Explore the most popular trails in The Washington Mall: Smithsonian Grounds Park with hand-curated trail maps and driving directions as well as detailed reviews and photos from hikers, campers and nature lovers like you.

Icons of the Nation's Capital Each year, millions of people visit the National Mall and Memorial Parks to recreate, to commemorate presidential legacies, to honor our nation's veterans, to make their voices heard, and to celebrate our nation's commitment to freedom and equality.

City trails do not get any better than this! I went off route several times just to see more of the amazing memorials that were not along the prescribed path. I started trail running but as usual, I stopped in many places to show respect for the sites, to sit and reflect, and to take in all the beauty of this whole area. Not only would I do this trail again, but I run this trail every single time I can when I’m in the DC area. However, I do like the “National Mall” trail more than this one… It’s very similar but goes around to more of the sites that I love.

hiking
Friday, February 23, 2018

hiking

hiking
Sunday, January 07, 2018

Great walk thru the mall.

walking
Thursday, July 13, 2017

Great place to learn a lot of history. Very interesting.

walking
Sunday, January 29, 2017

alot of protestors out here today

walking
Saturday, August 20, 2016

So much to see!! Very moving!

Sunday, August 14, 2016

All good

running
Friday, August 05, 2016

I went to college in DC (and lived in Northern Virginia for years) and have been to all of the important historical and educational sites, most many times, and it never gets old. One of my favorite activities while in school was to go for early morning jogs by the monuments and memorials on and around the National Mall...sometimes stretching it all the way to the Capitol and back. One time I even jogged by Bill Clinton (and his Secret Service agents) early in his administration (when they still let him run outside the White House complex)!

walking
Sunday, July 24, 2016

Stopped by the Capitol on our way back from Maine, went to Air & Space, Smithsonian, National Archives, and all along the mall, stopped by the Iwo Jima memorial, the Vietnam Memorial, the Capitol, the Supreme Court - all on a Sunday, great time to visit and take in America's Heritage. All need to see this!

hiking
2 months ago

hiking
Tuesday, September 11, 2018

Monday, October 23, 2017

Saturday, October 21, 2017

running
Saturday, June 24, 2017

Saturday, June 03, 2017

walking
Sunday, April 23, 2017

Thursday, September 22, 2016