Explore the most popular trails in Chester Town Forest with hand-curated trail maps and driving directions as well as detailed reviews and photos from hikers, campers and nature lovers like you.

Wandern
Schnee
1 month ago

Schöne Schleife mit schönen Bäumen, Blick auf den Berg. Ascutney und ein plätschernder Bach oder zwei. Ich habe es mehr als 3 Meilen getaktet.

Ein toller Weg mitten in Chester. Wir suchten etwas mit einer kleinen Höhe und einer leichten Herausforderung und fanden es gleich um die Ecke. Wir brauchten ungefähr eineinhalb Stunden durch verschiedenes Gelände, einschließlich Hemlockwald, Felsvorsprünge usw. Der Bummel entlang des Baches und seine gefrorenen Fälle machten eine angenehme Winterwanderung möglich, aber vergessen Sie nicht Ihre Stöcke Durchqueren Sie das manchmal eisige, oft verschneite Gelände.

Schöner Weg! Am Anfang werden Bäume mit der Art gekennzeichnet, was Spaß macht. Der Weg folgt an verschiedenen Stellen einem Fluss und einer Felswand. Ich habe nicht viel Steigung erwartet, da es als Schleife ohne Sicht beschrieben wird, aber es stirbt definitiv an Teilen, die Sie hochheben. Es gab einige Stellen, an denen der Weg mit verblassenden Baummarkierungen schwer zu finden war, aber ich denke auch, dass es einfacher gewesen wäre, wenn ich zu einer anderen Jahreszeit gefahren wäre - als ich ging, war der Boden mit Laub bedeckt.

5 months ago

Fun Waldweg. Großartig mit Hunden!

Schön, auf der leichten Seite eines moderaten Weges. Mein Mann und ich haben ungefähr 1,5 Stunden gebraucht, weil wir aufgehört haben und jeden Baum in der Baumschleife betrachtet haben! Genossen den Blick auf Mt.Acutney, als wir das gerade ein paar Tage zuvor gewandert waren und uns freuten, es aus einem anderen Blickwinkel zu betrachten! Dies ist eine sehr zurückhaltende Wanderung, die keine Verwirrung erfordert und an keinem Punkt zu steil ist. Die Entfernung ist perfekt für eine schöne Wanderung, die nicht lange dauert. Gut gepflegt und leicht zu folgen.

Einfach hier posten, um die Frage nach dem Standort der Mine zu beantworten. (Immerhin ist es die verlorene Mine lol). Es ist leicht zu übersehen, da es nicht viel mehr als ein Loch ist, das jetzt mit Wasser gefüllt ist. Wenn Sie die Schleife gegen den Uhrzeigersinn ausführen, sind sie vielleicht 0,5 Meilen in die Schleife.

Gut markiert, in 53 Minuten abgeschlossen. Sehr schöne Wanderung.

Toller Trail! Viele verschiedene Pilzsorten. Schöne Gegend Ich konnte die Mine jedoch nicht finden. Weiß jemand, wo es sich auf dem Weg befindet?

Wir haben dies in 90 Minuten mit einem unserer Hunde abgeschlossen. keine phänomenalen Ansichten, aber eine angenehme Wanderung.

Schneeschuhwandern
11 months ago

Dies war ein großartiger Schneeschuhtrail, aber hart im Tiefschnee. Wir können es kaum erwarten, im späten Frühling zurück zu kommen und dort zu wandern.

Sunday, November 05, 2017

Anständiger Weg. Wir waren die einzigen, die die ganze Zeit unterwegs waren.

Sunday, October 08, 2017

Eine schöne Herbstwanderung, gut markierter Weg.

Wandern
Friday, September 29, 2017

Toller Trail könnte etwas Wartung brauchen. Wir waren heute mittags allein auf der gesamten Spur. Schöner Tag!

Wandern
Thursday, August 10, 2017

Schöner Weg durch den Wald, alte Steinmauern, eine alte Mine und Blick auf einen fernen Berg. Gut markiert Moderater Trail, hatte unseren Hund dabei und sie hatte keine Probleme.

