Ramapo Mountains Loop

INTERMÉDIAIRE 22 avis
N°6 sur 15 randonnées à

Ramapo Mountains Loop is a 3.7 mile lightly trafficked loop trail located near Oakland, New Jersey that features a lake and is rated as moderate. The trail is primarily used for hiking, trail running, and mountain biking and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail.

DISTANCE
3.7 miles
DÉNIVELÉ
538 pieds
TYPE D'ITINÉRAIRE
Boucle

chiens bienvenus

convient aux enfants

randonnée

VTT

course de trail

forêt

lac

faune

A lovely hike to nice views and through some old Boy Scout camps Take the orange blazed Schuber Trl. Then turn right on the white blazed Millstone Trl, which passes a decent view, then joins the Yellow Trl. Together they cross a road, then the Yellow splts to the right and climbs gently. Soon the Schuber Trl joins and together they pass a rocky area with a scenic view. Reaching the green and white blazed Old Guard Trl turn left. The trail climbs and crosses a gasline, then the Cannonball trail and the yellow blazed Hoeferlin Trl. It soon joins up with the red blazed Ringwood Ramapo. There is a view here that is best when leaves are down. Continue on the Old Guard until it reaches the Hoeferlin (yellow blazes) and proceed south. The Cannonball Trail (red w/ white C) soon joins. A short side trip (red/white blazes) brings you to Matapan Rock which has a decent view. Continue on the Hoeferlin/Cannonball as they descend and skirt Skyline Dr and head back into the woods. The Cannonball soon leaves. Continue on the Hoeferlin to your car.

randonnée
1 day ago

3.25.19. Grande marche et assez simple, à l'exception du sentier Hoeferlin (flammes jaunes), la majeure partie de la randonnée se déroule sur une route à une voie, sans racines ni rochers. Circumnavigating Ramapo Lake fait cette randonnée: ce n'est pas très long et c'est beau. J'ai vu quelques hérons et (je pense) quelques canards à collier. Il est dit modéré ici, mais c’est définitivement du côté facile de modéré. Voici mes statistiques en tant que guide: Distance: 4.9 miles Gain d'élévation: 420 pieds Temps de déplacement: 1: 40: 56

randonnée
hors piste
propriété privée
rocheux
neige
1 month ago

c'était bien une fois que vous avez trouvé le bon sentier. nous avions nos enfants avec nous, nous avons donc trouvé une offre qui offrait un chemin moins grimpant en retour, car il faisait tellement froid et neigeux.

randonnée
Sunday, July 09, 2017

Descendez la montagne par inadvertance et revenez en arrière tout en essayant de trouver Ramapo Overlook au lac Todd, qui se trouve maintenant de l'autre côté de la route Skyline, de l'autre côté de la montagne! L’application ne cessait de me faire venir à Skyline Drive depuis le parking, ce qui n’avait aucun sens, car je ne savais pas que je devais traverser la route. Néanmoins, un beau chemin, sinon difficile, sur le chemin du retour (seulement un sentier "modéré", mais tout était en montée dans les bois sur le sentier jaune pendant un kilomètre jusqu'au parking). Habitué à faire de la randonnée tout le temps mais ce n’est pas le cas depuis de nombreuses années. Je me sentais bien de revenir "dans les bois" et le lac était un régal au bas de la colline. Belle vieille Tudor en descendant. Apporté le chien de la famille qui s'amusait beaucoup à sentir et à faire pipi partout. J'étais content de revenir à la voiture et à la climatisation! Rencontré plusieurs personnes et chiens le long du chemin mais pas trop du tout.

randonnée
Sunday, November 20, 2016

Belle randonnée, cependant connaissez vos sentiers! Nous nous sommes perdus un peu et notre randonnée prévue de 1 mile s'est transformée en 5 miles lol! Le chemin du retour est principalement en montée. Beaucoup de séances de photos! Prendre plaisir!

randonnée
Tuesday, September 06, 2016

Cet endroit est magnifique, il n'y a pas trop de monde. Les sentiers ne sont pas balisés de façon spectaculaire, alors ne faites pas la même erreur que moi: les quitter au coucher du soleil et vous perdre; En dehors de cela, je le recommande vivement

Monday, June 23, 2014

Cette randonnée était convenable. Je le recommande aux personnes qui aiment la corvée et aiment comprendre, car lorsque je suis allé, nous nous sommes perdus deux fois et il était un peu difficile de trouver un moyen de sortir du GPS.

