Explore the most popular Cities in Edinburgh with hand-curated trail maps and driving directions as well as detailed reviews and photos from hikers, campers and nature lovers like you.

hiking
rocky
Tue Feb 05 2019

hiking
blowdown
muddy
Sat Jan 26 2019

hiking
Sat Jan 19 2019

Great for running! Steeply up and then looong way down the hill. Sweet and short.

Tue Nov 20 2018

fantastic hill climb with spectacular views, especially on a cloudless sunny day

Fri Nov 16 2018

Not a lake! A reservoir!!

hiking
Wed Nov 07 2018

Absolutely perfect. A lot of people at the top. A little challenging for the beginner in some spots.

hiking
Wed Oct 17 2018

30 min by car from Edinburgh center. Wonderful trail! Three mountains about 500 m high, step climp. On the last kilometers the trail is damaged, but u get around it.

hiking
Sat Oct 13 2018

Best hike ever, windy at the top, relatively easy, beautiful views on each side

hiking
Wed Oct 10 2018

Great views!

hiking
Thu Sep 27 2018

Great views, even if it was a little rainy.

hiking
Sun Sep 23 2018

A well trafficked trail with some elevation but still not terribly difficult on a nice day. Even on the calmest day it’s very windy at the top.

hiking
Sun Sep 23 2018

Excellent short hike! A Grand view on a nice day. Lots of well behaved dogs. A must do when in Edinburgh.

hiking
Wed Sep 19 2018

This was an awesome respite from the Royal Mile, though sometimes as crowded.

Tue Sep 18 2018

Awesome!!!! Can’t beat the views. Good climb.

walking
Fri Sep 14 2018

Beautiful walk down Edinburgh’s Royal Mile! Amazing architecture all the way!

Wed Sep 12 2018

Great view! Challenging when it rains. Enjoyed it a lot! Excellent views of the city!

Thu Sep 06 2018

great view and well worth the climb. easy to do in less than 2 hours even with stopping for a short rest along the way.

hiking
Tue Sep 04 2018

Amazing hike! I'm not an experienced, nor frequent, hiker so this was quite intense. If you do take this on I would recommend a good pair of hiking shoes and a rain jacket! The wind is also pretty crazy at the top, but the views of the city are completely worth it.

running
Sun Sep 02 2018

Great as part of a longer walk around the capital. I walked up and ran down. Quite foggy at the top!

hiking
Fri Aug 24 2018

Great hike but depending on your level, it can be quite strenuous. Go to the right when the trail splits at the beginning for level gradually inclining trail but be prepared for steps and a bit of scrambling to make it to the top of Arthur’s Seat. High winds, too, when we went (about 30-40 kph). There are tons of other breakaway trails for alternate views - all are great.

hiking
Sun Aug 19 2018

Moderate level with wonderful views at the top!

hiking
Sat Aug 11 2018

Hiked this as a “spur of the moment” thing when we visited the Scotland monument. Beautiful little walk.

walking
Fri Aug 10 2018

hiking
Fri Aug 10 2018

Nice wee walk

walking
Fri Aug 10 2018

Amazing views! Took my 11 year old daughter up and we both took 1000 photos of Edinburgh! :) Do not skip this hike on a visit to Edinburgh! Second time here and stuck to the castle and art galleries and shopping last time. This hike honestly really made Edinburgh sing to me on a level waaay beyond the castle and sites. Do it!

hiking
Sat Aug 04 2018

Suggested by a local to climb clockwise vs the steps. The advise was great. More enjoyable to climb rocks vs. the hundreds of steps.

hiking
Sun Jul 29 2018

Nice easy walk. Took me half an hour to get to the top, not a major incline. Nice views but very crowded at the top.

Wed Jul 18 2018

Absolutely worth the climb. The views are great at every point, but when you get to the top and get the 360 degree perspective, it’s truly beautiful. Wonderful to have a wilderness experience so close to the city streets of Edinburgh.

walking
Wed Jun 20 2018

I asked our hotel clerk - tell me about walking here in Scotland. He looked puzzled. I clarified - you drive on the left... “Oh! he says, yeah, there are no rules. It’s a madhouse. Everyone for themselves.” If you don’t mind the rugby scrum of narrow pavement (sidewalks) with thousands of tourons (tourists + morons) then maybe you’ll enjoy the Royal Mile. The old architecture IS interesting, just too many people for my taste.

hiking
Wed Jun 20 2018

Great views and a nice way to escape some of the hordes of tourists in Edinburgh (not all of them tho). Clockwise gets you to the top faster (along a sloping path), but you have to come down the “infinite steps,” which were a bit slick. Obviously counter-clockwise means you climb the uneven, stone steps that, seriously, seemed to last forever!

Showing results 1 - 30 of 716