Trailblazers: this park is a must! Park trails link up to the Willard Munger State Trail at the north edge of the park; perfect for backpackers, bikers (both mountain and tour), hikers, horseback riders, and skiers. Check out the wildflowers in the spring, and the vivid colors in the fall. Walk on the swinging suspension bridge high above the raging St. Louis River. Visit the historic cemetery and the gorge at Thomson Dam.

hiking
1 month ago

great hiking the hills up to the bluff are a bit tough but in late fall you can find so many cool mushrooms!

Thursday, April 21, 2016

camping
Sunday, April 17, 2016

excellent, gorgeous area

off road driving
Tuesday, March 08, 2016

hiking
Sunday, October 18, 2015

Thursday, August 27, 2015

Beautiful rock formations. Spring melt best time to visit.

road biking
Monday, July 20, 2015

Wednesday, July 15, 2015

hiking
Saturday, June 06, 2015

Friday, May 22, 2015

Is there mountain biking

trail running
Friday, July 08, 2011

The river edge trail is a very nice, scenic hike albeit short unless you continue on to the other trails. Near the St. Louis River the trails are worn down to dirt making footing and hiking easy unless it is muddy. The rest of the trails throughout the park are not mowed so tall grass and weeds will hit your legs constantly and get stuck between your toes if using five finger shoes.

hiking
Saturday, June 18, 2011

This was in early spring (March) with the trails still snow covered. Extended views and wildlife traces could be found everywhere. The best time to shoot is early morning and near sunset. The glow in the sky is tremendous. Some areas of the trails had snowpack and ice along the rocks and the river. In most cases it was easy to navagate. Snowshoes were the best in the back country. Great time of year to experience this area as well as Lake superior.