Explore the most popular Cities in Free State with hand-curated trail maps and driving directions as well as detailed reviews and photos from hikers, campers and nature lovers like you.

hiking
Sun Feb 03 2019

This is a lovely morning outdoor hike for the whole family. +\- 4000 steps, with beautiful open and secluded spaces. The echoing was fun for the kids.

hiking
Sun Aug 12 2018

Amazing amazing hike - as good as it gets! The waterfall is rain based. The road goes all the way to the car park at the trailhead. Caution: It is a VERY rugged road! The elevation of the mountain creates its own weather system - be prepared for sudden rains and "white-outs" even when the weather prediction is for a clear sky. The lodge nearby (witsieshoek) offers lifts to the car park for R100. well worth it...just call them to confirm the still offer the service.

hiking
Tue Jul 17 2018

Incredible trail along the edge of the Drakensberg escarpment. One of the best hikes around. The official trail consists of eight unmarked checkpoints but there is so much beautiful scenery that you won't go wrong by going off course. The views from the edge to the Underberg 4,000 feet below are unforgettable. Typically hiked SOBO from the Sentinel Car Park to Bushman's Nek. Fees are required for Royal Natal National Park and Giant's Castle. All hikers should sign the Mountain Rescue Register at their point of entry. Amphitheatre Backpackers is a great stay either before or after your hike.

hiking
Tue Jun 26 2018

Absolutely stunning. We went up and down the gully route, which is quite a scramble, but is safe and well marked. The trail is very well maintained, including being paved for the first two miles.

Wed Feb 21 2018

awesome hike!

Sat Feb 03 2018

Excellent

Sat Feb 03 2018

Breath taking.

Mon Jan 14 2019

hiking
Mon Dec 24 2018

hiking
Tue Jun 19 2018

backpacking
Sat May 05 2018

Mon May 22 2017

hiking
Mon May 08 2017

Load More