the stars.

hiking
11 months ago

Went on july 14th. Parked at the upper lake lot. Beautiful and easy walk around the lake until you meet the aster lake trail. The map you can download from the app had me walk past the turn off and there was no sign at all marking the trailhead. Short narrow hike to hidden lake which was quite a bit bigger than i thought it would be. You can walk along the lakeshore to the left or follow the path in the forest (as we did) near to the rocky shoreline. This map has you take the lake path and up another path to aster lake than what we took although they do end up at the same place. The forest trail to aster lake up to the tree line wasnt too bad. A little steep but im a moderate hiker and made it! Once out of the tree line we went off to fossil falls and didnt go up the scree path to aster lake, but we got pretty close! Cant wait to go back! We tried to get over to fossil falls and made it pretty close but couldnt find a good path over the rock scree so we turned back after having lunch with an amazing view. Will return one day to make it to the lake and right up to the falls. Long long day but you can do it!!!

hiking
Fri Jul 13 2018

Great hike / scramble. One lake followed by another. Best to camp at Aster Lake & do over 2 days, or use the camp site as a jumping off point for one of the surrounding peaks. Lots of ice, snow & scree, so can be challenging.

hiking
1 month ago

Showing results 1 - 18 of 26