Aster Lake Trail ist ein 13,3 Meilen langer Wanderweg, der in der Nähe von Kananaskis Improvement, Alberta, Kanada, liegt und über einen See verfügt. Der Wanderweg bietet verschiedene Aktivitätsmöglichkeiten und wird am besten von März bis November genutzt. Hunde können diesen Weg auch benutzen, müssen aber an der Leine gehalten werden.

Entfernung: 21.4 km Höhenunterschied: 1,248 m Routentyp: Hin & zurück

angeleinte Hunde

Rucksacktour

Camping

Wandern

Naturausflüge

Vogelbeobachtung

Wald

See

Aussicht

Aster Lake ist ein hochalpiner See in einem abgelegenen Teil des Kananaskis Country im Peter Lougheed Provincial Park. Hidden Lake ist ungewöhnlich, da es keinen Oberflächenabfluss gibt und stattdessen durch einen unterirdischen Spalt fließt, der sich an den Quellen am Ufer des Upper Kananaskis Lake entleert. Der Wald um den Hidden Lake ist extrem dicht mit dichtem Unterholz.

schneeschuhwandern
schnee
scrambling
steinig
6 days ago

Als 16-Jähriger war es eine großartige Reise für den erfahrenen Rucksacktouristen. Ich brachte zwei meiner Freunde mit, die auch im Backcountry-Reisen erfahren sind. Zu dieser Jahreszeit erwarten Sie windbelastete Triebe und langsames Reisen. Wir haben es nie bis zum Campingplatz geschafft, aber wir sind an fossilen Stürzen vorbeigekommen. Alles in allem eine wirklich tolle Reise und wahnsinnig herausfordernd.

wandern
scrambling
steinig
1 month ago

Dies als eine Nacht mit meinem Mann gepackt. Die Routenfindung war für uns kein Problem. Die Abzweigung zum Hidden Lake ist gekennzeichnet durch eine Markierung und einen leicht zu befolgenden schmalen Pfad - einige hundert Meter früher als auf All Trails. Der schwierigste Teil ist ein steiler Aufstieg auf einen Geröllhang. Die Strecke ist leicht zu befahren, aber aufgrund des Gefälles mit einem schweren Rucksack eine Herausforderung. Unmittelbar nach der Überquerung des Flusses gibt es oben auf dem Geröll ein kurzes Kriechen, das mit einem Rudel und kurzen Armen schwierig ist. Links gibt es eine alternative Route, wenn Sie dies vermeiden möchten. Bei allen Trails müssen Sie auch den Hauptweg in Richtung Ranger Station verlassen. Wisse, dass diese Umleitung unnötig ist und der abgenutzte Weg eigentlich die bessere Annäherung ist, aber jeder Weg bringt dich zum Aster See. Bärenspinde sind auf dem Campingplatz, aber sie schließen nicht gut ab. Auch gibt es keine Tabellen. Die Toilette war wirklich toll!

wandern
abseits des Weges
schlammig
scrambling
steinig
überwachsen
1 month ago

Weg, um leicht verloren zu gehen, ist der Weg überhaupt nicht gut markiert. So viele Trails gehen unterschiedliche Wege. Beginnt sehr einfach rund um den See. Dann ist es fast ein Felsklettern, um auf den Gipfel des Berges zu gelangen. Die Felswand war glatt und gefährlich, da eine Seite eine Klippe ist. Überrascht wurden wir nicht gewarnt, festgenagelte Schuhe und Kletterausrüstung mitzubringen. Schöne Aussichten, aber definitiv nichts für schwache Nerven. Die Spur auf allen Spuren war aus. Wo es uns befahl zu gehen, war eigentlich nicht die Spur, so dass wir durcheinander gerieten. Gute Herausforderung, aber keine empfehlenswerte Wanderung.

wandern
2 months ago

Gestern Aster gewandert. FRAGE: Wenn Sie zum ersten Schild der Ranger Station kommen, gibt es einen sehr abgenutzten Pfad auf der rechten Seite, der nach unten führt. Weiß jemand, wohin dieser Weg führt? Übrigens - der erste ausgeschilderte Weg, der nach links zur Ranger Station führt, führt nach Aster. Kurz danach sehen Sie auf der linken Seite ein Schild der 2. Ranger-Station. Nehmen Sie dieses Schild nicht und bleiben Sie rechts in Richtung Aster.

