15 days ago

backpacking
2 months ago

Great backpacking destination for dispersed camping. Don't be discouraged the posted route for this trail is only 3.5 miles, we turned it into 21 miles by doing a figure 8 loop from Nordhouse, to Ludington, to Lake Mich Rec Area, and back. I highly recommend this route or one similar if you truly want to experience the many different areas here. Also, if you prefer to put in some actual hiking miles. The inland dune area between nordhouse and ludington was the most strenuous section but my favorite by far. Check out our video here: https://youtu.be/4oMpYsPm7OM

Great trail to go out for a day hike on. highly recommend it

the money

one of the most beautiful places I've ever been

camping
Sunday, June 19, 2016

Sunday, May 15, 2016

Love it out there. Especially since it's dog friendly. Up the ante a bit and walk out from the state park along the beach. Spend the night and enjoy a nice fire on the beach. Can't beat it.

Saturday, April 30, 2016

hiking
Saturday, September 12, 2015

Trail not marked well, did not find loop, only saw two trail post signs.

hiking
Tuesday, August 04, 2015

One of the most beautiful places in Michigan

hiking
Saturday, July 04, 2015

One of the best places for backcountry camping in lower Michigan.

camping
Thursday, January 01, 2015

Great for first time backpackers. The trail wasn't long and was easy. It is not marked though.
Beautiful views- loved being able to camp right on the beach.

hiking
Wednesday, August 27, 2014

camping
Sunday, July 27, 2014

I love this trail. Me and my friends did some overnight camping near the beach a few years in a row. So nice to sleep with the sound of wind and waves all around you. Lake Michigan is beautiful.

camping
Sunday, April 27, 2014

One of the best places I know for easy/moderate hiking & backpacking. Great for scenery and solitude.