Solid 3.5 stars.
We hiked about 4 - 4.5 miles total and it's not all represented in our recording as the AllTrails tracking got turned off. We didn't follow the AllTrails recommended route fully b/c we went up the Hogs Back section (very difficult rating) and took a few extra turns here and there then made our way back. Great views in places (especially at the top of the Hogs Back) and easy dirt trail walking.
Reason for rating: this *is* very much a mountain biking park. Overend Mountain Park (named after famous Durango-based MTBer Ned Overend) is the name of the park and there is no actual "Overend Trail". There are a series of interconnected biking trails with a variety of names. Still easy to follow with the AllTrails app. You will come across mtbers so be aware, it's no big deal, everyone is courteous. We always gave them right of way. The hike is worth it nonetheless, and you can easily amend this hike to be longer or shorter b/c all the trails show up in the AllTrails map/tracking. Hogs Back is recommend if you dare, its somewhat treacherous and no bikes go on that part of the park. Have fun!

horseback riding
12 days ago

I hiked part of this trail to get to Perins peak, but I think I took the hard way up. The trail system lead me most of the way. ****

I wasn't thrilled with the views, but in all fairness, I didn't do the whole loop, and I think it's more meant for mountain biking than hiking.

Wednesday, June 01, 2016

hiking
Saturday, May 21, 2016

hiking
Thursday, May 12, 2016

walking
Monday, May 09, 2016

Tuesday, March 22, 2016

trail running
Friday, March 18, 2016

Sunday, March 13, 2016

hiking
Saturday, March 12, 2016

Best hike in Durango! Challenging enough to keep it interesting and the best views in town for sure! Be careful doing this hike in the heat of the summer, it can get very hot so bring more water than you think you will need.

hiking
Friday, November 06, 2015

Wednesday, November 04, 2015

hiking
Tuesday, September 08, 2015

hiking
Monday, September 07, 2015

hiking
Wednesday, July 15, 2015