wandern
steinig
2 months ago

Auf den Aster See gewandert, um auf dem Campingplatz im Hinterland zu übernachten. Diese Wanderung ist definitiv eine Herausforderung. Auf der Geröllhalde gibt es für einen großen Teil der Wanderung eine steile Steigung. Der Rucksack hat es nicht einfacher gemacht, aber auch ohne Rucksack ist es ein gutes Training. Sie haben eine großartige Aussicht auf die fossilen Wasserfälle, den versteckten und den oberen Kananaskis-See. Die Bilder sind nicht von Fossilien verschmutzt. Es ist ein wunderschöner Wasserfall. Der Campingplatz ist großartig, direkt am Bach. Ich wünschte nur, Sie hätten ein lautes Feuer. Das Wandern hinter dem Campingplatz und in Richtung Northover Ridge ist eine großartige Kulisse. Tolle Wanderung kann ich nur empfehlen

wandern
scrambling
steinig
2 months ago

Tolle Wanderung mit toller Aussicht. Der See ist wunderschön und sooo ruhig. Der Weg ist moderat. Der Weg zum versteckten See ist danach super glatt, wenn man zum Astersee kommt, ist es schwieriger und man bekommt eine größere Höhe. Es gibt Rätsel und einige Teile sind steil. Bäche und wunderschöne Wasserfälle.

wandern
3 months ago

VERLORENES TELEFON / Grizzly & Cub Frequing Area Erledigte den Aster Lake Trail am langen Wochenende am 5. August als letzten Abschnitt der Northover Ridge Loop und schloss den Trail zum Aster Lake als In-and-Out am 10. August ab. Wunderschöne Wanderung mit viel Landschaft Auf dem Weg, aber kein leichter Weg, besonders mit schwerem Gepäck, einige harte lockere felsige Gebiete, die vom versteckten See zum Aster See führen. Ich habe mein Handy am 5. August in der Nähe der Tarns auf der BC-Seite des Northover Ridge Trail (in der Nähe des Mount Northover) abgelegt. Aufgrund von Grizzly und Jungtieren, die in den Tarn schwammen, konnte ich nicht danach suchen und es abrufen. Wenn Sie mein iPhone in einem hellvioletten Gehäuse finden, kontaktieren Sie mich bitte oder schalten Sie den Flugzeugmodus aus, um die Nachricht "Telefon verloren" zu erhalten und die Telefonnummer zu kontaktieren, die ich an das Telefon gesendet habe. - kehrte am 10. August auf die Spur zurück, um nach Telefon zu suchen. Nicht gefunden. Dieselbe Grizzly und ihr Jungtier wurden am nördlichen Ende des Hidden Lake entlang des Aster Lake / Hidden Lake-Pfades direkt an der Kananaskis Lake-Rennstrecke gesichtet. Die Bärensitzungen wurden gemeldet.

wandern
3 months ago

Dies ist eine epische Wanderung, aber nichts für Unerfahrene. Der Weg durch die Wälder um den Hidden Lake wurde stark verbessert. Der Geröllweg vom Versteckten See hat sich seit dem letzten Sommer stark verschlechtert. Wir hatten einen nassen Sommer, der den Trail sehr gestört hat. Pass auf dich auf, pass auf und bring Stangen mit. Das Klettern an der Kopfwand macht Spaß, aber aufgepasst ...

wandern
abseits des Weges
schlammig
3 months ago

Nennen Sie die Krippe, die gleiche Nummer, die gleiche Haube, es ist alles gut! Habe diese Wanderung im Regen über Juli 2019 gemacht. Nichts übermäßig technisches und viele gute Ansichten! Der Spaziergang entlang des Sees ist in Ordnung. Die Wasserfälle sind wunderschön und es fließt viel Wasser von den Berghängen. Lass dich nicht von ihnen festhalten und greife nach den Sternen.

wandern
3 months ago

Ging am 14. Juli. Am oberen Seegrundstück geparkt. Schön und einfach um den See spazieren, bis Sie auf den Aster-See-Trail stoßen. Die Karte, die Sie von der App herunterladen können, ließ mich an der Abzweigung vorbeigehen, und es gab überhaupt kein Schild, das den Ausgangspunkt markierte. Kurze schmale Wanderung zum versteckten See, der ziemlich viel größer war, als ich gedacht hatte. Sie können links am Seeufer entlang gehen oder dem Waldweg (wie wir) in der Nähe der felsigen Küste folgen. Auf dieser Karte nehmen Sie den Seeweg und steigen auf einen anderen Weg als den, den wir genommen haben, obwohl sie am selben Ort enden. Der Waldweg zum Astersee bis zur Baumgrenze war nicht schlecht. Ein wenig steil, aber ich bin ein moderater Wanderer und habe es geschafft! Sobald wir die Baumgrenze verlassen hatten, fuhren wir zu fossilen Wasserfällen und gingen nicht den Geröllpfad zum Aster See hinauf, aber wir kamen uns ziemlich nahe! Kann es kaum erwarten, wieder dorthin zu fahren! Wir versuchten, zu den fossilen Wasserfällen zu gelangen und machten es ziemlich nah, fanden aber keinen guten Weg über das Geröll, so dass wir nach dem Mittagessen mit einer atemberaubenden Aussicht umkehrten. Wir werden eines Tages zurückkehren, um es zum See und bis zu den Wasserfällen zu schaffen. Langer langer Tag, aber du kannst es schaffen !!!

