Entdecken Sie die beliebtesten Wanderwege in Ashley Forest mit hand kuratierten Wanderkarten und Wegbeschreibungen sowie ausführlichen Bewertungen und Fotos von Wanderern, Campern und Naturliebhabern wie Ihnen.

Achten Sie hier auf die GPS-Anweisungen. Ich bin über Amberley dorthin gekommen und bin mir nicht sicher, ob der andere Weg funktioniert. Vom Lake Janet Picknick-Bereich aus können Sie auch zum Aussichtspunkt und zum Gipfel laufen. Dies ist eine angenehme Wanderung in etwa 2 Stunden.

Hab das umgekehrt gemacht. Ich kann sehen, dass wir den härteren Weg gegangen sind, einen ziemlich steilen Anstieg am hinteren Ende des Berges. Fantastische Aussichten an der Spitze. Passen Sie auf das Wetter auf, da es dort oben windig / kalt ist.

Seien Sie auf plötzliche Wetteränderungen vorbereitet. Auch wenn es sonnig und sonnig ist, bereiten Sie sich auf Hagel und Schnee an der Spitze vor. Wir haben es vor ein paar Wochen getan und es gab einen plötzlichen Wetterwechsel, etwa 20 Minuten bis zum Gipfel. Die Exposition gegenüber Wind und Schnee ist schrecklich. Ich war mir sicher, ich würde es nicht schaffen ...! offensichtlich tat ich es. 2,5 Stunden den Berg hinunter kalt und nass macht keinen Spaß. sei vorbereitet!

großartiger Track,

Explore the most popular trails in Ashley Forest with hand-curated trail maps and driving directions as well as detailed reviews and photos from hikers, campers and nature lovers like you.

Do not follow the directions!! Takes you to a private property, had to drive another 35km back towards Amberley. Directions from DOC website: From Amberley, follow Douglas Road, then Cramptons Bush Road until the road reaches the Lake Janet picnic area (17 km from Amberley). Turn left into Mount Grey Road, then right into Okuku Road to reach the Grey River picnic area (3.5 km from the the Lake Janet picnic area). Red beech track is definitely hard way up.

A good Sunday walk

Be careful of the gps directions here. I got there via Amberley and I’m unsure if the other way works. You can also walk up to the look out and the peak from the Lake Janet picnic area, which is a nice easy hike up and down in around 2 hours.

Did this in reverse. I can see we took the harder way, quite a steep climb up the back end of the mountain. Fantastic views at the top. Take care with the weather as its known to be windy/cold up there.

Friday, August 17, 2018

be prepared for sudden changes in weather. even if it's hit and sunny when you start out be prepared for hail and snow at the top. we did it a few weeks back and there was a sudden change of weather about 20 minutes to the summit. the exposure to wind and snow is awful. I was sure I wouldn't make it...! obviously I did. 2.5 hrs down the mountain cold and wet is not fun. be prepared!

great track,