Wandern
Sunday, August 06, 2017

Schöner bewaldeter Wald. Hier erwarten Sie Steinmauern, ein kleiner Blick auf den Mt. Ascutney und herrliche Bäume.

Wandern
Thursday, July 20, 2017

Wandern
Tuesday, June 06, 2017

Dies ist ein relativ einfacher Rundwanderweg. Der Weg ist nirgendwo anders, aber es ist eine schöne Wanderung durch den Stadtwald. Entlang des Weges aus den frühen 1900er Jahren befindet sich eine alte, verlassene Talk-Mine.

Wandern
5 months ago

Mehr laden

hiking
20 days ago

A great trail right in Chester. We were looking for something with a little elevation and a slight challenge and we found it right around the corner. It took us about an hour and a half, through a variety of terrain, including hemlock forest, rock outcroppings, etc. The ramble along the stream and its frozen falls made for an enjoyable winter hike, but don't forget your poles to help traverse the sometimes icy, often snow-packed terrain.

hiking
2 months ago

Beautiful trail! Near the beginning, trees are labeled with what kind they are, which is fun. The trail follows a river and a rock wall at different parts. I wasn't expecting much incline since it is described as a loop with no view, but it definitely dies have parts that you hike up. There were a few parts that were hard to find the trail with tree markers fading, but I also think it would have been easier if I went a different time of the year - when I went, the ground was covered with fallen leaves.

3 months ago

Fun forest trail. Great with dogs!

hiking
3 months ago

Nice, on the easy side of moderate trail. Took my husband and me about 1.5 hours to complete because we stopped and looked at each tree on the Tree Loop! Enjoyed the view of Mt.Ascutney as we had just hiked that a few days earlier and were happy to look at it from another angle! This is a very low key hike that does not require any scrambling and is not overly steep at any point and the distance is perfect for a nice hike that does not take long. Well maintained and easy to follow.

Just posting this to answer the question about the mine location. (After all it is the lost mine lol). Its easy to miss as it’s not much more than a hole in the ground filled with water now but it is on the trial. If you do the loop counterclockwise it’s maybe 0.5 miles into the loop.

hiking
4 months ago

Well marked, completed in 53 mins. Very nice hike.

Awesome trail! Many different types of mushrooms. Beautiful area. I was not able to find the Mine though. Does anyone know where it is located on the trail?

We completed this in 90 mins with one of our dogs. no phenomenal views, but a pleasant enough hike.

snowshoeing
9 months ago

This was a great snowshoe trail but tough in deep snow. We can't wait to come back in the late spring and hike it.

Sunday, November 05, 2017

Decent trail. We were the only ones on the trail the whole time.

Sunday, October 08, 2017

A beautiful fall hike, well marked trail.

hiking
Friday, September 29, 2017

Great trail though could use some maintenance. We were alone on the entire trail today, mid-day. Great day!

hiking
Thursday, August 10, 2017

Beautiful trail through the forest, old stone walls, an old mine and a view of a distant mountain. Well marked. Moderate trail, had our dog with us and she had no problems.

hiking
Sunday, August 06, 2017

Beautiful wooded forest. Stonewalls, a small view of Mt Ascutney, and marvelous trees await you here.

hiking
Thursday, July 20, 2017

hiking
Tuesday, June 06, 2017

This is a relatively easy loop trail. There's not much of a view anywhere along the trail but it's a nice hike through the town forest. There is an old abandoned talc mine along the trail from the early 1900's.

hiking
20 days ago

hiking
3 months ago

hiking
3 months ago

hiking
5 months ago

hiking
7 months ago

hiking
8 months ago

hiking
9 months ago

hiking
11 months ago

hiking
Saturday, October 28, 2017

hiking
Saturday, October 28, 2017

hiking
Tuesday, September 26, 2017

hiking
Saturday, September 23, 2017

hiking
Saturday, August 26, 2017

Load More