wandern
Fri Jul 13 2018

Tolle Wanderung / Klettern. Ein See folgte einem anderen. Lagern Sie am besten in Aster Lake und verbringen Sie über 2 Tage oder nutzen Sie den Campingplatz als Ausgangspunkt für einen der umliegenden Gipfel. Viel Eis, Schnee & Geröll, kann also herausfordernd sein.

wandern
2 months ago

wandern
2 months ago

wandern
2 months ago

wandern
3 months ago

wandern
3 months ago

wandern
3 months ago

aufgezeichnet Aster Lake Trail

wandern
4 months ago

Empfohlene Routen

Help keep our trails and parks open during COVID-19 by committing to social distancing. Some trails or park services may be closed this weekend so check with local authorities before heading out.
Learn more

Aster Lake Trail is a 13.3 mile moderately trafficked out and back trail located near Kananaskis Improvement, Alberta, Canada that features a lake and is rated as difficult. The trail offers a number of activity options and is best used from March until November. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

Distance: 13.3 miles Elevation Gain: 4,094 feet Route Type: Out & Back

dogs on leash

backpacking

camping

hiking

nature trips

bird watching

forest

lake

views

Aster Lake is a high alpine lake located in a remote section of Kananaskis Country located in Peter Lougheed Provincial Park. Hidden Lake is unusual in that it doesn't have a surface outflow and instead drains through an underground fissure that empties at the springs on the shores of Upper Kananaskis Lake. The forest around Hidden Lake is extremely dense with thick underbrush.

hiking
snow
3 days ago

Great trail until reaching Aster Creek after climbing through the scree slope. After this, there was still alot of snow and I turned back and returned to my camp at the Point on Upper Kananaskis Lake. Trail around Hidden Lake is lush forest and taking the marked route there are only a few fallen trees over the trail and were easily navigable.

5 days ago

Did the trail to Aster Lake yesterday, June 26. There is still so much snow on the way up to Aster Lake and much of the trail is hidden under snow. The snow is mostly packed and I was able to walk on top. I brought crampons which helped but could not avoid my boots getting soaked. The hike took much longer due to re-routing and finding the trail hidden under all the snow plus rain throughout half of the trek. I was the only one who camped at Aster Lake that night. I originally planned to do the loop and do the Northover ridge the 2nd day, however, it was just rainy and heavy clouds this morning at Aster lake for me to continue up the ridge. Opted to go back down the same way I came up. Will definitely have to go back at another time when the trail and weather conditions are much more favorable. I'm sure the views up there are even more amazing.

hiking
7 days ago

Amazing views and varied terrain on this hike! We stopped about a km short of the lake, due to sketchy snow over a torrent of meltwater coming down the mountain. We would have had to cross the snow over fast-moving water and could not be sure it could be done safely with the conditions. I wouldn’t hesitate to come back in a couple weeks to complete the trail to the lake.

hiking
blowdown
scramble
snow
13 days ago

I stop at one km short to the lake, due to not having snowshoes I used micro spike near the end

hiking
blowdown
over grown
21 days ago

Tried to get up to Fossil Falls. The trail around Hidden Lake has a lot of blown down trees. Very hard to navigate the trail. Was unable to make it due to blown down trees.

snowshoeing
rocky
scramble
snow
7 months ago

As a 16 year old it was an awesome trip for the skilled backpacker I brought two of my friends who are also skilled in backcountry travel. At this time of year expect wind loaded shoots and slow travel. We never made it to the campground but we passed fossil falls. Over all a really great trip and insanely challenging.

hiking
rocky
scramble
9 months ago

Backpacked this as an overnight with my husband. We didn’t find route finding to be an issue. The Hidden lake turnoff is marked by flagging and an easy to follow narrow trail - it’s a few hundred metres earlier than All Trails has it. The hardest part is a steep ascent up a scree slope. The trail is easy to follow but challenging with a heavy pack due to the grade. There is a short scramble at the top of the scree just after the river crossing that is difficult with a pack and if you have short arms. There is an alternate route to the left if you want to avoid that. All trails also has you step off the main trail towards the ranger station. Know that this diversion is unnecessary and the well worn path is actually the better approach but either trail will get you to Aster lake. Bear lockers are at the campground but they don’t lock well. Also there are no tables. The toilet was really great though!

