This hidden gem, tucked away in the quiet confines of Thetford Hill State Forest includes a small campground and a world-class cross-country running trail. Thetford Hill State Park is one of many Vermont State Parks constructed in the 1930s by the Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC), a public works program aimed at putting young people to work during the Great-Depression. Before it was a State Park, like much of Vermont, this area was largely deforested for farmland. Sunset Hill, as it was then known, was popular with hikers, picnickers and nature enthusiasts for its commanding views of the surrounding area. In 1931, Dwight Goddard donated the 262-acres comprising Thetford Hill State Forest to the State of Vermont. He gave the property to the State with the stipulation that it remain a State Forest in perpetuity. The CCC established a camp in the forest in 1935. Between 1935 and 1937, its work included the park road to the top of the hill where workers built a log picnic shelter, a toilet building, 14 stone fireplaces and tables in the original picnic area. Thetford Hill State Park opened to the public in 1936. All that is left of these original structures is the remains of some fireplaces which are now hidden in the woods. The campground, not originally part of the park, was built in 1964. The Woods Hill Trail, a 5-kilometer multi-use trail, winds through the park property. It was designed for neighboring Thetford Academy, and was developed in 1991 almost entirely through the work of volunteers. Designed to have minimal environmental impact, it is considered to be one of the finest running trails in New England. Since its inception, the trail has hosted multiple Vermont and New England running championships. In the winter the trail is very popular for cross-country skiing and snowshoeing.