randonnée
Monday, October 14, 2013

Vraiment sympa trail j'ai pris le trail bleu puis rouge ce qui m'a conduit au jaune. Le sentier rouge peut être fatigant à certains endroits, dans l’ensemble, c’est une très bonne randonnée, je le recommande.

randonnée
Sunday, August 25, 2013

Randonnée assez difficile. Nous sommes allés au-delà du 8 en prenant du jaune au vert dans les camps de scouts et en donnant sur eskine. En arrière est sorti à environ 9 miles. Vu un gros cul de crotale sur le sentier de flammes vertes / blanches. Épuisant, et difficile à suivre parfois par des débris / des arbres abattus. Passé un bon moment. Les chiens sont aussi exterminés

randonnée
Sunday, September 09, 2012

C'est une autre bonne randonnée à Ramapo. C'est un peu long mais pas difficile. La randonnée est l’une de ces promenades agréables. Vous allez gravir une colline et redescendre la colline et vous le ferez plusieurs fois en parcourant les sentiers. Les collines ne sont pas mauvaises. Les montagnes Ramapo sont un endroit idéal pour revenir et explorer de nouveaux sentiers.

VTT
6 months ago

randonnée
7 months ago

randonnée
Saturday, March 10, 2018

a enregistré Ramapo Lake, NJ

randonnée
Monday, February 12, 2018

Wednesday, July 19, 2017

randonnée
Saturday, April 29, 2017

Thursday, February 23, 2017

Saturday, February 04, 2017

a enregistré ramapo

balade
Saturday, September 03, 2016

randonnée
Saturday, July 23, 2016

randonnée
Sunday, July 17, 2016

VTT
Sunday, November 22, 2015

Monday, July 27, 2015

Ramapo Mountains Loop

MODERATE 7 reviews

Ramapo Mountains Loop is a 3.9 mile loop trail located near Oakland, NJ and is rated as moderate. The trail is primarily used for hiking and mountain biking and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail.

3.9 miles 639 feet Loop

dog friendly

hiking

mountain biking

A lovely hike to nice views and through some old Boy Scout camps Take the orange blazed Schuber Trl. Then turn right on the white blazed Millstone Trl, which passes a decent view, then joins the Yellow Trl. Together they cross a road, then the Yellow splts to the right and climbs gently. Soon the Schuber Trl joins and together they pass a rocky area with a scenic view. Reaching the green and white blazed Old Guard Trl turn left. The trail climbs and crosses a gasline, then the Cannonball trail and the yellow blazed Hoeferlin Trl. It soon joins up with the red blazed Ringwood Ramapo. There is a view here that is best when leaves are down. Continue on the Old Guard until it reaches the Hoeferlin (yellow blazes) and proceed south. The Cannonball Trail (red w/ white C) soon joins. A short side trip (red/white blazes) brings you to Matapan Rock which has a decent view. Continue on the Hoeferlin/Cannonball as they descend and skirt Skyline Dr and head back into the woods. The Cannonball soon leaves. Continue on the Hoeferlin to your car.

hiking
15 days ago

Beautiful hike, however know your trails! We got lost for a bit and our 1 mile intended hike turned into 5 miles lol! The way back is mostly uphill. Lots of photo ops! Enjoy!

hiking
2 months ago

This place is gorgeous, there aren't too many people- even by the lake. Don't make the same mistake I did leaving the trails at sundown, and getting lost ; Apart from that I highly recommend it

1 year ago

2 years ago

This hike was ok I recommend it to people that like it tough and like to figure things out because when I went we got lost twice and it was kind of hard to find a way out we actually used out GPS on the phone to get out

hiking
3 years ago

Really nice trail I took blue trail then red which led me to yellow. Red trail might be strenuous in some places, overall its a really good hike I recommend it.

hiking
3 years ago

Pretty tough hike. Went beyond the 8 by taking yellow to green up through the scout camps and to eskine overlook. Back down came out to about 9 miles. Saw a big ass rattlesnake on the green/white blaze trail. Grueling, and difficult to follow at times from debris/downed trees. Had a great time. Dogs are wiped out too

hiking
4 years ago

This is another good hike in Ramapo. It's kind of a long one but not a hard hike. The hike is one of those nice walking ones. You'll climb up a hill and back down the hill and you'll do this a few times while hiking the trails. The hills are not bad ones. Ramapo Mountains are a great place to come back to and explore some new trails.