hiking
muddy
off trail
over grown
rocky
scramble
9 months ago

Way to easy to get lost, trail is not marked well at all. So many trails going different ways. Starts off extremely easy around the lake. Then it is almost rock climbing to get to the top of the mountain. The rockface was slippery and dangerous as one side is a cliff. Surprised we were not warned to bring spiked shoes and rock climbing equipment. Beautiful views but definitely not for the faint of heart. The trail on all trails was off. Where it told us to go was not actually the trail so we got mixed up. Good challenge but not a recommended hike.

hiking
10 months ago

Hiked Aster yesterday. QUESTION: When you get to the first sign for the Ranger Station there is a very well worn trail on the right going down. Does anyone know where that trail leads to? BTW - the first signed trail leading down on the left to the Ranger Station is the one to take for Aster. Shortly after you will see a 2nd Ranger station sign across the creek on the left - do not take that one - stay to the right for Aster.

hiking
10 months ago

We did everything except Northover Ridge, which I wished we had started earlier so we could do the whole loop, none the less it was a beautiful day and the views were amazing. Tons of people running the trail, and no wildlife that we could see. Super easy to follow trail, a bit of leg work to get across the boulder field but worth every ankle roll ;). We did 30km up 982m and took 8 hours total moving time as some parts were slower than others. Still a great day!

hiking
rocky
10 months ago

Hiked upto Aster lake to stay the night at the backcountry campsite. This hike is definitely challenging going up. there is a steep incline on scree for a large portion of the hike. The backpack didn't make things any easier but even without a backpack its a good workout. You get some great views of fossil falls, hidden and upper Kananaskis Lake. the pics dont due fossil falls justice it is a beautiful waterfall. The campsite is great right by the stream, I just wish you were aloud fires. Hiking beyond the campsite and toward Northover Ridge is great scenery. Great hike would highly recommend

hiking
rocky
scramble
10 months ago

Great hike with an amazing views. Lake is beautiful and sooo calm. The trail is moderate. The way to the hidden lake is super smooth after that when you are getting to aster lake it’s harder and you are getting bigger elevation. There is scramble and some parts are steep. Creeks and beautiful waterfalls all the way.

hiking
10 months ago

LOST PHONE / Grizzly & cub frequenting area Completed the Aster Lake trail on long weekend Aug 5 as last leg of Northover ridge loop and also completed the trail to aster lake as an in-and-out on Aug 10. Beautiful hike with lots of scenery along the way but not an easy trail, especially with a heavy pack, some tough loose rocky terrain up from hidden lake to aster lake. Dropped my phone Aug 5 near the tarns in the BC side of Northover ridge trail (near mount Northover). Due to grizzly and cub swimming in the tarns I was unable to search for it and retrieve it. If you find my iPhone in a light purple case, please contact me or take off airplane mode for the “lost phone” message and contact ph# I have sent to the phone. - returned to the trail August 10 to search for phone. Did not locate. Same grizzly and her cub spotted at the north end of Hidden Lake along the aster lake/hidden lake trail just off of the Kananaskis Lake circuit. The bear sitings have been reported.

hiking
10 months ago

This is an epic hike, but not for the inexperienced. The trail through the woods around Hidden Lake has been improved a lot. The scree path up from Hidden Lake, has deteriorated a lot since last summer. We’ve had a wet summer that has disrupted the trail a lot. Take care, pay attention and bring poles. The scramble up the head wall is fun, but pay attention...

hiking
muddy
off trail
11 months ago

Call the crib, same number same hood, it's all good! Did this hike in the rain over July 2019 weekend. Nothing overly technical, and a lot of good views! The walk along the Lake is okay. The falls are gorgeous, lots of water running off the mountain sides. Don't let them hold you down reach for the stars.

hiking
11 months ago

Went on july 14th. Parked at the upper lake lot. Beautiful and easy walk around the lake until you meet the aster lake trail. The map you can download from the app had me walk past the turn off and there was no sign at all marking the trailhead. Short narrow hike to hidden lake which was quite a bit bigger than i thought it would be. You can walk along the lakeshore to the left or follow the path in the forest (as we did) near to the rocky shoreline. This map has you take the lake path and up another path to aster lake than what we took although they do end up at the same place. The forest trail to aster lake up to the tree line wasnt too bad. A little steep but im a moderate hiker and made it! Once out of the tree line we went off to fossil falls and didnt go up the scree path to aster lake, but we got pretty close! Cant wait to go back! We tried to get over to fossil falls and made it pretty close but couldnt find a good path over the rock scree so we turned back after having lunch with an amazing view. Will return one day to make it to the lake and right up to the falls. Long long day but you can do it!!!

hiking
Fri Jul 13 2018

Great hike / scramble. One lake followed by another. Best to camp at Aster Lake & do over 2 days, or use the camp site as a jumping off point for one of the surrounding peaks. Lots of ice, snow & scree, so can be challenging.

hiking
1 month ago

Showing results 1 - 18 of 26