So sad. After 10 years of hiking this wonderful beautiful peaceful full-of-waterholes trail...the Thomas fire of December 2017 followed by flooding on the barren land wiped away any trace of the former well worn trails.
Once you get past the orchards there is no trail.
We saw 6-7 foot high boulders with dried mud on top.There were 8-10 foot wide paths of cracked dried mud where it had forcefully flowed down the hills carrying along whole trees with roots as well as boulders.
We only found two little 1 1/2 deep waterholes about 2 feet long.
No longer a pleasurable hike or place to spend the day sunning and swimming. The rushing rainwater left a path of destruction.

The road is closed 5/19/18

Amazing hike, the waterfall is beautiful! Wear proper shoes for this though

Wonderful hike. We set out quite late so didn't make it to the big waterfall. Hiking back in the twilight we heard a large deep growl in the thick vegetation at the side of the trial. I can only think it was a Mountain Lion. Pretty scary at the time but we make it back! Definitely going back in the Spring as I think it will be particularly beautiful then

This trail technically goes through private land the rest of the way about a mile or so in when you run into heron ranch. I'm not sure if it's ok to walk through there but we didn't since it said no trespassing. Did anyone else see the sign? We were really looking forward to getting to the waterfall too :(

Tuesday, May 23, 2017

keep going up the trail for a couple of miles to see the 60 ft double waterfall

Friday, April 14, 2017

Nice lots of water crossing. Keep an eye out for snakes came accross a couple on the way out.

Monday, December 19, 2016

Good and leads to a little river if you keep going.

Sunday, August 28, 2016

it's a good easy hike, dog friendly, lower camp is a nice spot. water is low hope for more rain the coming year..

backpacking
Tuesday, June 14, 2016

This is a very popular trip with my Boy Scouts. The trail is in good shape, and there is usually plenty of water in the creek. On this particular outing the lower camps were occupied. We pushed on to the Middle Camp which is a few miles in. Watch for Poison Oak (abundant) and rattlesnakes (seen a couple). This is a great trail for any easy backpacking trip any time of year.

hiking
Monday, May 25, 2015

Trail was quick and easy to follow. Plenty of water in the creek - we used large gravity filters for a larger group. Lots of poison oak, saw a few snakes, wild flowers were blooming and the camps were spacious.

Check fire restrictions and practice good LNT, guys. Have fun!

hiking
Thursday, February 26, 2015

This is a tiny section of the Upper North Fork Matilija Trail and is the most boring section. It just gets to the first (rather overused) camp of four. Turn the corner, it just gets better.

hiking
6 months ago

hiking
Monday, May 29, 2017

on Matilija Creek Trail [CLOSED]

hiking
Sunday, April 30, 2017

Monday, April 24, 2017

hiking
Sunday, April 23, 2017

hiking
Saturday, April 15, 2017

Saturday, March 11, 2017

Wednesday, January 11, 2017

hiking
Sunday, June 19, 2016

hiking
Sunday, April 17, 2016

hiking
Friday, April 01, 2016

Sunday, November 29, 2015

Load More